We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Churchtown House
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Rosslare(Rosslare)
US$118
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tuskar House(Rosslare)
US$93
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talbot Wexford(Wexford)(Great Value!)
US$246
US$239
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riverbank House Hotel(Wexford)(Great Value!)
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashfield House(Killinick)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
89
13
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
13
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslobster potearly ferrypeaceful locationstayed here for one nightwonderful staygrounds are lovelyjohnstown castlehuge bedspacious roomlovely warm welcomegreat hostsrosslare strandspent nightsextensive groundsfront lawnhonesty baroverlooking the courtyard
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2011

somehow a friend and i managed to stumble on this georgian beauty tucked away in tugoat/rosslare in southern ireland.
we needed a hotel that was close to the ferry back to england and we came across the churchtown house.
austin, patricia and their dog tiger made us feel welcome and at home in their beautiful manor. most people arrive here by car, but we arrived by rail and taxied to this huge 14 room guesthouse. it is a bit off the beaten path, but has lovely walks about the lovely grounds, walking distance to the bus line which can take you to nearby wexford for a great day trip. prepare to eat all meals except breakfast elsewhere. austin and patricia have decorated their home with lovely original artwork, bedrooms are spic and span and breakfasts are delicious with french press coffee, homemade marmalade and an amazing view of the yards where bird-watchers will be kept entertained.

Room Tip: if you have the option, bring a car
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justchillin041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We stayed here for 1 night, having caught the afternoon ferry from Fishguard to Rosslare.
The place is situated in magnificent grounds about 10 minutes drive from the ferry. The bedrooms and the entire property are spotlessly clean, with comfortable beds and an excellent breakfast is provided by Austin & Patricia Cody, who are welcoming & friendly hosts. Parking is free and plentiful on site.
We tried to get an evening meal at the nearby Cushens pub but on arrival there we were told that the chef was not working that day (Wednesday) so no food was available. We ended up driving to Rosslare Strand where we bought fish and chips.
An excellent stopping off point for the ferry or for exploring the Wexford area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Our stay at Churchtown House could not have been better.
Churchtown House is superbly situated for anyone starting or ending a trip in Rosslare. It would however be doing it an injustice to simply see it as a good spot just if you are using the ferry. It stands very well on its own two feet.
We arrived there after an afternoon sailing from Fishguard and found the house easily. It is very conveniently situated for the ferry port but a world away in its setting. I would suggest that it would be very hard not to feel good as you approach up the drive as it is a fine looking house set in extensive and beautiful grounds.
We were greeted by Austin, who was extremely warm and personable. He had already kindly made reservations for us at the Le Marine Bistro at Kelly’s Resort Hotel and Spa when I made the initial reservation by e-mail. He was also kind enough to call them and change the timing when we arrived at Churchtown ahead of when we expected. We would thoroughly commend the choice he made for us.
The inside of the house has a very classical feel, with some lovely antique furniture and soft furnishings. In case anyone with children might feel it a little too ‘correct’ though there is a further modern sitting room, in almost a separate wing, looking onto a very tranquil internal courtyard, where young families wouldn’t feel intimidated and can feel quite relaxed. This area also has plenty of reading material, comfy seats and some very nice art work. Do especially take the time, as we did, to be shown the painting of the woodland setting.
We had two rooms. A double room for us and a room with two singles for our two teenage children. The rooms were away from each other to allow a little peace and independence. Our room was on the first floor and looked out to the side of the house. The children’s room was on the ground floor and looked onto the inner courtyard. Both rooms were very peaceful and, together with one of the nicest mattresses that my wife says she has slept on in a long time, afforded us a very good night’s sleep.
I was able to use the internet connection code left in the room and found access to be reasonable though not lightening fast. I am sure though that closer to the router, which I guess was somewhere downstairs, access would be much quicker.
The bathroom was perfectly in order and quite in keeping with the tone of the house. As to the most important question of “how was the shower?”, It was hot and plentiful. The pressure was fine although if you expect a ‘fire-hose’ type power shower you will be disappointed.
Breakfast was very nice and had everything we would expect. It also gave us a very nice opportunity to chat with Patricia.
The grounds are lovely and a great place for kids to expend lots of energy before being pushed into a car. There is obviously lots of space to run around in, which is probably very atypical of many places that one would stay at.
Austin and Patricia were extremely warm and personable and made our stay all the more memorable. It is obvious that they care passionately about what they do and have high standards.
We would thoroughly recommend staying there to anyone and we look forward to staying there again in the future.
Thanks Austin and Patricia for a great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagpuss_and_emily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 November 2010

Thank you Bagpuss and Emily for writing a review of you visit to Churchtown House
We are delighted you enjoyed you stay and look forward to your next Visit.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

The room attendents were like thieves, mobile phone stolen when room was locked. The Manager was cooperative but could not dictate the room attendents

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank bshouvonik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 November 2010

We are sorry to hear you believe our staff took your phone we have spoken to the staff and we do not think our room service staff were responsible. if you would contact us direct, tell us when you stayed and we will do another search in the bedroom for your phone ....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Churchtown House sits in magnificent open grounds about three miles from Rosslare and its ferries to UK.

The setting is wonderfully peaceful, the house approached via a long sweeping drive is fabulous, very welcoming and comfortable with an overall impression of quite a grand "Country House".

The host, Douglas, was welcoming and exceptionally hospitable and helpful, offering tea, coffee and even wine!

Our room was large and tasteful, furnished with useable antiques, lovely chairs and a chaise longue.

Breakfast and its service was fantastic, Douglas willing to accomodate our request for 7 a.m. dining due to ferry timing. The meal itself was lovely, the usual juice, tea / coffee, cereals, fry up and varients - really great.

The rate we chose was 70 Euro per person bed & breakfast, at the "top end" of what I would consider for B&B, but all things considered worth it.

As we travel to Ireland fairly regularly and choose to break the journey home with an overnight stay, I'm sure we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0vej0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews