We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
FindHotelUS$142
eDreamsUS$142
Agoda.comUS$142
EtripUS$142
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
269
113
49
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
269
113
49
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old world charm old style both nights beautiful hotel staff were very friendly four poster bed saturday night last weekend car ferry sea view our room was spacious top class family room bar area great spot day trip steak
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2022 via mobile

We attended a wedding on Valentia Island & the reception was held at The Royal Hotel. As friends & family were staying in The Royal we also called in for meals & drinks.

The function room, staff & especially the food at the reception was excellent really out of this world quality!

The food in the restaurant bar was also very good (we had a breakfast, a lunch & a dinner) & again most of the staff were friendly & polite.

The only thing I couldn't recommend is the annexe (Market House?) that belongs to The Royal. It is quite tired looking & certainly not value for money compared against other more modern & better equipped holiday rental houses in Knights Town.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank TJ200609
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 February 2022 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night stay as a family of 5. Absolutely charming welcome by reception personnel. The room was comfortable, clean and had everything we needed. The bathroom, although small had a wonderfully powerful shower which was heaven after a very long drive ! Great bar/restaurant area. Cosy, inviting with fantastic staff. The service was impeccable throughout our stay. Breakfast was lovely and we had dinner one night which was fantastic and my 3 kids were really loved after. Portions are huge so order wisely!!! It's a simple hotel but faultless and even though we usually stay with family when we visit the area we are already planning another stay at the Royal Valentia.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SineadIndublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 January 2022

A beautifully situated hotel. We had a lovely spacious room with sea view on ground floor. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Dinner and breakfast were excellent in a lovely spacious dining room area, and the restaurant staff were attentive and very friendly.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 December 2021 via mobile

Staying here was a spectacular experience. We got the seaview room, and so every morning we're greeted by morning lights gently shimmering on the water. The staff here are excellent. They are very friendly and provide great recommendations for tours and activities. Particularly, we got a whole day tour with Ted Kennedy and he is the best. The experience was 10/10.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emily X
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 December 2021 via mobile

Stayed at the Royal for a one night stop over on a Wednesday night in December. Very few people on the island but scenery was beautiful. The hotel was very clean and had a traditional historical feel to it. The dining room is quite spacious and the bar area has a bit of character.
I had a nice steak sandwich for 16.95 and the Guinness was decent.
The room was a grand size given it was priced at less than 70 euro which is as low as you’d ever see in Ireland if you lived to be 100 years old!
Altogether a good experience and happy with everything. Recommended

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank ChaperoneVIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews