We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further in Antigua”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2010

I do not usually take the trouble to record my views on holidays but on returning from Cocobay I feel I should. We are reasonably frequent visitors to the Caribbean and to Antigua. We called in on Cocobay in 2009 and were impressed by our tour. We booked immediately and we were not let down. The resort is small and intimate. It is busy but allows space for all. The beach is well positioned but you need to arrive early to secure shade. There is a lovely infinity pool area and a grass area for lounging and more access to the sea. This affords real variety. We opted for a sea-front cottage which had its own plunge pool and air-con. The air-con is an advantage because although all cottages have ceiling fans the wooden structures soak up the warmth and it is very warm inside. That said the cottages are wonderful. They are traditional and private. There is a welcome absence of TV but if you wish to be connected there is excellent wi-fi in reception and the bar.
The staff are without fault. Nothing is too much trouble. Food was excellent. Dinner was a delight with 4 courses available and no repeat menus during our 14 day stay. Other meals were buffet style with good choice. The dining area was comfortable with different seating levels. The views from all aspects was beautiful.
This is a quiet hotel - adults only (14+ I think judging by a few family groups) so taking advantage of other activities is a good idea. We hired a car for 3 days at a very good rate ( just over £100). Petrol is cheap and the freedom this allowed was money well spent. The roads are not great but keeping to the major roads and avoiding St Johns at peak times the experience was rewarding. Half Moon Bay in the SE was a gem and just stopping by the roadside and having a dip in the Caribbean was a a joy.
We also flew across to Montserrat for the day. We had planned to go by ferry but it was cancelled at fairly short notice ( not a very reelable service it appears). We managed to get 4 Winair plane seats at just over £60 each. (almost as cheap as the ferry but quicker and less illness inducing - it is choppy I'm told!). The experience was memorable. You cannot fail to be awed by the devastation the erupting volcano has caused or by the resilience of its people . You must however book a taxi guide to take you around. The Montserrat TB can help with this. I'm amazed and a little disappointed that Montserrat don't do more to publicise this opportunity.
I cannot recommend our stay at Cocobay highly enough. It was everything we hoped for and more. We will return at some point in the future. Well done to all.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
3  Thank GaryB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,652 - 1,656 of 2,402 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2010

This was my 7th visit to Cocobay, and yet again i could find absolutely no fault in the resort at all.
I have just read the recent comments left by a couple on their honeymoon, and i would strongly disagree with everything they said.
I work within the travel industry and have been given the opportunity to travel the world. However it is always Cocobay that i keep going back to, and Cocobay that i just love.
Immediately on checkin everyone is greeted with a very warm welcome and a glass of rum punch, and the cold flannel to cool off with is most welcome. The staff are all trained to the highest standards and are some of the politest staff i have ever come accross. The manager at this resort is a gentleman called Oneal Richards. Mr Richards is always immaculate in his personal presentation and equally as particular about the standards of the resort. Mr Richards can not do enough for the guests and if any minor problems do occur, Mr Richards went out of his way to get them rectified.
The food at the resort is of a top class standard and always plenty of choice.
The pool is an infinity pool that has been built into the side of the bay and overlooks the caribean sea - just perfect for chilling and relaxing. There was plenty of shade by the pools and enough loungers for everyone.
The beach at Cocobay is also just perfect, with clear crysal water that just invites you to swim and wind down in.
All in all, i would rate this resort as one of the very best anywhere i have travelled. They frequently have repeat guests, and the whole atmosphere has a warm welcome family feel.
I would definately recommend this resort to anyone, and please DO NOT be put off by any bad reviews. Whilst you can not please everyone, if you read through the reviews on this resort you will find this truely is a lucky find, and any negative reviews are just a one off !!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pikey200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We went on Honeymoon here after staying at Cocos just across the bay. We were really disspointed with the service and the resort during our stay. When we arrived the receptionist was rude and uninterested and seemed to take delight in telling us we had arrived to early and that we wouldnt be able to use the bar etc untill 3 pm.
The room we were then given (which was late) was suposed to be a 'sea view' but wasnt overlooking the bay but a grotty lake and a distant view sea view.
We had an issue in our room which we asked to get fixed but after 2 days it hadnt been looked at so we had to ask twice for this to be repaired, which seemed to be no issue to the same receptionist.
We then asked if we could pay for an upgrade of the room but again the receptionist just seemed uninterested and was rude to us again. The manager then came out and was just as rude!
Here is a quick summary of what we thought.
The rooms are clean and tidy but need updating. Bed was small and uncomfortable.
The resort is ok but the staff are a joke
The pool area is small and has no shade cover.
The barman was always grumpy and they would always run out of certain drinks.
There is no beach bar so to get a drink you have to walk back up to the pool area.
The daytime/evening food was enjoyable however and there is a good selection to choose from. The staff here were pleasent and the service good.
The Beach was really nice and not to overcrowded it was nice to get away from the staff.
Overall we had a really bad experience here. Its not a terrible place, but just isnt that great if you want mediocre then stay here. I would personally look for somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank tham13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

The last review is upsetting and couldn't be further from the truth. Cocobay is heaven on earth.
First of all, if you have no desire to try food that is not basic meat and potatoes, you might have a problem. However, we found the food to be great and never went to bed hungry.
We had one of the most amazing rooms at the resort and the plunge pool was PERFECT! We were on our honeymoon and between the hammock and our own pool we rarely left the room. Not to mention that all the views from the rooms with plunge pools are out of this world.
Our wedding was wonderful. I highly recommend using Shelly Chadburn photography. They have a photographer at the resort (and her pictures looked fine) but Shelly gave us an experience like no other. We also did a 'trash the dress' shoot with her later in the week and even if you don't use her for the wedding... the 'trash the dress' shoot was one of the most amazing things we've ever done. www.shellychadburn.com (you can also do this for fun or an anniversary)
We were so sad to leave. This place is a quiet, lovely place to stay. If you want a big & commercial cookie cutter resort, you don't belong here. But for those of you who want to get away from it all and experience Antigua I promise, you will appreciate and love this gem. We didn't hear one complaint from anyone in our 10 days.
The Staff was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOVED THEM ALL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The bartenders will make you any drink you want and the beer was pretty good, too!
Tip - Bring mosquito repellent with deet and don't put on perfume type lotions. We did this and didn't find a bite on us the entire time we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christie81079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Needless to say, the title of "BEST" vacation resort we've ever been to says a lot. We've been to several resorts in the Caribbean from Sandals, to Atlantis, to Wyndham but the quality of service & hospitality at Cocobay Resort is unmatched!!
The reason we're so compelled to write this review is because of the friendliness of the staff who went out of their way to make us feel "taken care of." From Phylis at the reception desk to Oriele at the bar, no request was too large or outlandish (and believe me we had many). Tracy from Reservations went out of her way to ensure that we enjoyed the most that the island had to offer. She spent at least an hour explaining and sorting out the various tours including one to Barbuda via the Barbuda Express. It was a surprise that the boat ride to Barbuda was absolutely horrendous (the majority of the folks on this boat vomited as a result of the turbulent ride) BUT when we arrived, OH MY GOODNESS, this 14 mile beach was a slice of heaven! It was a great recommendation! Tracy also shared her first hand "local" experiences with Carnival festivities which definitely came in handy; it was as if we were visiting a friend and were given an inside scoop!
There is no topping the service, however, of the General Manager, Mr. O'Neal Richards! The quality of service at Cocobay is a clear reflection of his vision and direction. When we first arrived, we were taken back by the breathtaking views that the resort was able to offer. Located in the seafront cottage adjacent to the reception area, we sought a bit more privacy though. When O'Neal introduced himself to us, he curiously asked in which cottage we were staying. My wife mentioned that this was "right next to reception" and he took the hint right away. Immediately, he got on his Blackberry and made arrangements for us to see three more rooms for our choosing including his personal favorite! Wow. We felt great! Dinner was no different as many nights, O'Neal could be seen mingling with coupes (and staff) keeping all smiling and in good spirits!
There is one other example of the top notch "taken care of" service that I must mention. My newlywed wife and myself initially chose Cocobay because of it's breathtaking views. From the plunge pool by the cottage, to the infinity pool by the beautiful restaurant, to the particularly STUNNING view from the balcony at Sheer Restaurant which was unfortunately closed until October (Do NOT go to that balcony without your camera..... you'll want to cherish that view for a lifetime)! As we attempted to schedule some honeymoon shots at that balcony, we hit a brick wall. Because of the Carnival festivities, our photographer found himself to be extremely busy... too busy in fact to connect wih us at all! My wife was heartbroken. O'Neal was not going to let this happen. With a smile on his face, he told us to go enjoy the resort as he makes a call to photographer (he assured that he can be rather persuasive). Two hours later, we were located and told be be ready for the shoot at sunset. Again, wow! Our smiles were ear-to-ear.
You just don't get this service anywhere. I often find that anyone can be nice, but it's just not the same as being helpful. The folks at Cocobay resort were both. We felt that as breathtaking as the whole resort is, it's the staff that captures it's beauty!
This is what a vacation should feel like. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CFiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
14.5 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,944 reviews
2.7 km away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
517 reviews
20.8 km away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
876 reviews
3.5 km away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 8 in Saint Mary's
1,078 reviews
22.6 km away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Ffreyes Beach, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range: €350 - €627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, West Indies, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing