We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
436
37
10
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
37
10
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews porridge fish castara bay his wife boat trip the kitchen newton george mango authentic caribbean hired a car management team beautiful place living room local community caribbean holiday bird feeders laid back
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2018

Castara Retreats is run in such a way that they know what they are about and strive for excellence rather that trying to be like the other resorts on the island. Service is excellent and accommodations are just enough to be comfortable but not overpowering the natural setting. Fruit trees on the property meant many birds around and fresh fruit, the fresh loaf of bread was great (not seen at any other hotels). i personally loved the accommodation including the mini library and wish i could of stayed longer.

Room Tip: See website
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Can't recommend this place too highly! Lovely staff who will organise as much or as little as you want; great bar and restaurant with beautifully cooked food; rooms with extraordinary views, all integrated into the local village where we felt entirely welcome ( don't miss Ria's for the best breakfasts and amazing pizza!). Beaches are stunning - clean, uncrowded, mix of locals and tourists and great snorkeling in the bay. Loved drumming night and the beach bonfire, and waking up to drink coffee on the deck watching the sun rise as the hummingbirds flew all around. Go. Just go.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rhona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

I stayed at Castara Retreats for an all too short but oh so sweet 3 nights as part of a long stopover in Trinidad and Tobago.

The room (‘Firefly’) was introduced to me as a ‘home away from home’, and certainly lived up to that hype. Set in the beautiful and peaceful surroundings of Castara village, the room was accompanied by beautiful views overlooking the beach and it was truly a treat to be able to wake up and watch the sunrise each morning.

Food at the Caribbean Kitchen restaurant and local cafe were equally delightful and definitely recommended.

I spent most of my time in Tobago exploring the island thanks to my great driver who first dropped me off at the hotel, so only met managers Porridge and Jeanelle on a few occasions but both were very friendly and welcoming on the encounters I had. This hospitality was similarly reflected whenever I’d bump into locals on my walks (up and down the hill!) around the area and I certainly didn’t feel uncomfortable as a single woman travelling alone.

All in all it was a wonderful stay and I can’t wait to have the opportunity to go back again!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Our stay at Fisherman’s was super. Excellent location, fab views, comfortable and everything exactly as promised.....Lovely to feel a sense of community, Castara - that is both village and Retreats - gave us a brilliant introduction to Tobago. Janell and Portidge and the team run a welcoming and happy ship.
Loved the sense of joining the Castara community and can’t imagine bettering this anywhere else on the island.
Guests are encouraged to use shop, cafes and restaurants in the village which s our style of holiday and we enjoyed using these local services as well as Castara’s Retreats own bar/restaurant. Excellent information pack supplied in the accommodation and, from our experience, all local recommendations of food and produce proved to be good.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Somerfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

The Great:
Jeanell, Porridge and the Caribbean Kitchen staff make this experience 5-star. If you are looking for lazy days, listening to waves crash and birds sing, this is the place for you. The retreat's "ethos" line up with someone who wants to vacation in a sustainable way, and wishes that money spent finds its way back into the local population. The yoga studio... WOW!!! Sunsets are amazing.

Things to know:
Location is perfect, but if you're not used to driving windy, narrow roads, hire someone! Also, be sure to manage your expectations regarding the beach: it is a short, steep walk down from the property OR a very short drive from Englishman's Bay (my personal favorite).

Opportunities:
We stayed in Birdsong and there is no AC. In itself, not an issue for me, but more powerful fans are definitely in order. Additionally, some way to have some afternoon shade on the lower level of Birdsong, would be nice. Personally, I find that no AC keeps you acclimatized to the environment, and more apt to do things outdoors. Occasionally, the noise traffic from the road below can be a nuisance. Stronger fans would make a nice noise cancellation remedy, but if this bothers you, try to stay in one of the rooms further away from the road.

Room Tip: Birdsong has no AC
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poetess00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews