We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveller rating
411
101
34
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
411
101
34
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews treetop bure the yasawa flyer fish blue lagoon low tide our honeymoon lounge area hour boat ride new owners ceiling fan solar power fiji time the beach is great sawa i lau sandy beach lunch and dinner tea house
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 571 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2016

My girlfriend and I stayed for 4 nights at Nanuya Island Resort recently. We were lucky with the weather, amazing blue-skies every day!

We transferred to/from the resort via sea-plane (Turtle Airways), which we’d highly recommend... and allowed us to maximise the time we spent at the resort.

The Nanuya Island Resort boat-man transferred us the short distance from Turtle Island (where the plane landed), to Nanuya Island (10 minute boat ride).

The resort itself is very nice, tidy and clean. Excellent location, facing west toward the sunsets.

The staff are lovely and very welcoming, we were made to feel like part of the family. A special mention to Remi, who’s professional guest service and cocktail-making skills were excellent - he wouldn’t look out of place in a 5-star resort!

We stayed in a Tree-top Bure, which is a short walk up the hill. Bure 11 had amazing 180 degree sea views – possibly the best viewpoint of all the Treetop Bures. The Bure itself was very small inside though and didn’t have any air-conditioning, but had good air-flow through the louvres, so we slept well.

The resort had a good selection of activities, most of which were free. WIFI came at an extra charge and is only available near the main dining/beach area.

We were impressed by the food: tasty, fresh and creative. Although we found the price of the main meals at dinner a little over-priced.

All-in-all we really enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning again next year!

Vinaka!

Room Tip: Tree-top Bure 11 - 180 degree sea views and private location
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank islandaddict_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights in May for our honeymoon trip. It was everything we had hoped (quiet, private, remote, sandy beach, green hills) and we really enjoyed the stay + all the activities. We went to the opposite island for a Sunday church service and it was very special. Snorkelling gear and kayak was all free of charge and even lifejackets were provided by the resort since we were not strong swimmers.

Staff and service were very attentive, there is no meal plan but each lunch meal was around $10 USD, dinner meal was around $20 USD a la carte. The menu rotates 2-3 day so the variety was fine during our 3 day trip. Every night there is entertainment of some sort, guitar singing, dancing on the Fridays.

It's worth the boat ride!

Room Tip: the rooms are individual huts on the hillside, there is a more expensive honeymoon suite too whcih has its own private beach
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016

5H Ferry from Nadi, But it's worth it. Can view mamanuca islands and yasawa Islands on the way of ferry.
Very special wonderful tree-house bure in NANUYA as villa in style with Blue Lagoon"Ocean front"view. The shower room is also cute . Can't believe the color of water. Different color and shape of blue lagoon area during high tide and low tide . Amazingly beautiful blue Lagoon bay between few islands. Very beautiful white sand beach . Resort provides free non motorized water activities such as Snorkel , kayak , stand paddle and continental breakfast. Can view the spectacular sunset on the ocean . Short walk to the summit to see the sunrise. Its' really escape for all.
The best Snorkel location is the edge of private beach. walk out of resort along the left side of beach.(by beach walk approx 22-25mins, by Kayak approx 15-20 mins)
Fijian Spa massage is great and good value.
Meal and drinks are not cheap on the remote island
No need any air-Com in room,Feel freshly and cool in room.
No need any Free-Wifi to escape the busy city life and social media.

Room Tip: Meal and drinks are not cheap on the remote island. Not a bad idea to bring more snakes and drinks from Nadi before get one the ferry
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenChiang1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

If you're looking for 'a deserted island, paradise getaway' then look no further. My husband and I were looking for a honeymoon destination not far from Brisbane, for a May holiday. Our criteria: quiet, child-free, beautiful, all-inclusive, moderately priced, water-sports available and an enjoyable cultural experience.

We got it all!!!

Location: It is ideallic - think Blue Lagoon (the movie) and that's exactly where it was filmed.

Snorkelling: was amazing. I don't like swimming in the ocean or snorkelling but I couldn't resist either here and what an awesome experience. You can borrow snorkelling gear all day long, free of charge.

Kayaking: we circumnavigated the island with ease. Great fun. There are single and double kayaks to use - all free of charge.

Staff - Amazing! Friendly, warm, fun, helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We've made life-long friends and for that alone, wish to return again and again.

Spa Facilities: We enjoyed beachside massages, one of which was 'on the house' from the generous owners, Val and Ivan. You get to meet them and hear their incredible story about how they've helped the local villagers over several years. There is a well equipped and staffed, on-site beauty salon with massage facilities. Prices are standard. For longer stays, you'll receive one included in your package.

Transport: easy - either catch the Yasawa flyer from Denarau Port or use PIA or Turtle Airways to grab a seaplane. We'll do that in future as it takes about 5-6 hours to get there by catamaran, which is interesting but the time would be better spent on the resort. It's worth investing in the seaplane, which only takes 30 minutes and saves you a night's accommodation at Denarau. We stayed at the Hilton and it was woeful and disappointing. We'd have preferred being at Nanuya.

Food: delicious. Be prepared to spend an extra $70 - $100 Fijian Dollars a day on food and drinks above breakfast (which is included). Food is well made and well prepared, very tasty but access to fresh fruit and vegetables will be less than you would get on a mainland, for obvious reasons. All food and drinks could be billed to our tab, which we paid for at the end of our stay, so no cash required. We could leave our valuables in our safe and not collect them until the end of our stay.

Water: You're provided with 2 bottles of water when you arrive and there is a cooler with water available all day long to refill or drink from. Water from mains taps is all drinkable too, so it's easy.

Accommodation: We stayed in the tree house bure, a much cheaper option than seaside and it was perfect. There were 3 other honeymooners all doing the same and we all agreed it was all that we needed. The Bure's are comfortable and self-contained, airy and the view is spectacular. It's an easy walk up the hill to access and only 2 minutes walk from the main resort area for dining and relaxing. Staff make up the beds daily and leave fresh flowers, beautifully decorating the room.

Activities: there are many options for daily activities from the resort. Some are free, others are low-cost and up to $100 per person. You can go on guided fishing trips, visit local villages and schools, enjoy sunset cruises, visit the caves and dive with sharks and manta rays. On Thursdays and Saturdays, you can also enjoy the staff kicking up their heels, singing and playing guitar and offering Kava for all who want it. There's something on every day.

Special Surprises: There were several of these too. The first was the welcome song as we arrived and the beautiful refreshing drink at the beach, followed by cold, scented towels after a long trip from the mainland. Bliss! On our last night, we were also treated by the staff to our own private dinner in a beach bure, overlooking the sunset. It had been lovingly decorated and was picture perfect. At the Hilton, this would have cost us $650 FJ. At Nanuya, it was just part of the service. The most special of all was the farewell song sung by staff that left us with moist eyes and a pang in our heart to leave. We'll be back.

Thank you Nanuya for the best honeymoon I could ever have imagined and for a lifetime of special memories. We'll be back for more.

Roxy

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Roxy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016

Wanting to fulfil our wish to visit Fiji, we felt lucky to experience this beautiful part of the world and felt we had made a good choice with Nanuya Island Resort. When choosing resorts you can look all day at brochures, but you really don’t get a clear picture until you actually see it in person.

We choose to fly with Turtle Airways to Nanuya and back from Nadi as we felt 5 hours on the Yasawa Flyer was going to be too long & we also wanted to maximise our time at the resort. The extra money for the plane ride and just that adventure alone was definitely worth the extra money, however with more time in future, we would still like to experience the flyer. Turtle Airways plane lands at the dock at Turtle Island Resort next door & Nanuya will come over and pick you up in their boat. After our pick up and as we neared Nanuya, our boats man explained we would get a big greeting and to make sure we say bula back to the staff. We got a welcome drink from 2 staff, but no welcome song which was a little bit disappointing. Not quite sure what happened there, but it did cause the arrival at the beach to fall flat a little after the boats man had got us all prepared for it.

Nanuya Island Resort was pretty much on the tail end of completing some minor renovation work during our stay, and clearly has had significant money spent on it during the time the new owners have owned it. Despite the major cyclone, the gardens were just amazing, colourful, lush & healthy.

We stayed in one of the Deluxe Villas which was beautifully designed, had timber flooring, an amazing bathroom, timber shutters with fly screens, air con and ceiling fans. Whilst we arrived early, we were still checked in early which was a bonus. It was just after our check in that we got to meet Lauren, who is the manager of the resort, along with her husband Jon who is a lovely man. The owners, Val & Ivan, also live on site. Lauren is the perfect face and front lady for Nanuya. Val & Ivan are extremely lucky to have such a great ambassador for their business. Lauren is extremely efficient, friendly, professional and just naturally gifted when dealing with customers. She has a very genuine and kind nature. Lauren regularly checked in with us during our stay, stopped by for a chat when she could, and is a great asset to Nanuya. You will see the lovely Val working tirelessly in the resort along with Ivan, who is the quintessential true blue Aussie character, a slightly gruff exterior and a bit of a character but a good man with a big heart. He has done a lot to assist the local Fijian communities.

Coming from Queensland, we have been very spoilt with beaches, so we were very much looking forward to seeing the beaches in Fiji. Nanuya Island Resort have had issues with erosion from the weather so sensibly they have built a retaining wall to protect their beach and to stop this from occurring in future. They have build more than a dozen open solid timber gazebos along the beach front, elevated to give you a great view, which are all new, they look amazing, each one has a pair of cushioned sun beds for relaxation with a table for your drinks and a solid timber floor. They give a very luxurious feel to the resort, along with having more than enough gazebos and loungers for all guests. With regards to the beach, the beach area out front is tidal, you do get rocks and reef exposed during low tide, but you can still access the water for snorkelling and enjoy the pontoon further out in the water. Nanuya is lucky to also have a very long stretch of beach which continues down to their point area which is also great for snorkelling. Other resorts bring their small boasts in to use this snorkelling area but we noticed most only stay for an hour at most and the other resorts do charge their guests for this but at Nanuya you use it all for free. A section of beach down in this same area by the point is leased by Blue Lagoon Cruises, they do dock there overnight every second to third night and have a section on the beach for their own guests. When they are not there, which is quite often, anyone can use the leased section of the beach. There is an excellent section of beach where Blue Lagoon Cruises anchor which is excellent for good swimming, it drops away nicely, no current so perfect if you want to swim. The water is crystal clear, turquoise blue and very warm. Back at Nanuya, they provide their guests all their watersports equipment for free which was all in very good condition. Nanuya have a kiosk to organise any equipment you made need, which is located next to the new Boathouse tavern and their mini mart.

Overall, Nanuya Resort will suit anyone who is looking for peace and quiet, relaxation without kids running all over the place, just a nice quiet atmosphere, the majority of the time. Everyone has jobs that have to be done in a working resort like Nanuya, so whilst things need to be done, they do there best to keep noise to a minimum. They play nice gentle music in the background in the restaurant and there is just a nice air of peace about the place. If you want a massage, there is a spa available, you also have the Boathouse tavern as an alternative for snack meals, a second bar, and there is a massive, beautiful rotunda building up on the hill up behind the resort to watch the sunsets, also newly constructed.

Just to finish up with the food and staff, all our meals were taken in the main restaurant, the menu nightly was pay per dish, during our stay there was a choice of one entrée, a choice of four mains, and a choice of two desserts at each dinner sitting. Based on the geographical location of the resort, they are on an island and we understand everything has to come by sea. However, on saying that, the breakfast, we felt was just adequate, I ordered off the cooked menu to try and beef up my intake for breakfast but then went back to the buffet as items were not available for the cooked breakfast. The chicken and beef for our mains at dinner were excellent, really great, cooked as ordered. Only having one entrée was quite limiting and a choice of the same 2 desserts six nights in a row was too much. We tried both desserts and they were both of a poor standard…sorry. The upside to this was the Lovo night with entertainment on the Friday night, the meal was outstanding and that special evening is something all guests should pay the extra to join in on.

Nanuya, like all resorts and hotels across the world have some excellent staff. On saying that, we found some of the guys working the boats/watersports outlet to be a little unresponsive at times. However, we do want to make a big special mention to the wonderful Remi, who is just such a nice fellow and we want to thank him for his great service and amazing cocktails.

Vinaka Nunuya Island Resort!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RussellBrisbane428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NIRMain, Manager at Nanuya Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2016

Bula RussellBrisbane428
What a fantastic (of course I'm going to say that :)) and informative review on our island home.
We can only improve on the comments you have made in relation to our menu's and can I say how disappointed I am to read about members of our Activities team being unresponsive at times. I'm just sorry you didn't bring these views up with me while you were here, however I thank you for drawing them to my attention as now I can action this with our F&B staff.
Very out of character I must admit of the activities team, however will have a chat with them all as to the importance of customer care and service which I pride our resort in. I take this on board with some responsibility as happiness in the work place starts from the top.
As are most of our staff in front and behind the scenes - Remi is a bit of a star and will gladly pass your comments on.
I always print out the Trip Advisor reviews and place them on the staff noticeboard so all staff have the opportunity to see what our guests say.
Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we certainly hope to see you come back to your Fiji home soon.
Vinaka Vaka Levu
Lauren and NIR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews