We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$157
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$157
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/05/21
Hotels.comUS$157
PricelineUS$157
eDreamsUS$157
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
234
102
45
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
234
102
45
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old world charm both nights old style beautiful hotel four poster bed saturday night short break bay window lovely staff bar restaurant top class fresh fish function room full irish family room sea front lovely room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2020 via mobile

Staff were fantastic, very helpful and welcoming. They helped us book tours, and nothing was too much for them in making our stay a very pleasant experience. The room was very nice. I would highly recommend this hotel. We would definitely return. Thank you

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2020 via mobile

We arrived amid a downpour... And the rain did not cease. This meant we were confined to the hotel, which was OK as the bar area is quite nice but I was disappointed there was no lounge area to relax and enjoy the view.

Dinner was average although I commend our waitress on very graciously and professionally dealing with a complaint. The restaurant/bar was full in the evening and had a good atmosphere.

Breakfast was average, quite greasy. I know, I know, a Full Irish is greasy by definition but neither of us liked it much.

The room itself was small and smelt musty and the bathroom was cramped but the huge window with view across the sea was lovely.

This was one of the pricier places we stayed for a double seaview & stacked up against the rest, it only came up average.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank shivbanglola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2020

We had the opportunity to have a night in this wonderful old hotel, It was spotless and the bed was extremely comfortable, in fact my husband said it was the best hotel bed ever! The staff were fabulous, especially the waitress who served us ( married to the chef, didn't get her name) and Michelle in the bar/restaurant, we must have driven her mad as we haven't been out since March but she was fantastic and served us with brilliant enthusiasm even with the impending lockdown. Will definitely come back under better circumstances.

Room tip: Room 102 has a back door for you to walk outside, as a smoker this was fantastic.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank currantm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2020 via mobile

Stayed at this gorgeous, quaint, comfortable and homely hotel nestled perfectly on the harbour in knightstown on Valentia Island. Room was lovely warm and cosy. Food was very tasty and especially the breakfast which was obvious it was cooked to order. The staff were so nice and friendly and really lived up to the Irish welcome.
The location is stunning.
So much scenery and views in the surrounding area.
It was just what the doctor ordered for a short break.
Well done to Vincent and his lovely team. I'm very proud to recomend this gem to all my friends and family.
I m looking forward already to returning with my family, if the government deems us safe to travel there.
We felt so safe as social distancing and sanitizer was very prominent. Staff all adhered to all the guidelines.
All I can say is Well done to you all.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Stonecrestmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Valentia, General Manager at Royal Valentia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2020

Thanks very much for your kind comments - we look forward to seeing you here again soon!

Have a great day.
Royal Valentia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2020 via mobile

Stayed the Saturday night 17 October, hotel is quite old world but family room was quite spacious, clean and peaceful. We ate in the restaurant which followed all covid regulations. The food was excellent, we had the freshest of prawns to start and hake that possibly jumped the 30 yards from the sea to my plate, top class.!!! Breakfast was breakfast but one advantage to not going to the buffet was that plated breakfast was piping hot. Special mention to Vincent on reception who was extremely friendly and helpful . Thanks again for a lovely night away before lockdown gets serious again.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank marktJ363UV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Valentia, General Manager at Royal Valentia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2020

Thanks very much for your kind comments - hope you can make it down here again!

Have a great day.
Royal Valentia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews