We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$146
Agoda.comUS$147
eDreamsUS$146
FindHotelUS$147
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
266
111
47
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
266
111
47
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old world charm old style both nights beautiful hotel staff were very friendly four poster bed last weekend bay window car ferry top class family room function room bar area great spot prawns steak out of this world
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2021 via mobile

Staying here was a spectacular experience. We got the seaview room, and so every morning we're greeted by morning lights gently shimmering on the water. The staff here are excellent. They are very friendly and provide great recommendations for tours and activities. Particularly, we got a whole day tour with Ted Kennedy and he is the best. The experience was 10/10.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emily X
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 December 2021 via mobile

Stayed at the Royal for a one night stop over on a Wednesday night in December. Very few people on the island but scenery was beautiful. The hotel was very clean and had a traditional historical feel to it. The dining room is quite spacious and the bar area has a bit of character.
I had a nice steak sandwich for 16.95 and the Guinness was decent.
The room was a grand size given it was priced at less than 70 euro which is as low as you’d ever see in Ireland if you lived to be 100 years old!
Altogether a good experience and happy with everything. Recommended

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank ChaperoneVIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 November 2021 via mobile

I visited the Royal, Valentia last weekend with a group of friends. What a fab place. 'couldnt be better. The location is spectacular, right on the harbour and within a short distance of so many interesting places. But most of all, the hotel itself is lovely - comfortable, spotlessly clean with an old world atmosphere (very unlike the predictable, corporate, featureless hotels of today). The food was so good that we didn't consider venturing further afield on our second night. It was top class and well priced. The staff were welcoming, very pleasant and obliging and had no objection to our playing our musical instruments and having 'the craic' in the main bar. We will be back!

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank RonnieMooreartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 November 2021 via mobile

Stayed here From the 17th Of July 2021 to the 23rd. Hotel was immaculate and beautiful, staff were super friendly. Breakfast and Dinner was lovely. Fiona was so helpful and very very nice. Island itself was gorg and we got the weather alright

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Seanphoenix14_
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 November 2021

We visited the Royal Valentia Hotel for the Dark Skies Package, we stayed 3 nights and had a lovely stay. The hotel was very nice and clean and the staff were very friendly, the location itself is very beautiful, even though we didn't have a seaview room the hotel is right on the harbour and surrounded by beauty. The food is gorgeous so big compliments to the chef, large portions and cooked fresh. The dark skies package itself was a great deal and included alot of extras - which everyone loves :) . It included 3 nights with fab breakfast every morning, a trip to a local attraction - we went to the Skellig six18 tour and really enjoyed it - great to see the community supporting each other ! We were served a beautiful 2 course lunch back at the hotel afterwards which was so tasty and we felt quite spoilt with the choice of food - sooo good ! The highlight was the dark skies presentation which was better than we expected, we had a lovely presentation in the hotel by a knowledgeable gentleman and then went outside to view what we had just learned - it was such a highlight and there were lovely people in attendance. I would highly recommend this trip with one recommendation - if the presentation was on the friday or saturday it would give people time to tour the Island and appreciate the skies and what the tour was about - our presentation was on a Sunday and we were leaving the following morning which didn't give us the chance to appreciate what the dark skies was about just a little bit more. I think we attended the first weekend of this so it was new for the hotel, not a negative but a little bit more info made available in the hotel on the dark skies would have been a plus. We have already recommended to a few friends who have already booked :)

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravelbugP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews