We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A charming home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Coach House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Coach House Private cobblestone courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Coach House
Private cobblestone courtyard
Outdoor dining in the private courtyard
Living room with piano
First Bedroom
Second Bedroom, double bed
Second Bedroom, extra single bed
Bathroom
Kitchen
Flower-filled courtyard
Lahinch beach and promenade with surfers
Lahinch castle, golf course and estuary beach
Estuary beach and bridge to Lahinch
Cliffs of Moher and clifftop walk
Egan's pub, Liscannor
Vaughan's Anchor Inn, Award-winning seafood restaurant in Liscannor village
Lahinch Playground and Golf Course
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Liscannor, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
The_Gray...
New York
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A charming home away from home”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My sister and I booked The Coach House for our first trip to Ireland. We ended up arriving very early in the morning, but Sara and Steve made sure we had access to the house. The house is in a perfect spot to explore the central west coast of Ireland. I found everything to be clean and well kept. I chose to stay in the second bedroom (the one with the twin bed in it) and was delightedly surprised to turn out the lights at night and have the most gorgeous view of the night's sky (you don't get much of that in NY).

Our hosts, Sara and Steve, were very warm and welcoming bringing over freshly baked soda bread for us. We got a LOT of great "insider" information from them. For example, we followed Sara's advice to park at Hag's Head instead of the Visitor's Centre at the Cliffs of Moher (which was only a short drive from the house) . Not only did it offer great views of the Cliffs, we easily found parking (which was cheaper than the main lot) and much less touristy and crowded. They also let us know of all the local pubs with live music.

We did our main grocery shopping at the Supervalu in Ennistymon, about a 10 minute drive. The town itself is worthy of exploring. Again, following Sara's advice from her information book, we walked the path by the cascades and were treated to spectacular views. We stayed for a week and from this location were able to explore: Ennistymon, Cork/Blarney Castle, Tipperary, Cashel, Lough Gur, Cliffs of Moher, Limerick/Bunratty Castle, and Galway. After a long day's touring, it was definitely nice to say, "let's go back home" instead of "let's go back to the hotel" because Sara and Steve really do make you feel at home.

Pros: great spot to explore Liscannor and the western counties of Ireland, equipped with pretty much everything you need (kitchen has utensils, cutlery, serveware, cookware, stove, refrigerator, toaster, microwave, coffee pot, electric tea kettle, linens; warm and welcoming hosts; lots of information you won't find in guide books; comfortable beds and great water pressure in the shower; beautiful courtyard; games/films/books; close to gas station, grocery stores, beach.

Cons: lighting in kitchen is a bit dim; we had a little trouble finding the driveway entrance as the house is set back from the road; wifi was somewhat slow in the evenings.

If I were traveling to this part of Ireland, I wouldn't hesitate to rent this house again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts were friendly and made us feel at home
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PeterWigh...
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal location to explore County Clare.”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We received a very warm welcome from Sara and Steve together with practical advice on what to see and do in the area, which was also covered in a helpful folder. The accommodation was adequate for the two of us and had an extra bedroom, so four people would be quite comfortable. A perfect night's sleep is guaranteed until the dawn chorus, the gulls and the occasional cow calling to her calf! Liscannor is an ideal base from which to explore County Clare - travel North to the Cliffs of Mower, take the coast road around Black Head to Ballyvaughan then return via Lisdoonvara and Ennistymon or travel South to Spanish Point for more coastal views. To the West is Burren National Park with trails into the wilderness and more spectacular views. Eating out is a pleasure with sea food specialities at fair prices, and best of all, everyone is genuinely friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChillinPh...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely house, great location, fabulous owners !”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in The Coach House for a week in July and had a truly lovely holiday, The house is perfectly located for using as a base to explore the West coast and only 5 minutes driver from the Cliffs of Moher. The village pubs and harbour are all just a few minutes walk away and we highly recommend Vaughan's Anchor Inn. The seafood is amazing in Vaughan's and it has a great atmosphere. The village Fish'n'Chip shop is very close and the fish is very fresh with really good batter. Steve & Sarah (The owners), couldn't have been more helpful - even turning-up with a freshly baked loaf and some wonderful flowers for my partner's Birthday. We would highly recommend this property and look forward to staying there again someday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The village location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liefie200...
Springfield, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderfull Stay”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Steve, Sara, and Ben were great hosts. Always so accomidating to our needs. Whatever we needed they were quick to provide it to us. We even had a friend come to visit us and they had no problem with him staying with us. Loved the rustic exterior. Inside you felt in a regular home, but outside you couldn't believe it was an old coach house. Great place to stay and not expensive at all. If you are visiting the area, this is the place to go.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the hosts.
Liked least: Internet was a bit slow with everyone using it.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing