We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tullow
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Myself & my husband stayed here for a nights break & were quite dissapointed. The bar/lounge is like a barn with tables & chairs everywhere, there are no private area's to relax & have a drink in peace. The service was very slow & one of the barmen was very rude.
We were hoping to go for a walk but while the grounds look very nice they are all golf course so you can't walk out anywhere nearby for a stroll.
The room was very clean but at the back of the hotel looking onto the roof.
We ate in Fredericks, the food was good, nothing amazing, every second dish had an additional supplement which would be unexpected if you were on a budget & dinner was included in the package, for example if you want the beef you have to pay €8.50 extra. There were so many different restaurant staff coming to the table every five minutes that our heads were spinning, being asked 3 times for our order when we had ordered the first time. We were asked if we wanted wine at least 5 times, which was a pain. The highlight of the dinner was the beautiful music by the piano man.
The spa smelt of dampness & the pool is tiny, there is not alot to do for a thermal suite.
The guests are allowed to smoke outside the front door which is not nice when you don't smoke to be greeted with a cloud of smoke as you go to check in & doesn't create a very good impression.
All in all this hotel is ok but it wouldn't be top of my list to recommend to my friends & family, or anyone else for that matter.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pepperpots30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,033 - 1,037 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

A beautiful hotel - our room was really nice comfortable & clean & tastefully decorated.
The beds were comfortable & no noise to be heard whatsoever in our room. We checked in late & this was no problem & we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist.
Breakfast the next morning was also beautiful. My only complaint was that our visit was too short & we only stayed for 1 night -I didn't want to leave. I look forward to a return visit. I would definitely recommend this hotel for business pleasure or just a very nice treat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Booked in on a 4 night package, bed, breakfast & evening meal.
Lovely 4* hotel. Described as Hotel, Spa & Country Club.
All the staff from reception, bar, waiters/waitress and anyone else we came across really couldn't do enough for you. Fredericks restaurant is a AA Rosette restaurant & the food
is exquisite plus the Aaron Lounge serves snacks, lunches & dinners.
The spa is huge and during February they are advertising "Spa Specials" which l availed
of. I managed to spend 2.5hrs in there on my own which would happily have been longer
if l had had some company.

Room Tip: No noise in any of the rooms, the only reason l marked it a 4 out of 5 was because the beds were a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minx1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I recently attended a wedding at this hotel and a great day was had by all. Staff were so helpful, rooms were really nice, clean and very comfortable. I thought it was v good value too, we got a good rate on the room because of the wedding. I would definitely come here again for a weekend stay and try out the restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tallulah_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My family and I have just spent the past week in a house on the grounds of the Mount Wolsley Hotel, Tullow.
Our children age from 3 - 12.
The house was ideal for us, we also had the advantage of being directly facing the playground.
The Kids Club with Cathy and Mary was the high light for us all. The kids got to meet new friends in the morning club and then again in the evening for High Tea and movie time, again under the great supervision of Mary and Cathy. Which meant, we adults could realished in the peace and quiet to eat a lovely meal without interuption!
The Leisure Centre Staff were very helpful too. I enquired on the first day if my 8 year old would be able to get one to one swimming lessons. This was no problem to the staff to organise, and were very helpful throughout. He's delighted as he could swim a full length of the pool on his last session. It was also a very clean environment to go to every day.
All in all, we all hope to go again, either as a family or just a couple.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UsaTVcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullow
35.9 km away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
15.7 km away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
15.9 km away
The Millrace Hotel
The Millrace Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bunclody
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
14.6 km away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
599 reviews
27.8 km away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Wolseley Estate, Tullow, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Tullow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tullow
Price Range: €82 - €189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On entering The Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort guests receive a warm personal welcome. In every way Mount Wolseley has been designed to compliment the history of the site and the beauty of its location. Stunning landscapes are visible from every room. From the grand staircase, sparkling chandeliers to the glistening Italian marble floors this hotel was designed for luxury. Reinvigorate your spirit in the Wolseley Spa, test your skills on the challenging golf course or simply spend a leisurely afternoon curled up with a good book in your spacious bedroom. Surrender yourself to this splendid resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club Hotel Tullow
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa And Country Club
Mount Wolseley Hotel Country
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort Tullow, County Carlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing