We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful house with personality!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 1 Castle View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
kitchen /living
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Liscannor, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
KimSlats
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful house with personality!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Unlike many of the other rental homes in Liscannor, Castleview is a house with personality, style and warmth! it has a marvelous glass extension at the back of the house which fills the stylish open-plan dinning and living area with light, warmth and positive energy. We felt right at home from the moment we arrived and our 15 year old immediately commented that he would love to live in a house like this. We loved the cosy outside seating areas, one outside the kitchen which caught the morning sun and the other one in the garden which was perfect for relaxing in the afternoon and evening sunshine - luckily for us the weather was fabulous for the entire week! The house has 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. Unlike typical rentals the quality of the linen and the towels in particular was very good quality. There is also a utility room with a washing machine and dryer - very convenient! The location is perfect too! Not even 5 mins walk from the village. Trisha the local caretaker of the house was ever so friendly, helpful and accommodating as was Freda, the UK based owner. My extended family who were staying in nearby (but not near as lovely) rental accommodation loved 'our' house and so did we! We will definitely be back - so long as our family don't book it before we do!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ckielty
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!!!!!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from castleview after a super week.. Our family of six had a fantastic week. From start to finish all went well. Freda made it so easy and was helpful from first enquiry to the end of our stay.. The house is super the glass extension really makes it.. Very funky and even if the sun is not shining the rooms are really bright and very funky... It's a great location to see all of Co. Clare. We travelled from alliwee caves down to Loop Head... Stopping in The Long Dock in carrigaholt is a must.. Greatrestaurant .. Pub and great company !!! We will definitely be recommending to all our friends..

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tcrees79
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great property, excellent location and child friendly”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great week here with our two young children (1 & 3). The property was child friendly and the kids loved it. The garden is secure so the kids were allowed to run free. The location is great and the views across the bay to Lahinch are lovely. We had a week of sunshine but even if the weather wasn't great there would have been loads to do. The owners were very helpful and made booking and access simple. Couldn't recommend highly enough.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph E
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My family misses their Holiday Home”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

1 Castle View was certainly a highlight of our 2 week long Ireland Holiday. My wife and 4 children loved the place. You can see the ruined castle from most windows in the house. The house had lots of activities for the kids including table tennis, board games, books cards and few movies. The kitchen was the best, everything you'll need is there. The living area was huge, and gave my large family plenty of room to relax/lounge in. So many great things nearbye, which means it's easy to beat the large busses and crowds. Egan's bar is walking distance and had live music, and of course great beer on tap. My children range from less than 1 year old to 14. And all of them loved the place. We tried many other accomodations during our travels (Hotels, Bed and Breakfast, Camping, we even rented an entire dorm room at a Hostel) this house was by far the best. As an American, it was a bit hard to book, because of the time difference and not understanding that it's common to pay up front with a bank transfer. My 3 year old cried when we left, he kept saying he wanted to go home, it took me a few minutes to realize he meant his "Holiday Home" not home in California! That's a new, great, kind of homesickness.

They also included a binder full of nearby activity ideas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Reviewed 8 May 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing