We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
US$980
US$955
View deal
Official HotelUS$980
Booking.comUS$980
PricelineUS$980
eDreamsUS$980
Orbitz.comUS$955
Agoda.comUS$980
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (666)
Filter reviews
666 results
Traveller rating
562
65
23
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
562
65
23
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water skiing surf beach water sports sea grape tennis courts return guests beach restaurant tamarind restaurant snorkeling trips squash court kids camp cocktail party paddle boarding repeat visitors tennis program hobie cats tennis week
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 666 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2019

We stayed here for a week in November last year and had a great experience. Everything about this hotel is perfection. The ground floor room we had opened up directly onto the beach and we had breakfast on our terrace every morning. The service here is fantastic and the food is delicious. If you like a more upscale experience, ie: champagne on the beach, not having to fight for a beach chair, water sports at your finger tips...we snorkelled, took out Hobi Cats each day, water skied etc with no wait time. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and there are fantastic tennis courts, gym etc. If you want a relaxing all-inclusive escape with beautiful beaches and amazing staff this is your hotel. Try a BBC on the beach "Baileys, Banana and Coconut"...my favourite drink by far. We will return.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy E, Manager at Curtain Bluff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2019

Thank you for your review we are so happy you enjoyed your stay at CB. We were one of the first luxury hotels to go all inclusive back in the 1990's and we have never looked back. Enlarging our all inclusive package, to include activities like motorized water sports, tennis, squash, pickleball, basketball, Pilates, Yoga, water aerobic classes, kids camp and so much more.
We look forward to welcoming you both back in the future, we will ensure a frosty BBC is waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2019

After traveling extensively in the Caribbean during each winter to escape the cold and snow of the Northeast U.S., I was recommended to Curtain Bluff. I first went in 1988 and have returned 26 times. It was and is simply the best resort in the Caribbean. The guests return year after year at the same time, renew the relationships that were established there and watch them grow into lasting friendships. Amazingly enough, most of the staff returns year after year. The head tennis pro recently retired after 45 years with the resort. Waiters are recognized and greeted by first names. Much of this ambience was created because the resort has been owned by the same family for its more than 55 years in existence and they live on the premises. They have also provided significant charitable support to the town of Old Road in Antigua where the resort is based. That is a prime reason for the staff loyalty and overall "family" feeling that permeates the resort. Relaxation is instantaneous on arrival because everything is taken care of almost instantaneously and unobtrusively. As an all-inclusive resort, there is no need to worry about costs or tipping for all the basic services.
Each year, there are improvements--never dramatic, but all designed to improve the guest's experience. With only about 72 rooms, it is very easy to meet the few new people that you don't already know. And it is a short walk to the dining room, beach and tennis courts.
The food is excellent, with casual lunches on the beach and elegant dinners. This also is a result of consistency in the staff. With so little turnover, it is much easier to provide consistent quality and regular incremental improvements.
The rooms are not luxurious, but very comfortable and constantly being refreshed and improved.
If you like to try new places every year, don't go to Curtain Bluff. Because you will be disappointed whenever you go anywhere else.

Room tip: I prefer the ground level rooms, right on the beach.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mborkowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy E, Manager at Curtain Bluff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2019

Thank you, thank you for your wonderful review. As a long time CB guest you certainly understand what makes CB so special. Our annual renovations this summer will include our Bluff rooms and suites.
Looking forward to seeing you back at CB next March for your 27 visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2019

This was our first time to Curtain Bluff and I have to say it was wonderful with a few caveats. Firstly we were warmly greeted upon arrival. The rooms were nicely done though we were hard pressed the first few nights as to how a family of 4 sleeps comfortably in a junior suite. We should have been shown that the sofa, though not a pullout, was supposed to be used as a bed.we should have asked I suppose so I can’t entirely blame the staff. Having brought our 10 and 8 year olds we were a bit apprehensive that they would find enough to do but they seemed to enjoy it. Though a big point of contention with me was the rocky beach that did not make it easy to enter the ocean especially for my children that usually like to play by the waters edge as typical children do. Thankfully we were able to use the floats provided to venture out. The food was amazing and it was nice to feel that you were in a fine restaurant as opposed to other all inclusive resorts where you have the typical scene of people gorging themselves with as much food as possible because it’s “included”. My wife met Wendy who was lovely and very helpful. And to me the icing on the cake was being met by one of the owners on the morning of our departure to say goodbye. You don’t find that too many places.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hdorrego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy E, Manager at Curtain Bluff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent CB trip. We are so pleased that your children had a great time at CB, we hope they also enjoyed all the activities that our CeeBee kids camp had to offer them, from fishing off the dock, to making wind chimes using treasures from the beach. As well as all the watersports and land activities that active children so enjoy. Our calm beach has improved since your visit, less small shells and stones have been washing ashore, making it so much easier to get in and out of the water. Mother nature has a way of repairing itself over time.
We look forward to seeing you all back at CB in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2019

We Loved this Hotel, who wouldn't, being in pure luxury!!
However it was extortionate, well overpriced £1,760 per day !! yes per day!!
They really need to look a this.... Most of the staff were great.... some a bit surly..unfriendly
As for Robert Sherman, the Manager, he really needs to take some lessons in welcoming Guests and being a lot more friendly and warm. After all we are paying his significant salary.
Christof was very helpful cooking us Vegan dishes.. delicious.... we are awaiting your reply to our email Christof about the Vegan Omelette you made please.
We would love to come back but just cannot justify paying these prices.

A beautiful setting, very hard to find from the Airport, especially in the dark, and avoiding the potholes We were the only guests who hired a car!! from the Airport, good eh!! Everyone else got taxis.
A final note in a magical place, the sadness loomed with all the stray dogs and cats wandering the streets, even Goats...
There is So much wealth in Antigua, please help the abandoned animals and set up a neutering
and education programme to raise awareness for animals and against cruelty. We did what we could while we were there.

Room tip: Beach and sea facing rooms with balcony
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mchj2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy E, Manager at Curtain Bluff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2019

Thank you for your review. As far as our rates go, we do include so very much in our rates from gourmet meals, to top shelf liquor, room service, to a full range of motorized and non motorized water sports, to tennis courts, squash courts, kids camp, meet and greet service at the Antigua airport, yoga and Pilates classes, a fully equipped gym. Our winter season rates are quite high, but our spring and summer rates are half the price with all the same included items as in the winter. We hope you will consider CB for a future holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2019

Curtain Bluff is a very special place. It is quite hard to describe this resort because it is very different to the vast majority of hotels we have visited.
The resort has been in the hands of the same owners forever and the customer-focused ethos and style of Chelle Hulford is in the DNA of Curtain Bluff. The location on the bluff is stunning with two beautiful sandy beaches. The staff really seem to enjoy looking after the guests, many of whom have returned year and year.
The food and drink offering is first class. Don't misunderstand the 'all-inclusive' offering - there is no scramble for average canteen food from a buffet - all meals from both of the restaurants are a la carte and served by very attentive and friendly waiters.
The water-sports team are wonderful and help with a bit of tuition on all the water activities. As a qualified diver, I enjoyed 3 morning dives on the nearby Cades Reef (included in the package) and saw sharks, turtle, rays, barracuda, etc.
This is not the place to go if you want lively nightlife and it is in quite a remote location (although taxis are permanently on hand). If you want quiet luxury, relaxation, excellent food and a lovely climate, then I think this is the perfect spot.

Room tip: We had a ground floor room that is right on the beach
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonkeyAndPony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy E, Manager at Curtain Bluff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2019

Thank you for your review of your recent CB vacation. We like to think that Curtain Bluff is sprinkled with a bit of stardust and it is quite unique among hotels in the world. It has a lot to do with our long standing staff, who get to know our guests and remember their likes. Our range of watersports is quite large to include motorized motor sports such as daily dives and twice daily snorkel trips out to Cades reef the best live reef on the island, where it is a daily occurrence to see turtles, rays, reef sharks and an array of beautifully coloured fish.
We look forward to welcoming you back to CB.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews