We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$480
US$216
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wild Lotus Antigua(Bolans)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$183
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Victory Villas Antigua(Bolans)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
US$445
US$273
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$349/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Siboney Beach Club(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$162
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Galley Bay Resort & Spa(Five Islands Village)(Great Value!)
US$508
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$315
US$184
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,503)
Filter reviews
2,503 results
Traveller rating
1,677
543
162
60
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,677
543
162
60
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr gorethe cottagescoco bayplunge poolbreakfast and lunchwaterfront suitesheer rockslower pooldeluxe cottagerum punchour honeymoonpaninislobstersea viewplantation housemosquito netbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
1,745 - 1,750 of 2,503 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2010

This was my 7th visit to Cocobay, and yet again i could find absolutely no fault in the resort at all.
I have just read the recent comments left by a couple on their honeymoon, and i would strongly disagree with everything they said.
I work within the travel industry and have been given the opportunity to travel the world. However it is always Cocobay that i keep going back to, and Cocobay that i just love.
Immediately on checkin everyone is greeted with a very warm welcome and a glass of rum punch, and the cold flannel to cool off with is most welcome. The staff are all trained to the highest standards and are some of the politest staff i have ever come accross. The manager at this resort is a gentleman called Oneal Richards. Mr Richards is always immaculate in his personal presentation and equally as particular about the standards of the resort. Mr Richards can not do enough for the guests and if any minor problems do occur, Mr Richards went out of his way to get them rectified.
The food at the resort is of a top class standard and always plenty of choice.
The pool is an infinity pool that has been built into the side of the bay and overlooks the caribean sea - just perfect for chilling and relaxing. There was plenty of shade by the pools and enough loungers for everyone.
The beach at Cocobay is also just perfect, with clear crysal water that just invites you to swim and wind down in.
All in all, i would rate this resort as one of the very best anywhere i have travelled. They frequently have repeat guests, and the whole atmosphere has a warm welcome family feel.
I would definately recommend this resort to anyone, and please DO NOT be put off by any bad reviews. Whilst you can not please everyone, if you read through the reviews on this resort you will find this truely is a lucky find, and any negative reviews are just a one off !!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pikey200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We went on Honeymoon here after staying at Cocos just across the bay. We were really disspointed with the service and the resort during our stay. When we arrived the receptionist was rude and uninterested and seemed to take delight in telling us we had arrived to early and that we wouldnt be able to use the bar etc untill 3 pm.
The room we were then given (which was late) was suposed to be a 'sea view' but wasnt overlooking the bay but a grotty lake and a distant view sea view.
We had an issue in our room which we asked to get fixed but after 2 days it hadnt been looked at so we had to ask twice for this to be repaired, which seemed to be no issue to the same receptionist.
We then asked if we could pay for an upgrade of the room but again the receptionist just seemed uninterested and was rude to us again. The manager then came out and was just as rude!
Here is a quick summary of what we thought.
The rooms are clean and tidy but need updating. Bed was small and uncomfortable.
The resort is ok but the staff are a joke
The pool area is small and has no shade cover.
The barman was always grumpy and they would always run out of certain drinks.
There is no beach bar so to get a drink you have to walk back up to the pool area.
The daytime/evening food was enjoyable however and there is a good selection to choose from. The staff here were pleasent and the service good.
The Beach was really nice and not to overcrowded it was nice to get away from the staff.
Overall we had a really bad experience here. Its not a terrible place, but just isnt that great if you want mediocre then stay here. I would personally look for somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank tham13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

The last review is upsetting and couldn't be further from the truth. Cocobay is heaven on earth.
First of all, if you have no desire to try food that is not basic meat and potatoes, you might have a problem. However, we found the food to be great and never went to bed hungry.
We had one of the most amazing rooms at the resort and the plunge pool was PERFECT! We were on our honeymoon and between the hammock and our own pool we rarely left the room. Not to mention that all the views from the rooms with plunge pools are out of this world.
Our wedding was wonderful. I highly recommend using Shelly Chadburn photography. They have a photographer at the resort (and her pictures looked fine) but Shelly gave us an experience like no other. We also did a 'trash the dress' shoot with her later in the week and even if you don't use her for the wedding... the 'trash the dress' shoot was one of the most amazing things we've ever done. www.shellychadburn.com (you can also do this for fun or an anniversary)
We were so sad to leave. This place is a quiet, lovely place to stay. If you want a big & commercial cookie cutter resort, you don't belong here. But for those of you who want to get away from it all and experience Antigua I promise, you will appreciate and love this gem. We didn't hear one complaint from anyone in our 10 days.
The Staff was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOVED THEM ALL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The bartenders will make you any drink you want and the beer was pretty good, too!
Tip - Bring mosquito repellent with deet and don't put on perfume type lotions. We did this and didn't find a bite on us the entire time we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christie81079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Needless to say, the title of "BEST" vacation resort we've ever been to says a lot. We've been to several resorts in the Caribbean from Sandals, to Atlantis, to Wyndham but the quality of service & hospitality at Cocobay Resort is unmatched!!
The reason we're so compelled to write this review is because of the friendliness of the staff who went out of their way to make us feel "taken care of." From Phylis at the reception desk to Oriele at the bar, no request was too large or outlandish (and believe me we had many). Tracy from Reservations went out of her way to ensure that we enjoyed the most that the island had to offer. She spent at least an hour explaining and sorting out the various tours including one to Barbuda via the Barbuda Express. It was a surprise that the boat ride to Barbuda was absolutely horrendous (the majority of the folks on this boat vomited as a result of the turbulent ride) BUT when we arrived, OH MY GOODNESS, this 14 mile beach was a slice of heaven! It was a great recommendation! Tracy also shared her first hand "local" experiences with Carnival festivities which definitely came in handy; it was as if we were visiting a friend and were given an inside scoop!
There is no topping the service, however, of the General Manager, Mr. O'Neal Richards! The quality of service at Cocobay is a clear reflection of his vision and direction. When we first arrived, we were taken back by the breathtaking views that the resort was able to offer. Located in the seafront cottage adjacent to the reception area, we sought a bit more privacy though. When O'Neal introduced himself to us, he curiously asked in which cottage we were staying. My wife mentioned that this was "right next to reception" and he took the hint right away. Immediately, he got on his Blackberry and made arrangements for us to see three more rooms for our choosing including his personal favorite! Wow. We felt great! Dinner was no different as many nights, O'Neal could be seen mingling with coupes (and staff) keeping all smiling and in good spirits!
There is one other example of the top notch "taken care of" service that I must mention. My newlywed wife and myself initially chose Cocobay because of it's breathtaking views. From the plunge pool by the cottage, to the infinity pool by the beautiful restaurant, to the particularly STUNNING view from the balcony at Sheer Restaurant which was unfortunately closed until October (Do NOT go to that balcony without your camera..... you'll want to cherish that view for a lifetime)! As we attempted to schedule some honeymoon shots at that balcony, we hit a brick wall. Because of the Carnival festivities, our photographer found himself to be extremely busy... too busy in fact to connect wih us at all! My wife was heartbroken. O'Neal was not going to let this happen. With a smile on his face, he told us to go enjoy the resort as he makes a call to photographer (he assured that he can be rather persuasive). Two hours later, we were located and told be be ready for the shoot at sunset. Again, wow! Our smiles were ear-to-ear.
You just don't get this service anywhere. I often find that anyone can be nice, but it's just not the same as being helpful. The folks at Cocobay resort were both. We felt that as breathtaking as the whole resort is, it's the staff that captures it's beauty!
This is what a vacation should feel like. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CFiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

This is a very old facility - ugly ugly bathrooms and don't get fooled by the existence of pools in the rooms - you seriously wouldn't want to set your feet in them. the view is amazing, but everything else from food to the beach sucks. it is basically a joke for the money we paid. the mosquitos were unbearable, we got like 100 bites during the short walk from our room to the restaurant despite the repellent and we couldn't even stay on the beach for 5 minutes because the flies and mosquitoes are ridiculous. don't waste your time and money, seriousl.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank FG90278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews