We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful, quiet, spacious , friendly...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Churchtown House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Churchtown House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tagoat
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful, quiet, spacious , friendly...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

This is the perfect place to stay on your way in and out of Ireland when you take the ferry to/from Rossmare. It is just 10 minutes from the dock.

Set back from a quiet country road on several acres, this restored home is absolutely beautiful. The home and rooms are immaculate. Nice quiet setting .

Wonderful, friendly husband and wife team. Very gracious and professional. Always helpful.

The full Irish breakfasts were outstanding , served in a beautiful peaceful glass sun room. The resident birds were always there to welcome you.

Do not miss eating dinner at the recommended Lobster Pot down the country road in Tagoat, by Our Lady's Island. This is a true Irish pub of very high standards. Fresh local fish .Awesome.

I found my 2 stays there to be real highlights of my trip because of the quiet country setting ...take your time and look around Our Lady's Island and Tagoat Bay . Beautiful Irish countryside surrounds you.

A bit expensive but worth every penny to me.

Room Tip: Best rooms seem to be upstairs with a view of the expansive yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barryswobblyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    12
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

somehow a friend and i managed to stumble on this georgian beauty tucked away in tugoat/rosslare in southern ireland.
we needed a hotel that was close to the ferry back to england and we came across the churchtown house.
austin, patricia and their dog tiger made us feel welcome and at home in their beautiful manor. most people arrive here by car, but we arrived by rail and taxied to this huge 14 room guesthouse. it is a bit off the beaten path, but has lovely walks about the lovely grounds, walking distance to the bus line which can take you to nearby wexford for a great day trip. prepare to eat all meals except breakfast elsewhere. austin and patricia have decorated their home with lovely original artwork, bedrooms are spic and span and breakfasts are delicious with french press coffee, homemade marmalade and an amazing view of the yards where bird-watchers will be kept entertained.

Room Tip: if you have the option, bring a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justchillin041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

We stayed here for 1 night, having caught the afternoon ferry from Fishguard to Rosslare.
The place is situated in magnificent grounds about 10 minutes drive from the ferry. The bedrooms and the entire property are spotlessly clean, with comfortable beds and an excellent breakfast is provided by Austin & Patricia Cody, who are welcoming & friendly hosts. Parking is free and plentiful on site.
We tried to get an evening meal at the nearby Cushens pub but on arrival there we were told that the chef was not working that day (Wednesday) so no food was available. We ended up driving to Rosslare Strand where we bought fish and chips.
An excellent stopping off point for the ferry or for exploring the Wexford area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

Our stay at Churchtown House could not have been better.
Churchtown House is superbly situated for anyone starting or ending a trip in Rosslare. It would however be doing it an injustice to simply see it as a good spot just if you are using the ferry. It stands very well on its own two feet.
We arrived there after an afternoon sailing from Fishguard and found the house easily. It is very conveniently situated for the ferry port but a world away in its setting. I would suggest that it would be very hard not to feel good as you approach up the drive as it is a fine looking house set in extensive and beautiful grounds.
We were greeted by Austin, who was extremely warm and personable. He had already kindly made reservations for us at the Le Marine Bistro at Kelly’s Resort Hotel and Spa when I made the initial reservation by e-mail. He was also kind enough to call them and change the timing when we arrived at Churchtown ahead of when we expected. We would thoroughly commend the choice he made for us.
The inside of the house has a very classical feel, with some lovely antique furniture and soft furnishings. In case anyone with children might feel it a little too ‘correct’ though there is a further modern sitting room, in almost a separate wing, looking onto a very tranquil internal courtyard, where young families wouldn’t feel intimidated and can feel quite relaxed. This area also has plenty of reading material, comfy seats and some very nice art work. Do especially take the time, as we did, to be shown the painting of the woodland setting.
We had two rooms. A double room for us and a room with two singles for our two teenage children. The rooms were away from each other to allow a little peace and independence. Our room was on the first floor and looked out to the side of the house. The children’s room was on the ground floor and looked onto the inner courtyard. Both rooms were very peaceful and, together with one of the nicest mattresses that my wife says she has slept on in a long time, afforded us a very good night’s sleep.
I was able to use the internet connection code left in the room and found access to be reasonable though not lightening fast. I am sure though that closer to the router, which I guess was somewhere downstairs, access would be much quicker.
The bathroom was perfectly in order and quite in keeping with the tone of the house. As to the most important question of “how was the shower?”, It was hot and plentiful. The pressure was fine although if you expect a ‘fire-hose’ type power shower you will be disappointed.
Breakfast was very nice and had everything we would expect. It also gave us a very nice opportunity to chat with Patricia.
The grounds are lovely and a great place for kids to expend lots of energy before being pushed into a car. There is obviously lots of space to run around in, which is probably very atypical of many places that one would stay at.
Austin and Patricia were extremely warm and personable and made our stay all the more memorable. It is obvious that they care passionately about what they do and have high standards.
We would thoroughly recommend staying there to anyone and we look forward to staying there again in the future.
Thanks Austin and Patricia for a great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bagpuss_and_emily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Churchtown House, responded to this review, 20 November 2010
Thank you Bagpuss and Emily for writing a review of you visit to Churchtown House
We are delighted you enjoyed you stay and look forward to your next Visit.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

The room attendents were like thieves, mobile phone stolen when room was locked. The Manager was cooperative but could not dictate the room attendents

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank bshouvonik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Churchtown House, responded to this review, 20 November 2010
We are sorry to hear you believe our staff took your phone we have spoken to the staff and we do not think our room service staff were responsible. if you would contact us direct, tell us when you stayed and we will do another search in the bedroom for your phone ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tagoat
0.0 km away
Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Danby Lodge Hotel
0.0 km away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
0.0 km away
Brandon House Hotel
Brandon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Ross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Rosslare
Hotel Rosslare
#4 of 7 in Rosslare
3.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchtown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchtown House

Property: Churchtown House
Address: Tagoat, Tagoat, Rosslare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Rosslare > Tagoat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tagoat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Churchtown House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Churchtown House is a beautiful and historic 18th Century Queen Anne style Country Guesthouse set in eight and a half acres of parkland style gardens. The building, the garden and the wonderful location combine to mak it a wondefully relaxing and evocative place to stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Churchtown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchtown Hotel Rosslare
Churchtown House Rosslare/Tagoat, County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing