We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people have started booking this hotel
Expedia.com
US$595
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/05/21
Hotels.com
US$595
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/05/21
Trip.com
US$595
US$465
View deal
SAVE US$130
Booking.comUS$595
PricelineUS$595
eDreamsUS$595
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,149)
Filter reviews
1,149 results
Traveller rating
804
211
69
36
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
804
211
69
36
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean suite kids club tennis courts east restaurant indigo restaurant the general manager water sports four seasons cold towels little touches beach staff all inclusive package lovely beach laid back english harbour sand flies paddle boarding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 1,149 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2018 via mobile

We came to Carlisle Bay for our honeymoon. We were able to book on a pre-season deal in December and we were very satisfied with our stay. We would recommend the Carlisle to couples for a special occasion or anyone desiring a complete relaxing escape.

The second you enter Antigua, the Carlisle assures you are completely taken care of. We were greeted by Nicole at the airport and she expedited our process through customs, which we greatly appreciated.

At the Carlisle, you are greeted personally, given a welcome mock-tail and escorted to your room. The first time you see the grounds, you feel like you are in a travel magazine. The beach is perfectly manicured, the chairs are never an inch out of place and there is a calmness in the air that cannot be explained until you experience it. The level of service at this resort was far greater than any we had ever experienced. Everywhere you looked, staff was walking around to tend to guests and assure they were completely comfortable and had anything they needed or wanted. Our rooms were turned down each evening and at the pool or on the beach, staff gives you a fresh chair cover and a cooler of water anywhere you sit.

I read many positive reviews regarding the breakfast, these are all 100% accurate. The breakfast here is phenomenal and was probably one of our favorite parts of staying at the Carlisle.

The pizza at Ottimo is also very good, and is a nice change up from the fine dining options. I would suggest utilizing this option for lunch.

The hotel does a good job of organizing entertainment around the resort i.e live music at night, manager cocktail on Thursday, complimentary activities such as snorkeling and yoga. However, I still would not considered this resort a lively place for 30 somethings and this is solely due to that the majority of guests desire a calm stay. As with anything in life, your experience here is what you make it. There are many options available to you, and I believe the hotel does a great job of providing you those options and the means to explore. All we had to do was pick up the phone and press 0 and the concierge organized cabs and reservations for us all around the island. If you are younger and want a fun night out, head into English Harbor. Also, plan to stay later into the night at Shirley heights on Sunday. The reggae band is so much fun and worth the private taxi fare to enjoy the evening.

If you are looking to travel off the resort, request John Henry (Little John) as your taxi driver. He gave us so many wonderful tips and is truly an amazing person. We would have not had the same experience without him.

Also worth mentioning, after having taken a private boat trip around the island, we can say with confidence that the Carlisle is one of, if not the most beautiful stretch of beach the island has to offer. I would imagine guests from other resorts could be envious of Carlisle Bay and we were very happy we could call this beach home for our stay in Antigua.

Our stay at the Carlisle was a special trip we will remember forever. As one guest said to my husband - ‘now you’re in trouble, she will be spoiled forever after visiting here.’ This is truly the best way to explain the level of quality at the Carlisle. We are so happy we had the opportunity to experience Antigua through the luxury of Carlisle Bay. Thank you so much Carlisle Bay!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank TianaRose1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamillaSukumaran, Executive Assistant Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2019

Dear TianaRose1987,

Thank you so much for letting us know how much you loved your stay at Carlisle Bay. We are so happy that you had a magical honeymoon, striking the perfect balance of activity and relaxation.

At Carlisle Bay we are focused on looking after our guests really well, and I am delighted that we were able to make your stay so memorable and special.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Carlisle Bay again soon.

Kind regards,
Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2018

This hotel really does deserve it's place within the Leading Hotels of the World brand.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The food was superb in all of the restaurants - we especially liked the Jetty Grill for lunch (the chicken wings and Fish Tacos were amazing).

The beach was beautiful and clean and the sun loungers super comfortable. To indicate the level of service you receive at this hotel, on numerous occasions when we returned from a swim, we found our sunbeds had been straightened and the towels folded. Also, we had read some reviews before we traveled saying that the beach service was poor. However, we had no issues during our stay. We tipped a small amount of Eastern Caribbean dollars each time we were served as we felt the staff worked hard and deserved it and whenever we wanted anything there was someone to help.

We stayed in an Ocean Suite which had fabulous views, was comfortable, clean and cool. On the last day we weren't flying until late evening so requested a late checkout. As our room was to be occupied immediately, we were given a beach front suite for the day at no extra cost which was an excellent gesture.

We were on the all inclusive package which worked well for us. We would only make two suggestions for improvement. The first is that at each restaurant we weren't sure if we should be signing a bill at the end of the meal. Sometimes we had to, sometimes we didn't. The same happened at the bars. I would certainly not suggest wristbands as a solution, but perhaps a card that you showed at the bars and restaurants indicating that you had purchased the all-inclusive option in advance could be a solution.

Secondly, when you are on the all-inclusive option you are limited to a small amount of wine selections. When the difference in the wine glass prices is $1 - $2 it seems very petty to limit your choices to a handful of wines. We would order a wine (say a Pinot Noir) and would be asked which one we would like - we then had to state the we were on the all-inclusive package so the one that was included in that. It seems very petty that this is the approach. I understand the cost differences between wines, but please make it easier for everyone. Average the price of all glasses of wine to say $12 and include them all on the all-inclusive option. Alternately, add a supplement. If I decide to drink an alternate wine and it costs $1 more, don't charge the full price of the glass + tax + service charge, just charge me the difference in price. It is important to understand that the clientele that the hotel is catering to are not your standard brash, greedy all inclusive crowd. I enjoy a couple of glasses of wine with dinner, as does my partner, and we enjoy matching wines with our food as part of our dining experience. By limiting the choice you are limiting the experience.

So will we be back? Absolutely. Would we choose the all-inclusive package again? If the issues above were addressed then yes, otherwise I think we would go down the pay as you go route.

But if you are reading this review as part of your decision making as to whether you should visit Carlisle Bay or not, rest assured that if you do you will certainly not be disappointed - we definitely weren't.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Steve6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamillaSukumaran, Executive Assistant Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2019

Dear Steve6789,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your holiday at Carlisle Bay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We have noted your comments in regard to the all inclusive supplement with the signing of bills and the wines. The Food and Beverage manager is reviewing the procedures and I am sure that by the time you return that we will have smoothed this process out. Thank you for bringing our attention to it.

We certainly do hope you are able to come back to Carlisle Bay again soon.

Kind regards,
Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018

Good luck trying to get a refund on your room. We spent over £10,000 for 14 night stay and due to my husband rushed into hospital so we cant travel and no refund or partial refund. The other hotels on our trip and flights have given us full refunds....Disgusting level of service considering they are such an expensive hotel. I will not be staying here again or recommending it

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank kspb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2018

Romantic location, wonderful beach, great food, very friendly staff. Don't go for the all-inclusive, it is way overprized - much cheaper to select your meals from the menue. you can order lunch at the beach at a reasonable prize. Some little itmes are a bit overprized, like a bottle of water (who needs expensive water from Italy?), but overall we enjoyed all meals.The rooms are really nice.
Just perfect: the watersports team! Take a hobie cat...

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank WisemanGunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamillaSukumaran, Executive Assistant Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2018

Dear WisemanGunter,

Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased that you had a lovely time at Carlisle Bay. I will pass on my thanks to the whole team and of course the watersports department for making a great difference to your experience.

We hope you are able to come back to Carlisle Bay again some time.

Kind regards,
Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2018 via mobile

Carlisle Bay is a wonderful colonial style hotel.3 very good restaurants-we particularly liked the Jetty Grill on the beach.Great beach, lovely sea for swimming and excellent staff. The spa, gym and tennis courts are all excellent.
We stayed in a very spacious Ocean Suite although all the rooms looked good.
Not a brand new hotel but in very good condition.
Fantastic holiday and really appreciated Michael and his guest services.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 159joannef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamillaSukumaran, Executive Assistant Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2019

Dear 159joannef,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Carlisle Bay, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

I will personally ensure that I thank Michael for his wonderful guest services, and we will certainly post your review so that the rest of the team can see they made a difference.

We hope that you are able to come back to Carlisle Bay again soon.

With kind regards,
Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews