We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A view to blow your mind, with authentic island...”
other travellers have booked this property
Infinity pool overlooking Milatos village, with views you will never tire of!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Infinity pool overlooking Milatos village, with views you will never tire of!
Spacious sun terraces for lazing by the pool, with fantastic views. Comfortable air-conditioned bedrooms.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Infinity pool overlooking Milatos village, with views you will never tire of!
Spacious sun terraces for lazing by the pool, with fantastic views.
Comfortable air-conditioned bedrooms.
Breakfast with a view.
Twin bedroom with french doors.
The view from the double bedroom.
The view across the ravine from the twin bedroom.
Chat and chill at sunset.
Welcome!
Sea and mountain!
Modern and functional bathroom.
Park your car and walk down to the pool.
Hard not to relax after dark.......
Open air shower by the pool.  Hot and cold water!
The chapel inside Milatos Cave.
The old leper colony at Spinalonga.
Milatos church dressed for Easter.
Milatos Beach and the harbour from the road to the cave.
Milatos harbour - fish straight to your favourite taverna.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Milatos, Lasithi Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
martalorc
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A view to blow your mind, with authentic island life nearby”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in this villa with my partner for 6 nights, along with a friend in the second room. The place is clean, modern and spacious and the spectacular view will keep you enthralled throughout your stay... I never got tired of it.

Although this place is the perfect spot in which to do nothing for a couple of days, there's plenty to do as well. The mountains above the villa are full of small villages, and if you stop in at one of their tavernas the locals will soon engage in conversation with you.

I would sometimes go out in the early mornings for a walk or cycle and end up in a mountain valley without another soul in sight, enjoying the atmospheric tonkling of goat bells or seeing a flock of vultures circling gracefully high above me.

There's also plenty of nightlife within driving distance, and the village below the villa is crammed with tavernas, where you can enjoy lunch or an evening meal.

While our hosts, Andrew and Maureen, were mindful not to intrude on our privacy, they were always on hand to offer advice on nearby attractions, exploring the island further or just having a quick chat to say hello and see how we were getting on. This created such a pleasant atmosphere, that although I was initially cautious about staying in hosted accommodation I would not hesitate to recommend Villa Marina to anyone who wants the luxury of high-end villa accommodation at a more moderate rate

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The kitchen facilities are limited, so that it's not practical to prepare a cooked meal. Eating out is easy and reasonably priced, but the pool is such a nice meal setting that if there had been a kitchen I would've stayed in for dinner some nights
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMGSteyni...
Steyning
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This was the most romantic & idyllic holiday ever. The accommodation is absolutely spotless; Maureen & Andrew are fantastic hosts, there, but leaving you total privacy. We have been home 1 month and a day does not pass by without thinking of the magical memories Villa Marina gives you. The setting is so relaxing, you have got to experience staying; otherwise you will not be able to capture how wonderful it is. The idea of laying in an extremely comfortable bed, watching the night sky through to dawn with the drop of an infinity pool, across the scattered villas of a small Cretan village to the sea & beyond had never been more than a dream. During the day lots to explore and for all Victoria Hislop fans only a day trip to Plaka & Spinalonga

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy & Solitude
Liked least: absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GG-BTN
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect Cretan holiday”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We love the Greek Islands and usually book a villa for our holidays. Villa Marina is a slightly different concept but it surpassed all our expectations.

Situated on high ground above the village the views are even more amazing than the photos suggest. We loved to drift in the wonderful infinity pool watching the world go by and then sunbathe beside the pool on our own private terrace.

Before we arrived we had some reservations about the B&B aspect but needn't have worried - our experience at Villa Marina was as far removed from a traditional B&B as we could have imagined. Although the villa can accommodate four, if you just book for two, as we did, it is exclusively yours; no one else will be there. Whilst the lovely owners Mo & Andrew live on the upper level of the villa and they provide you with breakfast on their terrace every morning, they give you total privacy with exclusive use of the entire lower floor & pool area. This includes the pool, a huge poolside terrace with a comfortable covered sitting area, a dining table if you fancy lunch or quiet night in with a glass of something, two bedrooms with patio doors leading out to the terrace, and a spacious bathroom with powerful walk in shower. Everything is top quality - even the internet connection was faster than ours at home!

We loved eating out in the local restaurants, but with the best views in town we occasionally asked our favourite to prepare us a takeout so we could dine on the terrace - Mo & Andrew provide glasses plates and cutlery and the washing up would miraculously disappear into Mo's dishwasher afterwards!

The villa is perfect for two but would also suit four people - two couples who are good friends or a family with older children (younger children might find the elevated pool and terraces a bit too inviting!) Although the larger bedroom is set up as a twin, Andrew advised the two beds can be bolted together to create another very comfortable double if preferred.
There are loads of places to visit locally and we did plenty of sightseeing but with the best place in the area to laze by a pool & take in those amazing views we found ourselves lazing around far more than we usually do.

We feel we have found the perfect bolt hole in Villa Marina and will definitely be returning. Roll on next Summer!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality accommodation and amazing views
Liked least: We had to leave !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth L
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic relaxing holiday destination”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Had a fabulous week in Villa Marina. The rooms were spacious, spotless and bright. The hosts were very attentive - home from home! The uninterrupted views are absolutely spectacular looking out to the sea and the weather was wonderful. Would thoroughly recommend this Villa as a peaceful retreat set in the beautiful traditional village of Milatos on the island of Crete.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbs499
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best view and relax ever!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This villa is a real find. We mere met by Andrew who showed us to the Villa. We arrived late at night. Opening the doors from our bedroom at sunrise was a moment I wont forget. Breath taking.

Maureen and Andrew were so hospitable and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was served on the balcony each morning and you felt you could sit there at your leisure. Nothing was a rush. They helped us find great places to eat and Andrew drew us maps to nearby villages and towns.

The rooms were immaculate and the bed was very comfortable. This is a fairly new villa and everything is of very good quality. The pool is beautiful and the terrace is large. We spent most days lazing by the pool and eating lunch watching the view. Daily there were Soaring birds, playful swallows and the distant sound of a goat bell. I read four books which is a record for me. I have never relaxed so much.

The Villa is a minute to the nearest choice of 2 Taverna's in the centre of the Old Village. There is also 2 others to choose from. Within a 3 minute drive we were down at the coast village and a choice of good Taverna's all of which were good and very friendly. Eating out is very reasonable and the seafood is excellent. We ate somewhere different every night. There is a small grocery store and a few gift shops. This is not a tourist trap and is very traditional. You soon become friends with the locals.

You do need a car here but you could hide away and relax at the villa. There is a BBQ and a starter pack supplied.

If you want a holiday in real Greece in beautiful surroundings this is the place. We will be returning next year!! And I have never returned to a place before.

Thank you Mo and Andrew for giving us a fabulous week.

Debs

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole experience.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing