We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,055)
Filter reviews
1,055 results
Traveller rating
747
196
58
31
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
747
196
58
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean suite kids club tennis courts east restaurant indigo restaurant coffee machine jetty bar beach service second bedroom fruit kebabs water sports spa treatments main bedroom day bed lunch and dinner beautiful bay ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 1,055 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2015

We can’t imagine a better way to celebrate 20 years! We wanted relaxing & that’s what we got. The staff understood we were there to hang out & do nothing. No pushy services, just a wonderful experience!!
The enormous modern garden room was incredibly comfortable. The well maintained grounds are beautiful. The resort layout gives visitors plenty of space on the beach. The beach service was remarkable – wi-fi, drinks, fruit skewers, cold towels, sunglass cleaning, cucumbers for eyes, coolers of water, popsicles, etc.
Our first night my husband was looking for ice & stopped a woman working. She offered to get it but he refused since she had her hands full. Shortly after returning to the room a man came by with a bucket of ice. Wow! So unexpected. It set the tone for the rest of our stay. Be careful what you ask for…
The food was delicious!! Breakfast at Indigo daily was all around fantastic – food, staff, view. Loved the smoothie of the day & espresso drinks. We had a great night in the open Indigo lounge listening to live music by Teapot. Try the pizza at Ottimo. The Jetty Grill is our favorite. Endless jerk pork, curry beef, rice & peas, simply grilled wahoo or mahi mahi – superb! Samantha’s hot sauce is outstanding!!!!
The staff at Carlisle Bay is AMAZING – Reba, Kay, Samantha, Vaughn, Hennis, Jerome, Tony, Marlon, and many others. They work hard, have fun & make you feel like family. We can’t wait to visit again!!

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NSimoneL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlisleBay, General Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2015

Dear Kelly L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review.

It was a pleasure to read that you felt it was a wonderful experience to stay at Carlisle Bay. We are delighted that we did not disappoint and that you enjoyed your time with us.

The team continuously endeavors to go beyond our guests’ expectations of service so it is rewarding to know that their hard work has been noticed; I will be sure to pass on your lovely feedback to them, especially to Reba, Kay, Samantha, Vaughn, Hennis, Jerome, Tony and Marlon who I’m sure will be most grateful.

On behalf of the Carlisle Bay Team we sincerely look forward to welcoming you and your husband for another spectacular visit in the near future.

Best regards,

John Rogers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015

Our second visit to Carlisle Bay and our expectations were very high..and we were not disappointed..this is an exceptional hotel on all counts..we have been fortunate enough to stay in super hotels all round the world but this hotel is a bit special..the new manager John Rogers, his deputy Andrew Barlow and the new chef are already working hard to maintain such high standards..special mention to all his staff,very well trained and great attitude..we will return !

Room tip: best views on top floor
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlisleBay, General Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Dear 420RAY,

Thank you for sharing your Carlisle Bay experience. We are happy that you had another great holiday and that we met your expectations.

On behalf of the entire Carlisle Bay team thank you for choosing us once again! We look forward to your return.


Kind regards,
John Rogers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015

I stayed at this wonderful property for 3 nights back in July of this year, which is about a 30 minute transfer from St Johns' International airport.
Carlisle Bay has a long beautiful beach in a secluded bay with a backdrop of hills and lush green forest. It was great to get up early in the morning and have a walk along the beach with the warm breeze and dipping my toes in the clear water.
I stayed in one of the Ocean Suites, which had an open-plan bedroom-sitting room, spacious balcony with wonderful sea views and a great shower room.
I had breakfast everyday in the main restaurant Indigo on the Beach, which is a great place to start the day. Very relaxing with great food. I also had a meal at East, which serves Japanese, Thai, and Indonesian dishes.
I really felt like I was in Paradise for those 3 short days and hope to return there again one day for a longer stay.

Room tip: Ocean Suite - rooms are at quieter end of resort
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank torino20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlisleBay, General Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Dear Torino20,

Thank you for taking the time to reflect upon your experience at Carlisle Bay. We are thrilled that you were pleased with our amenities, cuisine and location.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Carlisle Bay for a longer stay in the future.

Warmest Regards,
John Rogers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2015

A beautiful location on a long, white sandy beach. Beach is perfect for walking. Wonderful amenities, exceptional staff and service. Fine dining with well prepared meals food and service at all restaurants. Rooms are luxurious with everything you could want.

Room tip: All rooms face directly on the beach. We stayed in a ground level suite. Terrific access.
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlisleBay, General Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2015

Dear Julie S,

Thank you for taking the time to reflect upon your experience at Carlisle Bay. We are thrilled that you were pleased with our amenities, exceptional staff, service, cuisine and not forgetting our location and our white sandy beach which is indeed perfect for walking.

We are nothing without our wonderful team with whom you kind comments will be shared and much appreciated.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Carlisle Bay experience and we hope to welcome you back in future.


Kind regards,

John Rogers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2015

Fancied a day of luxury, so purchased day passes here - not cheap at usd118 each but you get wonderful service, lunch with drinks, afternoon tea, luxury spa changing rooms, use of beach facilities and pool. The staff could not be more charming. Well worth it for a treat!

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank paulm2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlisleBay, General Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2015

Dear paulm2101,

Thank you for sharing your Carlisle Bay Experience. It is always uplifting to receive positive feedback in regards to the quality of our facilities, staff and cuisine.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with the entire team.

We were delighted to you chose us and that it was well worth the treat. We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Carlisle Bay in the future.


Kind regards,
John Rogers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews