We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,588)
Filter reviews
2,588 results
Traveller rating
1,745
557
164
60
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,745
557
164
60
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages mr gore coco bay plunge pool breakfast and lunch waterfront suite sheer rocks deluxe cottage lower pool rum punch our honeymoon paninis lobster sea view plantation house buffet style mosquito net
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 2,588 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Our Romantic vacation was planned long ago researching many resorts. I have read hundreds of reviews at hundreds of resorts but always kept returning to Cocobay. We booked through the resort and were never disappointed once for eight nights and nine days. From the start arriving at the airport being meet with VIP service we were escorted to the customs area to the sound of steel drums playing and friendly people. Upon passing though customs we were handed off to a Cocobay representative and escorted to a shuttle that took us to Cocobay. That’s where we were greeted by the General Manger O’neil Richards and the Concierge Nasasha. I work in the customer service industry and these two definitely know the meaning of great customer service. Their contagious happy and bubbly personalities are felt throughout the whole resort. When you arrive you feel like you have met back up with a long time friend. We were escorted to our premium water front suite “Yabba” with rum punch in hand and anxious for the beach. The room was as advertised and more. The views are phenomenal from every area in the room, bathroom and deck and plunge pool. Total privacy!. Where can you take a shower everyday and open a pair of doors to a view of the Caribbean Seas crystal clear waters.
The beaches are fabulous on either side of the resort .....Valley Church or Little Fryes with warm crystal clear water and great snorkeling, morning walks along the water found us sometimes being the only ones there enjoying what Antigua has to offer. We enjoyed at the end of the day coming back to the two infinity pools to cool off and enjoy the views.

I can’t speak enough how wonderful the whole staff make you feel and is definitely what will bring Cathy and I back. Up early, it happened every morning with greetings even from the groundskeepers and front desk people walking to have some quiet time. Some special Thank-you’s have to go out to the following for making our trip so special. Nasasha from the time we walked in she never stopped thinking about making our stay unforgettable and one night after dinner had fresh flower petals and candles all throughout our room. She will truly be missed. Kevin working the reception area from day one making sure our refrigerator in the room was always full. Negeret the lovely lady that did our housekeeping each day was fabulous and always left the room spotless with little special touches. My friend Sonja who makes the most unbelievable omelets, I wanted to bring her home with us. Each morning Cathy and I would come in for breakfast and Sonja knew how we wanted our omelets and would have them made without asking… so friendly (special lady). Each day at Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner we had friendly fabulous service, but these three people really stood out and went up and above and beyond, Kerry, Tiffany and Denise. Their service impeccable, but most of all their friendly daily conversation asking how our trip was going and sharing about their lives and Antigua, can’t wait to see them again. Daverm was always eager to wait on our needs and makes a great pina colada at the beach bar. I can’t say enough thanks to Robert who handles all the beach and water activities (snorkel gear, kayaks, hobie cat) but he does a lot more making your experience on the beach a great one, getting you drinks and making sure you have beach chairs, clean sand and always with a friendly smile. Every evening we enjoyed talking with Kenroy(Gore) he is quiet giant in the room that tended to our every need and always had some words of wisdom. I really enjoyed talking with this respectful man.

We had a Cocobay couples massage that was unbelievable in an open air room that over looks the Caribbean Sea and I highly recommend. We went to Shirley Heights and experienced Sunday night party with Steel drum band being the highlite. I highly recommend the Wadadali circumnavigate cruise around the Island that picks up right on Cocobay’s beach. Once again it was the crew that made the trip. We also rented Jet Skis right there on the beach which was a blast until I knocked Cathy off the back, Oh well part of having fun. Go downtown to St.Johns Harbor and experience the market place and gift shops a must.

The food at this all-inclusive was fabulous and different each day from the omelets in the morning to the steak and lobster in the evening and the wonderful fish that was prepared at lunch there is always something for someone. Afternoon tea was a treat and if you were really hungry you could have a panini made pool side and after each meal unique deserts and ice cream were always served.

I would give Cocobay Resort 10 stars if it was part of the rating. You must experience for yourself what Cathy and I enjoyed on our trip and we are definitely planning our trip to go back. We think about the resort and people everyday since we’ve been back. Thank-you CocoBay and staff for making our anniversary a memorable one to say the least. You all are the best! Rick and Cathy G.

Room tip: Premium Water Front Rooms and book through the Resort
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Rick-CathyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon W, Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Wow. Now this is a long, detailed response and we really do appreciate you taking the time to lay it all out in detail Rick/Cathy.

Antigua itself is an amazing place and we do our best to ensure that we maintain those high standards when you stay at Cocobay. You highlighted several staff members who made your stay memorable and we will ensure they receive the kudos.

And I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed the relaxing open air massage.

Thank you so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We have just got back from spending a week at Cocobay celebrating our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. The hotel was perfect and offered everything we needed to relax and enjoy. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with the infamous delicious 'Cocobay rum punch' and when we opened the door to our 'calypso' cottage we were truly overwhelmed by the stunning view. The room was beautiful and well equipped with a bottle of champagne to celebrate our honeymoon. We booked direct with the hotel so had a well stocked refrigerator, free wifi and were able to take advantage to the supplements on the dinner menu at no extra cost. We were also given a bottle of gin courtesy of the hotel to enjoy. Waking up to the view of the ocean each day was magnificent and the hotel grounds are well maintained. There are lizards, hummingbirds and mongoose everywhere and you soon adapt to the nightly tune of the tree frogs as soon as the sun goes down! The staff were friendly and polite and were happy to engage in conversation or leave you to your own devices which suited us perfectly. The food was delicious and the 4 course dinner was a welcome change to other all inclusive resorts I have visited. Every night was different and the food was of very high quality. We did find we received better service on an evening when we dined at 6.30pm rather than later but this was fine with us as it was beautiful watching the sun set as we ate. We also had dinner on the beach one night. This was perfect and very romantic. Again I highly recommend booking this for 6.30pm when it is dusk as by 7.15pm it is completely dark so you miss the stunning view. The drinks were plentiful and it was great to be offered drinks whilst sunbathing by the pool or by the beach. The hotel was pretty quiet but I know it is low season, we never struggled to get a sun bed by the pool or beach which was great. We hired a jet ski on the beach which was exhilarating and also went snorkelling. One afternoon we took advantage of the nature walk with Vorn which was a brilliant insight into village life, tasting the locally grown fruits and learning about the plants growing around the hotel grounds and in the local village. The hotel offers a shuttle to visit the famous Shirley Heights, which we went to on Sunday evening and enjoyed watching the sunset over the bay whilst the steel band played.
During our holiday we also booked an island tour with Nellie at 'Unique Island Tours' and a sunset catamaran cruise with 'Catch the Cat'. Both tours I highly recommend.
I was really worried about the mosquitos before we went but we didn't see any and only had 1 or 2 bites between us. I did go fully prepared however, taking Boots suntan lotion and after sun with insect repellent in, as well as Maximum Jungle Formula spray and taking B1 vitamins which I had read may help! I'm not sure which was the winning formula but all worked well for us! I initially suffered from prickly heat and had to adapt to the humidity so I recommend taking something to help with this also.
The courtesy hut which is available for use after checking out of your room is rustic but has certain charm about it and offers such incredible views to leave you with forever. I didn't feel overlooked and am pretty sure guests wouldn't even know it was there unless they have used it themselves!
It was a wonderful week and we will look back at our photos with fond memories. Thank you Cocobay for making our honeymoon special.

Room tip: Book a waterfront suite if only for part of you stay as the upgrade is worth it.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Litlun25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon W, Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

We love honeymooners at Cocobay - and we love making your romantic getaway special. Thank you for your kind words and for your detailed review on our features and amenities.

We will ensure that the warm touches remain and that we continuously tweak any little misfires that you might have noticed. Your feedback and patronage are greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Team Cocobay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Cocobay Resort is located in an idyllic part of the island - away from busy 'social' hotspots and the surge of cruise tourists that pour in from St. James'. The resort is perfect for couples, friends and families who are desperately in need of relaxation and vitamin D.

The hotel staff were, on the most part, happy to help and provided a service fitting of the hotel's star rating; some members of the waiting team surpassed this on a daily basis. Similarly, the facilities were reflective of the hotels ratings, and, in certain places, the plunge pool on the lower level for example, exceed expectation. In contrast, the facility that is available on a traveller's final day, a facility to shower, otherwise known as the courtesy room, is entirely unacceptable and leaves a sour taste in your mouth just before you leave - the primitive lean to hut, with a poorly maintained privacy features, should definitely be upgraded/developed.

The hotel's food was good, there was alway enough food to choose from and left us very satisfied. The drinks were also readily available and, on the most part, bar bottled water, able to cater for every individuals needs.

Views are superb, the beaches are delightful and the water is crystal clear. The only slight annoyance are the 'tour operators' who are based by the entrance to the beach (there is no avoiding them). Tours run daily from the hotel, collecting from the beach (boat trips) or the reception (other land tours) - ensure you compare prices between beach operator and the hotel reception. St.James is worth a visit and the hotel run a shuttle service leaving about 9 returning at 1, the half day trip is ample time to explore. We didn't actually venture further than the resort more than once, the beach and the water sports available suited our needs.

Rooms are as expected, but the beds are very comfortable. Ensure that you have a room with air conditioning as nights can often be warm, and you might need a break from the unrelenting heat.

ESSENTIAL: Insect repellent, sun cream, after-bite and after sun.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EnglishTeacher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon W, Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Happy to hear that you loved the seclusion and the couple friendly atmosphere of our beautiful resort.

We try to maintain the rustic, laid back plantation style look throughout the property, and the Courtesy Room is no different. However we will take your suggestions on developing it without taking away from the island charm into consideration.

We also apologize if the Tour Operators on the beach were a bit pushy. We try to strike a balance between keeping our guests secluded and allowing them to enjoy the interaction and the activities offered by the local vendors who ply their trade on the beaches.

Looking forward to seeing you back here in a few years to enjoy the blues and the views. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

There are no words that can really sum up our stay here, it is something that should only be experienced. From the second we got off the plane we were welcomed with open arms, smiles (and ice cold water!)
Our welcome at the hotel was like we were going home to see old friends. Nasasha's smile and infectious laugh is something I looked forward to every day.
Our room was just beautiful. Clean, cool and well maintained. There are no curtains so if you're one for a lie in, take a sleep mask! The mosquito net on the bed was a god send, we also took a plug-in, bracelets and sprays for the mozzies although that wasn't enough! Apparently the best you can buy is 'off'. Due to this we didn't sit out on the balcony a lot due to fear of getting eaten.
The place is beautiful to walk around. The views are incredible and it's so green and floral. But with this comes wildlife! Mostly lizards which are so lovely and pretty to look at, they weren't any bother. Ants were around, but once you knew to look out for them, they weren't really a bother either. We also got glimpses of mongoose, hummingbirds and even a giant caterpillar!
The pool area is immaculate and often the staff would come and do a bar-run for people and run down sorbets and ice creams too. There were never issues over sunbeds because the resort is so nicely spread out. 2 pools (although top one is nicer) plus the main beach and if you're lucky enough, a little spot of private beach with a bed.
The food was faultless. Buffet breakfast and lunch with freshly cooked omelettes and fish each day. Amazing selection of fresh food and juices.
Dinner was a small menu (about 4 choices for each course) but they adapt if you want more of something or want to mix and match. A fussy eater may struggle with dinner choices. Staff were SO efficient and attentive, and on the whole, the friendliest people I've ever met!
What I found amazing about them is that they'd remember little details about you, so they could speak to you personally. Genuinely made us feel so special. The night we got engaged during sunset, we got the best reaction from Nasasha and then a room covered in petals and candles with a bottle of champagne the next night. A complete surprise and something I'll never forget.
We treated ourselves to a couples massage at the hotel spa which was a super choice but very pricey.
We were only there a week so managed a couple of trips, both EXCELLENT!!
The extreme boat trip was faultless even though I came back looking like a lobster. The guys were knowledgable, funny and friendly. Rendezvous beach was the best beach I've ever, and probably will ever, walk on. Only accessible by boat or 4x4. Snorkelling was better around the hotel coral reef than by pillars of Hercules but sting ray city.... WOW! Best thing I've experienced ever.
We also managed a 40min tour of Antigua by helicopter (one tick off the bucket list) and it took my breath away. The pilot is obviously very knowledgable about the area, but made it fun listening and would answer questions or take a turn if you spotted something in the sea. Another wonderful experience. Everything down to the taxis was very well organised and professional.
From the hotel you can snorkel, paddle board, kayak or even take out a mini cat for free. There are also jet ski guys around and this was a lot of fun also!

Genuinely cannot wait to go back. Cocobay, I love you! Thank you to all for making our very special holiday even better xx

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuella H, Guest Relations Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hello Rachel,

Thank you for your very heartening review.

From your welcome>>to a beautiful room, incredible surroundings and wildlife......efficient, attentive and friendly staff - a stay topped up with delicacies and unexpected unforgettable surprises.......Nasasha's smile and laughter>>>this was all our pleasure!!!

WOW.....we are glad that you also took the time to pamper yourself at the wellness cottage and experience some of extra activities all on one week.

The next time you feel like taking another guilt free indulgence, please come back and see us......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We have just returned from spending an enjoyable 2 weeks at Coco Bay. There are many positives about the resort but we cannot say it is the best we have been to, there are areas for improvement.

On the positive side we found the staff for the most part extremely friendly and helpful with the rare exception of one or two who came across as a little bit surly at times. Whilst we were there an official looking white chap - maybe he was the manager, I don't know? - was often to be seen wandering around with a clipboard and talking to staff. We wondered why he didn't make an effort to talk to guests, but perhaps he was from outside the hotel.

The food was excellent, particularly the evening meal, for which the menu changed every day and was a lovely choice of really fresh delicious dishes with a Caribbean twist. The drinks were good and plentiful, a good choice of cocktails and very generous measures.

The entertainment was good, quite low-key but some excellent musicians - we particularly loved Foster Joseph, so talented and a charming guy - and this made our evenings really enjoyable.

The room was cosy, bed lovely and comfortable, nice simple furnishings and a balcony with a beautiful view. It was quite basic, however, and could do with a bit of a spruce up/re-paint. There was a little fridge, two small bottles of water when we arrived, but after this we had to buy our own water from the shop which was quite expensive.

The beach was just a short walk down and it was lovely but we found that we got bitten quite badly by sand flies (not mozzies) so we then tended to sit by the pool. The main infinity pool was very nice and we could usually get a couple of beds. The pool was lovely and warm and kept clean, the other two smaller pools were quite murky, however. In general the pool area, restaurant and bar were nice, but certain parts a bit tatty and in need of maintenance. Also, there was usually quite loud music playing all the time and we would have just preferred peace quiet. We did ask Jermaine to turn the music down a bit, and he obliged.

Normally when I go away I like to have a spa treatment but I didn't this time as they were really expensive, much more than I pay in the UK - 110 dollars for a massage was quite prohibitive, I thought. I didn't see many people using the spa, maybe that was the reason.

The resort is literally off the beaten track, so not the place to go to if you like to walk to a another restaurant/shop/bar. Also the nearest ATM is at Jolly Harbour which is a ten minute taxi ride away.

Whilst there we had a couple of trips, one was the jeep safari which was excellent, stopped at loads of interesting places, quite bumpy, but great fun. We had a fantastic guide, Kissoon, who was lovely.

We also did the Wadadli boat trip, and we didn't enjoy this so much, as it was really noisy and loud, and we felt that the boat was over-filled (mostly morbidly obese Americans, don't wish to be judgemental, but it wasn't a pleasant experience particularly at lunchtime). So, if you do a boat trip, do your research beforehand. In hindsight we wished we had done the lobster lunch boat excursion.

Highlight of the holiday was by far the wonderful carnival, and thanks to Sheree, our taxi driver, we were dropped off at an excellent vantage point where we could really enjoy the parade. This was an amazing spectacle, the bands, the costumes, the spirit of the people, something we will never forget.

So, in summary, a lovely holiday, nice resort - but needs sprucing up a bit - great if you love a beautiful beach but are immune to sand flies.

Room tip: Our room was a luxury cottage, no pool, with a nice seaview.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuella H, Guest Relations Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hello Wendy,

Thank you for sending us your feedback.

We are happy that you enjoyed the beautiful location, lovely resort and the many other aspects of your visit. We sincerely appreciate your other comments which will certainly help us with ongoing improvements towards total guest satisfaction.

Hopefully you will visit with us again the next time your plans bring you back to the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews