We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,207)
Filter reviews
1,207 results
Traveller rating
1,057
97
31
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,057
97
31
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower hillside suite plunge pool our honeymoon organic garden every meal water sports golf cart through customs red flag mini bar surround sound secluded beach huge bathroom lunch menu beach service cold towels
Filter
Updating list...
382 - 387 of 1,207 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2016

An unbelievable experience. The service was impeccable, the food outstanding, the accommodations unique, the Hillside suites were amazing. Again, the staff was unlike anything I've experience before. Drinks were awesome. This was our honeymoon but will return to vacation and celebrate anniversaries any chance we get.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy T, Owner at Hermitage Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Dear Chris C

Thanks for your review and kind words. We do hope we'll see you back for many vacation trips and anniversary celebrations in the future.

With kind regards

Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We just finished up our honeymoon at Hermitage Bay and it was amazing.
We received passes at the airport to skip the long customs line. Our transfer was waiting for us outside and the driver was very nice.
When we arrived we were greeted with cold towels and the staff handled our luggage. We were served refreshing mojitos upon check in.
The staff was consistently friendly all week. We came into the trip thinking tipping wouldn't be necessary but everyone was so nice we felt it was worth it.
We were promptly taken to our hillside pool suite which was just as breathtaking as you'd probably imagine. Everyday it is cleaned while you eat breakfast and then there is turndown service while you have dinner.
The food is also excellent. There is a great variety at each meal and you are free to order however much you want. We attended the chef cooking class on Wednesday and talked to Chef Desroy about how lobster season was opening up that Friday. He said he usually prepares a lobster dish on Sunday but we were leaving Sunday morning. When we arrived to dinner Saturday night we found out he had arranged for us to have lobster dinner ahead of the regular menu so that we could enjoy it before we left and it was prepared to perfection by Chef Sugar.
The beach is beautiful. There is a coral reef very close to the edge which makes for convenient snorkeling. It does get in the way of going further out in the water but you can easily go down and around it as the beach was never very crowded. The sand is full of shell pieces so bring your sandals with you. Each day someone will prepare chairs and umbrella for you on the beach and/or pool as you wish and will bring you drinks throughout the day.
There are many excursions to choose from and the staff will assist you in booking those. If something is fully booked they will try to find you an alternative. They will also front you cash for excursions as needed and charge it to your room.
We did a deep sea fishing trip and caught several mahi mahi. We brought one back with us and the chef prepared it especially for us that night at dinner. We also rented a jet ski for about $130 for one hour and explored jolly harbor and some other adjacent areas of the island.
There are some water sports included at hermitage including paddle boards, peddle boats, snorkel gear, island boat tour(about 30min), catamarans, kayaks. The attendants took us on a short boat tour one day and on another day took us to a coral reef around the corner from the resort. This reef had a bit more to see than the one at the resort, but there was nowhere to stand because you had to be careful of sea urchins.
The spa was great. We had an hour long couples massage and they focused on the areas we asked them to. It was very relaxing.
If you get a room towards the top, be warned it is quite a walk but they will take you via golf cart and pick you up when you ask. Hold on when you're on the back of the golf cart. Very steep.
We didn't experience the fitness center but its there.
There is a mosquito net for the bed but they also spray regularly. We didn't see any mosquitos. There was some sand gnats one day after it rained. There are many birds and a few stray cats, and we did spot a couple of mongooses. Apparently the mongooses have rid the island of snakes so that is not a concern. There are however horse spiders which are related to tarantulas and they are nocturnal. we only saw them dead on the cart path.
Everything was truly amazing. We hope we can come back one day but we will cherish these memories forever. Great food, very relaxing time, friendly staff.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank jarrettd2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy T, Owner at Hermitage Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Dear Jarrett D

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that your honeymoon was a success and you have good memories to cherish.

We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Regards


Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

I'm not even sure where to begin while writing this review for what I keep saying is the "most magical place on earth." I am shocked that there could be any reviews less than 5 stars. We stayed here June 20th-28th for our honeymoon. Our travel agent helped us find it after we told her we wanted a private adult atmosphere where we could relax. She had stayed there for her 10 year wedding anniversary and said this is definitely the place for you, and she was so right. From the very beginning of our trip we were taken by such a sweet and informative cab driver, named Michael, and arrived to Hermitage Bay where we were greeted with mojitos and had a seat in the bar area overlooking the incredible beach. Jumane escorted us to our suite where we stayed for 8 incredible days. When he left us at our suite after carrying our bags for us (suite 30) and asked if we had any questions, all I could say was, "Yes, is this place real?" I was in awe and continued to be in awe through out our entire trip. Everything was perfect. Not only do all of the staff members treat you like family, they also greet you by your name. Everywhere we went, we heard "Mr. and Mrs. Scully," which is amazing especially when you're on your honeymoon. It's such an intimate atmosphere and you are truly treated like kings and queens. You don't have to think about a THING! They have literally everything covered for you. Staff members who made such an impression on us (not to take away from everyone else, they are seriously ALL wonderful!!!!) were Jumane, Jamaal, Alex, Linda, Anthony, Vera, Jamaal, Devon, Michael, and Jamiel. We miss you all! Aside from the sweet, caring people, the atmosphere is to die for. It's so beautiful, quiet, and the best place to go to relax. Then there's the food. It's definitely not your typical all inclusive resort food (and I mean that in a good way). We ended up taking pictures of every meal because they were all so beautifully presented and very gourmet. From beginning to end, this trip was nothing short of amazing, and we can not wait to return for our one year anniversary. Thank you for an unforgettable stay!!! See you all soon!!

Room tip: Any room you stay at, whether it be on the beach front or on the hill side, have incredible views. You can't go wrong!
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy T, Owner at Hermitage Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Dear Claudia W

Thank you so much for your review. I loved the heading. Everyone gets to read these reviews so all the staff you mentioned, and those you didn't too, will all be grateful for your kind words.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016

We were at Hermitage Bay June 8-16, 2016. From the moment we arrived we felt like we were royalty! We were greeted with mojitos and a cold towel as we sat in the bar and got to meet our beautiful wedding planner Avlyn! They took us to the top of the resort to room 39 and they called us the King and Queen, we didn't realize what they meant until we walked into our suite and saw the amazing view! We thought that was the best it could get but not even close! The staff and the new friends we met made our stay a memory of a lifetime! The morning after we got there Jodi took us to get our marriage license. It was quick and simple and we were back to the resort within an hour! We got married on Saturday June 11th and because of a pinky swear with Jermal, he came to our wedding on his day off to be our best man!
There wasn't one detail left to chance and the wedding was perfect! Avlyn is amazing and she took care of everything, nothing was left to chance!
We had dinner on the beach that night and Ryan took great care of us as we celebrated our wedding night!
The rest of our stay was just as amazing, we had the most delicious food I have ever had and every day we had so many choices. The restaurant staff had our hearts, once we were married we were greeted with Mr and Mrs Sadowski every time! They knew our names by dinner the first night! Vera won my heart every day, she was so genuine to all of the guests that you felt like you were family! Kempton, Stoney, Shebeckie, Vonlyn, Jillian, Rozlyn, Shade all deserve mention for taking care of us at every meal!
On the beach we were blessed to meet Gerron who always had time to talk with us and share experiences of living in Antigua! At the bar we got the pleasure of talking with Linda, Tajah and Levique.
Let's not forget the guy that NEVER stops smiling, Anthony! Wow, not only is he a very handsome man but he is the funniest and most charming guy ever! His smile brightens the day and he always made us laugh!
Jumamee drove me down to meet my groom on our wedding day and he always took us back to our suite at night. He was so sweet and kind to us and we are going to see him on tv someday fighting in the MMA!
Mika was so good to us and gave us an orientation to the resort. She is beautiful inside and out!
The day before we were heading back to Colorado we had to start saying goodbye to some of the staff and as crazy as it sounds we were heartbroken to say goodbye. Honestly we cried with all of the hugs to our new friends, it was so hard to say goodbye.
We never thought that in a weeks time we could become so close to the Hermitage staff!
We also met new friends that were also vacationing there that we will be friends with for a lifetime!
So as long as this review is, I could go on and on about all of the wonderful experiences we had at Hermitage Bay! It was Paradise!
Thank you to all the people that made our weddingmoon something that we will never forget! Love ya'll! Kevin and Kelly Sadowski

Room tip: Go for the suites with the plunge pool on the mountain! Suite 39 is the best!
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kellylynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy T, Owner at Hermitage Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Dear Kellylyn S

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your wedding with us. I am delighted that it will remain as a great memory for you both.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016

This place was amazing. The staff was beyond friendly and accomodating and the views never got old. Food was unbelieveable and the drinks could not be better. The rooms had a great privacy feel and the personal plunge pool was a real bonus. This is the type of place where it feels like home the second you step on property.
We cannot wait to go back.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shugolf76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy T, Owner at Hermitage Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Dear Shugolf76

Thank you for coming to stay with us and thank you for your review. We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews