We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
50
18
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
18
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Agave Landings has a great, secure location overlooking Ffryes Beach. We spent 4 nights in Villa #4, which was well-equipped, maintained and tastefully furnished. Two good A/C units. No bugs. Melissa met us onsite upon our arrival to transfer the unit keys and provided a lovely complimentary welcome basket of wine, juices, snacks, and a cell phone for island use. The property is hilly and nicely landscaped, but there is no pool. It's only a couple of minutes walk to scenic Ffryes beach. There are only stairs to the second floor units. The electric gate to the driveway wasn't working the day that we arrived, but it was fixed the next day ( a remote control for the gate would have been appreciated). The free Wifi worked perfectly and the backup generator came on automatically when the island power went out. Bright sunlight floods the front of the villas in the late afternoon making cocktails on the veranda challenging. We were charmed by the large herd of goats that passed by the property some mornings. Unfortunately, the expanding Tamarind Hills development adjoins the property and there was a growing pile of dirt and rubble that encroached on the once serene view from the front of the villa; trucks and heavy equipment worked the pile during the daytime while we were out. The short road to the front of the property needs improvement. A beach umbrella to go with the beach chairs is recommended. Bring some laundry detergent pods if you want to use their washer and some bar soap if liquid soap isn't your pleasure. We felt that Agave Landings was the high point of our short stay on the island. It's like an oasis in its current surroundings.

Room Tip: Upstairs Villas have a better view
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 50StateVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016

we stayed in their cottage, which has an great view. loved the location, short walk to the beach. place to eat at the one end of the beach.
we did have an issue with ants during our stay. However, even after we left, they followed thru with customer service to make things right, which i feel they did.
bottom line, would i stay here again? between it's location and the customer service, the answer is Yes.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank bservil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

We were so pleased that we were able to stay at the Agave Landings for a week during our recent trip to Antigua. We were looking for a small, private location where we could be away from the hustle and bustle of resorts and just enjoy the lovely days in warmth and sun near a beach. Agave Landings certainly fulfilled our wishes in so many ways. Our apartment was spacious and well equipped with our daily needs including chairs and a cooler to take to the beach. Bougainvilla surrounds the grounds, and we loved our apartment which included a nice patio where we ate breakfast every morning and watched the beautiful birds (including many hummingbirds).

From our porch, we could see Ffreyes Beach in the distance, a five minute walk. This area is certainly one of the most beautiful parts of Antigua, and the beaches and the water were perfect. I'm not a great swimmer, but I looked forward to going into the sea each and every day because the water was quite calm, absolutely clear and a lovely 80 degrees at least. (We learned how fortunate we were to stay on the western side of Antigua by taking a catamaran trip around the entire island one day. There definitely are many lovely beaches, but the western shore is surely the best!) Also, it is possible to find shade because the shore was lined with small grape trees that provided adequate coverage most of the time. Beach umbrellas could also be rented at the northern end of the beach near Dennis' Restaurant.

We also so much appreciated the wonderful correspondence that we shared with Rose Marie who owns the property with her husband. She helped us in so many ways in making our plans, and we were so grateful for her good advice including where to get a rental car. We contacted the Tropical Car Rental company and couldn't have been more satisfied with the service we received. Our contact was a young lady named Mauricie, and she was fabulous--always prompt and helpful in every way. She even drove us in our rental to the airport on the day we were leaving!

We cannot recommend Agave Landings highly enough for those who want to stay in a lovely, out-of the-way place; but we do want travelers to be aware of the fact that there is construction going on at the southern end of Ffreyes Beach not too far from the apartments. We honestly found this a little dismaying upon our arrival since we came during the early afternoon and had to pass a bulldozer that was heading to the work site. There is a new resort being constructed so this work will probably be going on for a while. Honestly, this did not spoil our pleasure in staying at these apartments. All work was done by 5 Pm, and no one was working on the weekend. But we don't want others to be concerned as we were initially. I'm sure that Rose Marie and her husband will be so relieved when the resort has been completed!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BijouBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016

We were on our way to Montserrat and decide to spend a couple of days in Antigua. We stayed at the cottage in agave landing. The accommodations were adequate but by no means spectacular. The location was perfect. Walk to beach, and restaurants. The beach was stunning and the restaurant nearby was very good.

The bed was uncomfortable, the A/c was necessary- which we had never experienced before in the carribean.
But the worse part was the swarm of ants that was in the cottage. They came out at night, and came through the light switches and television cable. We know that there are ants in the carribean and we take that with a grain of salt, but this was absolutely intolerable. The walls and floors were covered with ants. We had NO food with us, so it was not caused by our carelessness.

We called the office 3 times and they sent no one. The people that were staying in the apartments did not have ants.

We will never return to this place.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Michele089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseMarie_Kelley, Owner at Agave Landings, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2016

We were delighted to have you stay with us for 2 nights and are very dismayed that your stay was marred by the presence of these non-biting running ants. After receiving a message via our property manager from you about your stay I immediately sent you a personal email in response and asked our property manager to process a partial refund of your charges. I have not heard back from you but can only assume you've received both. As indicated in my email we do have a regular scheduled exterminating service that takes care of our property, as evidenced by the fact (as indicated by you) that our apartments did not have any ants. However, the island has been experiencing a very long drought and the ants have emerged as a small problem because they are seeking a water source as explained by our exterminator. Thus the reason they sometimes climb into the cottage. In addition, we have some beautiful bougainvillea plants which adorn and beautify the cottage but which we will be cutting back so they do not have any way to climb up onto the cottage. Previous guests who stayed in the cottage did not experience this problem and I am very sorry that you had to be inconvenienced by them. When you contacted the office to advise of the problem they took your query and then contacted the exterminator right away who informed them that they could not come out to the cottage to fix the problem that day. What they failed to do was to call you back and give you an update or to send someone over to spray the ants with some store bought ant killer. For that I also apologize and I did address that issue with them. They also could not move you to another unit because we were fully booked at that time. I am very sorry to hear that you would never stay with us again as I would hope you would afford us another opportunity to give you a pleasant stay. However, I fully understand. If you have any additional questions please feel free to contact me directly via email as you did to initially book our stay. Best Wishes,
RoseMarie Dowe-Kelley
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2016

Over the last few years we have had the opportunity to travel. Our destination the Caribbean. After much deliberation we set our site on Antigua & Barbuda. We have found that the "Self Catering" accommodations offer us the opportunity to meet a variety of like minded travelers, as well as experience more of the local atmosphere. Agave Landings complex was no exception. Housing 6 individual units in the main building and a cosy cottage behind. The guests during our visit were diverse and welcoming. The units are clean and well maintained. Offering modern comforts WI-FI, AC, dishwasher, washer and dryer and on site parking. With fanominal views from the top balcony of the Caribbean to enjoy your morning coffee. The complex is a short walk to Ffryes Bay, which we felt offered one of the best beaches on the island.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MindyMoo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseMarie_Kelley, Owner at Agave Landings, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2016

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time on Antigua and Barbuda and your stay at our property Agave Landings. I'm especially glad that you've come to like Ffrye's Beach as much as we do. It is known as one of the best beaches on the island because of its natural seclusion being on an inlet. We've been very fortunate over the years to have some wonderful down to earth guests. A lot of whom return to stay with us many times and some who've become friends and look forward to seeing each other on their visits. This makes me smile because I know you are all enjoying the place as much as I intended for you to enjoy it. We feel great that you had a good holiday and wish you the best until we perhaps see you again!

Warm Wishes,
RoseMarie & Paul Kelley
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews