We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our this summer gastronomic highlight”

Oobiku Gastronoomiatalu
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Kohtla
Restaurant details
Reviewed 31 July 2020

we were sceptic to travel some 60 km for dinner. But in reality, the set menu was full of surprises. The passionate chef managed to surprise everyone for 59 eur meal. You can't compare it with 180 Degrees Micheline style resto, but it was not so far from it. Less fancy, but tasteful. 30 people around were served faster than expected by 2 people. The wine list is short, but the small Italian producer had a wide range of wines what matched with the food.

If we speak about value for money - most probably the best in Estonia (I did not visit all new restaurants in Estonia).

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Rexonaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

We were invited to this restaurant by friends from Talinn. This reservation inly, restaurant is about 50 km outside of Tallinn. The drive there takes you through the beautiful, flat Estonian countryside. The restaurant, is not marked. The dining room is in an old farmhouse. There is a set menu! From start to finish the meal was creative, innovative, delicious and beautifully presented. From duck heart soup, to lamb that had been roasted for 4.5 hours, it was amazing!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank sgec1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

I visited the place with my team. Somehow they've missed that beside dinner we've pre-odered also lunch - but no worries they prepared nice 3-course lunch within 30 minutes. The dinner was really great, it is nice to listen to someone with so enormous passion on food. I personally enoyed most - the buck and the dessert. As a driver I finished by day with delicous plum schnaps at home.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank 49liisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2014

Although located about 60 kms from Tallinn (a good 45 minutes drive), Ööbiku Gastronoomiatalu is definitely worth the time and effort of getting there. A pop-up restaurant, opened on 2013, is operating in a rustic farm and has swiftly earned their place in Estonian TOP50 restaurant list.

Chef Ants Uustalu is serving modern Estonian food, that pleases all your senses. A fine 5-course dinner, based on the locally grown ingredients, is served from Wed to Sat at 19.00 and Sun at 15.00. Booking is strongly recommended.

We had a pre-booked private birthday party there with about 20 people attending. We arrived around 15.00 and took some time to look around and get acquainted. Kids run around the farm and were delighed to discover the domesticated 6-head wild boar gang living some 50 meters from the restaurant.

We started with smoked carp with cucumber and edible flowers. The entree was followed by a mix of grilled vegetables and home-made lamb cheese. The third course was a 8-hour chicken consommé with dried tomatoes and pesto. The fourth course was a 12-hour slow cooked wild boar (from the same gang) with oven-cooked carrots and potatoes. The dessert consisted of home made duck-egg ice cream with blueberries and rye foam. The feast was nailed with some fresh coffee and home made plum liquor.

The meals were served by the chef himself and accompanied with the details about ingredients and cooking techniques.

If your are looking for authentic modern Estonian food, then forget about the Old Town tourist traps and visit Ööbiku Gastronoomiatalu.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Loit_Linnupold
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2020
Google Translation

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Oobiku Gastronoomiatalu also viewed

Riisipere, Harju County
Kohtla-Jarve, Ida-Viru County
 
Kohtla-Jarve, Ida-Viru County
 

Been to Oobiku Gastronoomiatalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.