We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food!”
Review of Mio Mare

Mio Mare
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Toila
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Mio Mare à la carte restaurant seats up to 120 and is the perfect place for family get-togethers or business meetings. In summer you can sit on its terrace and admire the sunset or simply escape into your own thoughts and enjoy the view of the sea.
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Had a lunch break during the seminar. Food surprised: really fresh and pure food, very delicious.
The venue itself was ok, but nothing special.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank 726anu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2016

Stayed in local hotel desided to go for lunch at local restaurant. Actually the athmospher were nice, a bit different "the touch of Sovietic 90`".Ther wasnt so many visitors and minimum 4-5 waiters so did not give eny greeting when entrance in restaurant.
So we looked around and find suitable table for us. After some waiting we get the menu.
Waitress (trainee) was very kind and nice, she maybe did nt exactly how and where, not very talky. Place has nice old style restaurant manners. They organise the table nicely, nice white servettes, forks-knifs as they have to bee, nice bred-butter. White wine was warm, but they bring some ice so it`s ok. Smoked duck salat with coat cheese looked and tasted nice. Lamb Carpaccio (i have never eated befor and dont now eny other restaurant serves it ) SUPER ! Fish soup so-so, no nice taste more like a water tastes. Pasta for kids was ok. So the food was nice, Service a bit not friendly from the staff, not caring. The place is different they have in weekend a cabare.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SFY888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2016

Couldn't agree more with the previous reviewer - the food, interior and programme is exactly like in the 90's ship sailing in the baltic sea. The service (with handsome waitress) was really good, the food also. Really enjoyed our stay in this restaurant and we were pleasantly suprised. Also the service was really fast!

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Liisiliisiliisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Amezing how in Estonia it´s possible to have different time travelings all around Estonia. In Tallinn you can travel back to the medivial times... And in Jõhvi back to the 90´s! Food, service, interior, service and program where just like in 90´s in slow boats from Stckholm to Helsinki. I don´t mean it badly, but still I´m a bit amazed. Is it on purpose, or just by accident? Is it because of manor clients, russian speakers and russians, I don´t know. For me it was funny and in same time strange.

Date of visit: April 2016
2  Thank TallinnJuha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2014

First to sort out some confusion. There are two restaurants in the same building. One is called Mare Margarita, it's used mostly as buffet cafeteria for package-included meals of the guests of the SPA-hotel. It is NOT the place I'm reviewing.

The restaurant I'm writing about is called Mio Mare, and is located one level below that other place.

I've been to this restaurant many times in the past few years. First, it's very good food. I dare say by far the best in this part of Estonia. I never get bored of their lamb carpaccio, pumpkin soup, duck breast with berry sauce and cheesecake. Portions are good so I doubt you'll be able to eat 4 courses in one meal, 3 would be challenging but possible.

Second, excellent service - again almost too good to be true for this region. In the past there were some insufficiently trained waiters but they seem to have stepped up. Another thing, is that excellent experience consistently provided by one specific waiter, Anton. Ask for him specifically and you will not be disappointed, he's got something very valuable, that is the core of the success in his trade - the right attitude. I wish he'd do some huge master class to all Estonian waiters as he is THE best waiter I've ever experienced in Estonia (the close 2nd best in in southern Estonia ski village near Tartu).

Prices: a bit on the high end for this area but it's all worh it. Besides, it's still a lot better pricing than all those cheesy tourist traps in Tallinn, the capital.

The interior is decent but far from modern looking. The view is really nice. You can also take a table near an aquarium with some pretty fishes.

Something to be aware of though: if you don't fancy dining in the middle of a loud Russian dance party mostly based on Russian pop music from 90-ies then make sure you are not there after 9pm on Friday and Saturday nights.

If you are already staying in Toila SPA -- you MUST have at least one dinner in Mio Mare instead of your included buffet cafeteria. If you are not in Toila to start with, I'd say this restaurant is easily worth coming from up to 30-40km away to have a a late lunch or an early dinner.

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Mio Mare also viewed

Toila, Ida-Viru County
Toila, Ida-Viru County
 
Johvi, Ida-Viru County
 

Been to Mio Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.