We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach bar with relaxed Tobago approach”
Review of Waves

Waves
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Black Rock
Price range: US$12 - US$45
Restaurant details
Reviewed 12 December 2017

What a ideal spot, staff were great and had a real authentic Caribbean approach to service. If you are not moving at a pace that your bucket of ice can melt, then you are not relaxed enough. Food was great, tasty and we loved the Tuna fish salads, huge cuts and with the hot sauce tasted delicious. The evening menu was good and we loved the shrimp pasta and baked aubergine dishes. The girls and guys working here were friendly and we loved our lunches every day. We will definitely be returning next year. If you are looking for slick Western style service and fine dining you are in the wrong place, however if you want a bar so close to the sea that the spray hits your face and the local tropical birds join you for lunch then this the place to enjoy good bar food and cocktails.

Thank phillips60002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortHelpDesk, Customer Service Agent at Waves, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Hello!

Thank you for visiting us! We're so happy that you enjoyed your meals and the ambiance.

We try to make the environment a relaxed one. Can't wait to welcome you again, cocktails and pasta awaits.

Until Then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2017

Beautiful location situated right on the beach, but what a shame about the food.
Having dined here daily for two weeks and witnessed many events, we are fairly well qualified to comment.

Everything, bar the salad, is frozen, despite what the menu implies. If you bear this in mind and choose accordingly, there are some reasonable meals available. The burgers are good, as are the tacos but the poor old fish dishes are best avoided. "Catch of the day" and all the other fish dishes are all frozen tuna, all extracted from the freezer, microwaved to defrost, and then "cooked" as required. Even fish and chips is tuna!
Chips! Welcome back to the 1970's, everything is the old crinkle cut mushy type as served when you were at school.

The desert menu, if they hadn't run out, varied from ice-cream (sometimes available) to very occasionally, some quite edible pastries, but very they were very seldom offered.

Service, was erratic, some very long waits for drinks and food service also. Staff thought nothing of walking past dishes ready to be served getting colder and colder, if they were not for their tables. I gave up once and collected it after it was walked past over 20 times.

It is open in the evenings but not available to guests of the neighbouring hotels AI after 5 pm, when it serves the same dishes (under a different name) as served in the main hotels above, except at vast cost.
£35 for lobster tails, which when I asked if they were fresh and was told "yes" and when I asked further if they were from the freezer and was also told " err ..yes", is quite frankly not good enough.

As a result it was always empty in the evenings and yet the hotels above refuse to allow guests to dine here despite the appalling quality of the parent hotels restaurants above.

Sadly it could be a stunning restaurant, but it needs a complete rethink on the food side, and decent management.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Curious1628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Delightful place to relax. It’s right on the beach. Enjoy lunch, dinner or just drinks and a snack. Open for most of every day. The food isn’t great but, as for the hotel, the staff is delightful!

Thank jackiecarrbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortHelpDesk, Customer Service Agent at Waves, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Good Day Mrs. Carr-Brown

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you staying at our resort and dining at our restaurant. We do hope that you can return again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Service was real nice and the drinks potent but the food below standards for the cost. The mccain fries were under done, the so called tuna in fish and chips was stiff and dry. The ciabatta bread was just a regular bun and they really dont know what tartar sauce is..garlic sauce is not a replacement. Wings were flour battered with no flavour. I would really just suggest the drinks

Thank veesha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortHelpDesk, Customer Service Agents at Waves, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hello Veesha,

Thank you for visiting us. We really appreciate your review. We make it our aim to deliver top of the line meals coupled with refreshing drinks and a relaxing atmosphere.

We're always looking for ways to better the experience, so your comments will go a long way.

We hope you return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

We ate nearly everyday at Waves. The setting was beautiful overlooking the beach. The food was freshly prepared and tasty. Cocktails were great. The staff were helpful and friendly in fact they made the experience so pleasurable.

Thank Charlilmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortHelpDesk, Guest Relations Agent at Waves, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Hello!

Thank you for reviewing us. We sincerely appreciate it.

We're thrilled that you enjoyed your food and drinks. Our staff will be thrilled to know that they made your experience an enjoyable one.

Please visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waves also viewed

Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing