We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
24 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$1,639
Hotels.comUS$1,599
FindHotelUS$1,609
PricelineUS$1,639
Orbitz.comUS$1,599
StayForLongUS$1,609
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,934)
Filter reviews
2,934 results
Traveller rating
2,029
601
179
63
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,029
601
179
63
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sheer rocks the cottages plunge pool deluxe cottage mr gore breakfast and lunch waterfront suite coco bay paninis lower pool our honeymoon rum punch lobster mosquito net buffet style valley church beach sand flies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 2,934 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2019 via mobile

I have to say, Antigua is a visual paradise and the hotel makes sure to remind you every day with amazing views from your cottage, restaurant and pools! As we arrived, check in was easy, although our room was not ready, we we're redirected to the restaurant to grab a bite and come back. We got our cottage later on and the walk may be long but well worth it. Cottages are ultra clean and air conditioning works great. The cons of the room would be that the air conditioning doesn't seem to reach the bathroom and that lighting in there is very poor. If you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs and a sleeping mask. Crickets or whatever they are, are extremely loud and kept us up for the 2 first nights. Sleeping masks are because there are only white veils keeping the sunlight out. We slept with a blanket on our head all week for sound and light. Mini bars are only filled for guests that booked through the resort. We did ask it be filled anyways, which they did every day for the remainder of the week. Water bottles are hard to get your hands on in this resort... nowhere in restaurants or bars do they have them, only at reception and in your minibar if it gets filled.

On the resort, there are 2 infinity pools, one by the restaurant and one by the beach. The one by the beach has almost no shade, sometimes foul smell and stale water. The pool by the restaurant is fine although flies and bugs won't leave you alone for a second if you don't have bug spray!
There are 2 extra pools but very small and intimate which can accommodate 2 people at most. So you might want to get up early and reserve them. One is owned by the restaurant Sheer Rocks which is not affiliated with the resort. It won't take long that they will kick you out (politely) saying it has reservations already.

The hot subject on most reviews is the food... which i don't understand that they don't do anything about it knowing almost everyone is complaining. Breakfast is ok but redondant, lunch is a buffet with very few choices and diner plates are very small portions. My boyfriend went to bed still hungry a few times. We decided to splurge and order off the "paying" menu (30$ US) one night.... i got 5 regular size fried shrimps with 5-6 potato wedges. That was definitely a rip-off if you ask me! The deserts on the other hand we're quite tasty! You also have to be somewhat of a cat lover because they roam around the restaurant freely and most people feed them. Being a cat lover.. I had all given them different names for the week... there are about 6 different one you'll see every day.
There are many lizards (one which we hand fed), a few spiders (they run so fast it's unbelievable) and we did see a cockroach twice in our bathroom. Mongoose are roaming around as well.

The employees of the resort are polite and extremely nice. They will go out of their way for you! Locals on the beach will come up and try to sell you things but are extremely polite and non invasive. We actually booked a private charter boat for 4 hours with one of the locals and had an amazing time!!! His name is Chad, he picks you up, brings you snorkeling, visit beaches from different resorts and even stopped and took us walking in his village and introducing us to his people. That was a wonderful local experience right there! My boyfriend has a boat's drivers license and he let him drive the boat for about 2 hours. He even took us turtle watching and we saw 2 humongous turtles mating. Once in a lifetime experience!

Overall this resort is a wonderful place and i would definitely recommend it. The pros overruled the cons all the way!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Cynthia1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie M, Guest Relations Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review Cynthia1279!

It's great to know that you were pleased with the resort's location and stunning views. We are truly sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations with the meal offerings and the limited options. Your constructive criticisms have been received with humility and will serve as a useful tool towards future improvements.

Thank you for your recommendation we are extremely delighted you loved your stay with us and your overall Cocobay experience. We look forward to seeing you both again!



Laurie
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2019

As my title suggests, Cocobay is like a little slice of heaven on earth. From the moment you arrive, to the moment you leave, you are treated to true romance. The perfect place for a couples holiday.

We opted for a premium pool waterfront suite (Conch) and we were not disappointed. Situated directly on the bay and at the end of the waterfront cottages, we had complete seclusion. Our room came with an enormous kingsize bed and mosquito nets, complimentary mini bar that was stocked daily, air-conditioning, rain shower and outdoor bathtub as well as our own private terrace, hammock, sun deck and plunge pool. We also got a bottle of Caribbean coconut rum to enjoy throughout our stay. The cottage was that perfect and had everything that we needed that we rarely had to leave!

We opted for the all inclusive option (booked through Virgin) which meant we not only got breakfast, lunch and an evening meal, but also unlimited drinks and cocktails (Carribean Daze was a personal favourite of ours). The evening meal was sublime - a four course extravaganza which included a variety of fresh, luxury dishes every night. Fortunately, as we stayed in a waterfront cottage, we did not need to pay the additional supplements for the more premium dishes. I would definitely recommend the fried scallop and lobster medallion starter and beef tenderloin main course. Simply divine. Unlike dinner, both breakfast and lunch are served buffet style and again include differing dishes daily. I personally did not find the breakfast that varied (mainly pastries and fruit with some cooked food), however my husband loved it. I didn't really mind though as I was normally still full from the food the night before. We also opted for the beach meal on our last night where we got to dine under the stars surrounded by candlelight. A truly magical evening and well worth the money we paid. We were even given a a printed version of our menu to keep as a souvenir which was a lovely touch.

The hotel also offers a range of entertainment options including a fantastic spa (the Indian head massage and full body massage were excellent), two pools, complimentary kayaking as well a beach (public) on the hotel's grounds. Although you can't really leave the hotel grounds on your own (you're advised not to), there is that much to do and enjoy you really don't need to. If you do want to however, the hotel puts shuttle buses on to the local town and Shirley Heights (If you can, definitely go to the BBQ on a Sunday evening) as well as reps from all of the major holiday firms being there daily to book excursions which we found really handy.

All in all, our stay was pure magic and we cannot wait to return. Thank you so much Cocobay for an unforgettably romantic experience!

Strengths:
- Secluded cottages
- Stunning Views
- Peace and tranquility of the grounds

Weaknesses:
- Not enough variety for breakfast - this is only very minor though and I am still giving them a rating of a 5.

Room tip: Book a premium waterfront cottage for panoramic views of the bay
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Travarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie M, Guest Relations Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review....

We are truly happy you enjoyed the little slice of heaven Cocobay Resort has to offer. The secluded cottages to the stunning views and the peace and tranquility of the grounds it was our pleasure having you both with us.

We thank you immensely of the perfect 5 star rating. Your comments and suggestions are appreciated and have been duly noted.

See you both again soon!



Laurie
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2019

Cocobay Review

I’ll start with a 5/5 rating - we had an exceptional time and would love to go back :-)

My wife and I stayed from April 3-7 2019 in a premium waterfront suite (Calypso). I initially requested that room at the time of booking based on reviews / photos.

The views are stunning and seemingly endless.

Although we booked through a 3rd party (Expedia), because we booked a premium room, we were able to take advantage of the mini bar in the room and the additional menu items (at no additional cost). Previous reviews had indicated that if you book through a 3rd party both the mini bar and additional menu items would come with an additional cost, however that was not the case for us.

Food:
Breakfast opens at 7:30 ish every morning and as an early riser I like to start each day with coffee which is unavailable until they are open. No worries though, there was an espresso machine in our room which worked just fine. Breakfast an lunch items are similar each day with a few different options but overall delicious and the omelet station in=s a must.

Lunch starts at noon and they also do paninis at the beach bar. Although we didn’t have any, we heard other guests mention they were good.

Dinner was great and it was certainly nice to take advantage of the additional menu items, we ordered off the part of the menu both nights we ate there (steak, shrimp scallops, etc.)
Worth mentioning the Sheer Rocks restaurant which lies adjacent to the Cocobay resort. This is not part of the all inclusive package and is its own independent restaurant. I’ll be writing a separate review of Sheer Rocks, but it was absolutely fantastic. The views, the food and the atmosphere are unmatched and worth the price tag. We ate their two nights and would have gone back again if we had more time.

The beach is wonderful with plenty of snorkeling directly off the beach with quite large fish near the restaurant and near the outer coral shelf directly off the beach. You can paddle board, kayak, snorkel and sail for free. There are a few folks down there trying to sell you on jet skis, t shirts, etc. but they are not pushy, if you kindly say no they will leave you alone.

Both pools are exceptionally clean and the atmosphere is amazing which obviously come with those amazing views.

Take advantage of the private pool down below which is a first come first serve basis and we rarely found other guests there at all which was great for us :-).

The staff were friendly throughout the resort and always carried smiles on their faces.

There is one TV at the main bar, and we found that was more than enough, this is truly a place to disconnect and relax. However, if you must stay connected, wifi works great from your room to the pool to the beach.

Antigua is a beautiful place but certainly a poverty stricken country, if you’re coming to Cocobay, be sure to tip / take care of the staff, that goes a long way.

Overall the photos do not do it justice, wonderful experience and as much as we wish we could have brought our young son, we completely understand why this is an adults only experience.
5/5 all around.

Room tip: Plunge pool was worth it for the exceptional waterfront views and extra deck space. We stayed in Calypso and highly recommend it.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie M, Guest Relations Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2019

Thank you for your 5/5 review Jamesedwardadams!

An all-inclusive and exclusive adult getaway pretty much sums up Cocobay Resort.

We are truly happy you loved your beautiful cottage and spectacular views. It is heartening to know you appreciated the relaxed atmosphere, great beaches and nice food.

A comfortable relaxed stay is what we really aim for and we are thrilled that we were able to deliver.

Looking forward to having you back with us soon!




Laurie
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2019

This is a really well done resort. We stayed in a cabana with outdoor tub and plunge pool. Very private and lovely views of the bay. Staff was genuinely friendly and helpful at every turn. The pools and bars never felt crowded. Food and drinks were better than expected for an all inclusive, and Cocobay really does not feel like an all inclusive resort. Cabs are quick and the drivers are very helpful for outside excursions. Shout out to Mr George, (our favorite driver) who took us to Papa Zouks and multiple ATMs as they don't take credit cards there!. Overall, this was a fantastic choice on a beautiful island.

Room tip: Best cabana we thought would be The Palms (ours) or one of the Chattle houses
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guitton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie M, Guest Relations Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review Guitton1.

The lovely views, meal offerings and outstanding service makes for a well enjoyed vacation.

Our friendly and polite staff are looking forward to having you back as it was such a pleasure having you.






Laurie
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2019 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay here. I have traveled to many islands and this is by far my favorite. The location of this resort is picture perfect. There was so many beautiful infinity pools it was never crowded. It was very relaxing with friendly staff and great rum punches. We stayed in the chattel house and it was so beautiful. Jermain and Kerry are the best serves/bartenders. I would highly recommend, very romantic.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Loyola15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie M, Guest Relations Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2019

Thank you for your review!

We are truly happy you enjoyed the picture perfect location, beautiful pools and friendly staff (we will send your kudos to Jermain and Kerry!).

We thank you immensely for your recommendation and look forward to having you back with us! :)



Laurie
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews