We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
98
56
15
20
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
56
15
20
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue lagoon amazing beach fish local village other resorts chilled holiday fantastic decision tasty healthy food you won t be disappointed cleaned every day huge deck great hike stayed nights marine park facing the ocean drinking kava cave trip
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Having just returned from 11days at this amazing place, it is easily summed up what we thought.......we have booked again! Brilliant setting. Awesome staff. Real Fiji food and hospitality. And as Chris N said before, not for people who like deafening music. Very peacefully so you can hear the birds sing, the fish swim and the staff humming! Have stayed next door before but found the beach at Oarsman is the better one. Great for safe swimming high and low tides.

Room Tip: Open your eyes and see the sea, beachfront villa
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank markanitadarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Ah Oarsman Bay Lodge, what to say? The beauty and peacefulness of the stunning surroundings are outstanding. OBL is Relaxed, quiet, and a fantastic location to unwind as you soak in the magnificent view from the beachfront bures.
For five years we came here annually. After watching it decline each time, we stopped coming for five years and were apprehensive but booked again recently for five nights in the hope that things might have improved. And we were delighted to see that it had. The simple things that needed fixing have been done – there are now big comfortable beds, outdoor showers, large wooden decks with loungers and chairs, hammocks, improved indoor showers, upgraded bures, and an unlimited supply of clean fresh drinkable water straight from the tap via a natural spring. Meals are varied with plenty of locally caught fresh fish. Staff lovely and helpful without being too intrusive.
Oarsman Bay Lodge is a small quiet laid-back lodge - if you want to be surrounded by large numbers of people in a reasonably small space, hear music pumping day and night, then this isn’t the place for you – however you will be well catered for at the resort next door.
All in all, we wish we had booked our whole two weeks at Oarsman Bay Lodge and are putting a big call out to people who have been before – Oarsman Bay Lodge would love to see you again and you won’t be disappointed giving them another shot.

Stayed: September 2018
4  Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Very comfortable absolute beachfront bure was awesome for my family of 6 (wife and 4 boys). Snorkelling straight into plentiful coral and tropical fish was simply fantastic. Great food and lovo night was awesome. Dean and his Fijian team are doing a great job and we loved the fact that the Village is being supported by the business. Great hike to the top of the island and boat trips to Honeymoon Island and Cave trip were stunning experiences. Also Village tour was a great insight for our boys. Stayed 4 nights and it was hard to leave. The Fijian hospitality and service here is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bronandstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

This is without question my favorite hotel in the Yasawas.

Oarsman's is locally owned by a family from the island and caters to a mix of couples, backpackers, families, and Fijian businesspeople. The owners, Ohni and Joe, are kind and thoughtful and their staff are all very professional.

This is a great place to relax and unwind. There are plenty of activities from snorkeling the reef to tide pooling in the rocks nearby. You can walk to the village or hike high above the lodge into the hills. The Sawa i Lau caves are a short water taxi ride away.

The location, management and facility are perfect. The rooms are clean and spacious. Rare for the Yasawas, OBL has electricity almost 24 hours per day. There is reliable cellular service and daily seaplane connections available. At Oarsman's the food is good, the beer is cold and the kava is strong.

It's adjacent to Blue Lagoon Resort, a large foreign operation, which means the beach can get busy sometimes, but it’s never really too much of an issue.

Stayed: August 2018
3  Thank shsethna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

We stayed here for 5 nights and time was flying.First we were annoyed bc our travel agency messed it up to tell us that there would be a big group of teenagers and that almost everybody else exept for us was transferred to different resorts, but the staff is really friendly, the really put an effort in making our time here nice and enjoyable and they help you whereever they can! We both have gluten and dairy intollerance and they always offered delicious alternatives for us. (even selfmade bread and scones)
We were offered a trip into the village even tho it was only the two of us and not the official villagetrip-day. We also went octopusfishing with the staffmembers.That was amazing!!! And the best of all was, that they made me a delicious birthdaycake(gluten and dairyfree)
We loved every moment here and can really recommend staying at Oarsman´s!!!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenniiferhau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews