We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to chill in the sun”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We stayed at Cocobay for 2 weeks during November and had a fantastic time. Initially we were thinking of the Sandals resort or the Verandah but after seeing so many recent excellent reviews for Cocobay we decided to head there and were very happy with our decision.

The hotel is quite small in comparison to other all inclusive resorts on the Island but was more secluded and far more personal. Everyone has their own cottage (some have AC and a plunge pool with seaview) but we opted for one that was closest to the beach with a view of the sunset (no.26). Admittedly the cottage could have done with a bathroom upgrade and some more furniture -a chest of drawers would have been useful.

The beach itself was only a few steps away from our cottage and the reception. For a public beach it was well maintained and had enough loungers for everyone. We discovered on the first day that it was better to be up early to lay your towel on the lounger. If you preferred a more secluded beach there was another one just around the corner which was perfect but we never got hassled on any of the beaches. My only gripe was there wasn't a windsurf board but the Hobie cat was a good alternative (or kayaks). Also as mentioned in all the other reviews the sandflies like to bite so bring lots of repellent! If you're not a big beach fan then you could always head to the infinity pool in the hotel. It wasn't the biggest but it had a fantastic view especially at sunset and more important was right next to the bar.

In terms of the food we found it excellent for the most part. Breakfast was perhaps better than lunch as there was more choice (pancakes, fruit, cereal as well as any type of egg made to order) whereas lunch was typically a set buffet with a choice of fish or meat. The only disappointing day was saturday as burgers and chips were on the menu so if you were thinking of an all day excursion that would be the day to go (unless you like burgers!).

Dinner was served at half hour intervals from 6.30pm but along with the towels it was a good idea to book a slot early in the morning. We forgot a few times but it wasn't a problem to jump into an alternative slot. We both found the dinner to be very tasty but also with enough variation over 2 weeks. There was also a buffet dinner a couple of nights in the week which was also very good.

During our stay we found the service to be excellent throughout. The staff were all very polite and efficient and we never had to wait more than a couple of minutes for a drink at the bar. Oriel was the king when it came to cocktails.

If you're thinking of taking an excursion there are plenty to choose from but they are all quite expensive. We took a snorkelling trip to Cades reef which was full of sea life including some nurse sharks and also hired a car for the day to visit the sites such as English Harbour, Shirley Heights, the Devil's bridge to name a few. By far the best beach was at Half Moon Bay which was amazing.

I can see why so many people would head back to cocobay as it is so relaxing. If you are looking for nightlife then perhaps this place is too secluded for you but for us it was perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,668 - 1,672 of 2,364 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2009

Loved it, loved it, loved it. Wonderful location on small headland with a beautiful, calm beach. Never thought I would stay at a hotel with an infinity edge pool right on the ocean within my price range but there it was. Incredible value. The individual cabins were private with a functional verandah complete with hammock and 2 deckchairs. Ours was one of the cheaper cabins without sea views but the sea is all around, so we had a view anyway. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent - I'm not a great fan of all-inclusive but the dinner menus were excellent and the quality superb. Breakfast and lunches were more run of the mill. So relaxing. Staff would help you with any tour reservations. This is not a big resort so suits those who want a romantic time relaxing without a lot of people around. Not ideal for children.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NJSueNewJerseyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2009

we went to cocobay in oct 08. I loved the cottages, very quaint (albeit a little date and a lick of paint would have made a huge difference!!) Still the hammock on your balcony overlooking the ocean was my idea of heaven. The outside rainshower - another little luxury. The cottages were small but i loved them.

The hotel is on an all inclusive basis and the food was a little repetitive but very tasty.

It is a very small resort with next to no nightlife - we had a very enjoyable week there and i would go back tomorrow.

Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BeachBhudda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

The staff was very pleasant and the cottage was great. Fabulous view. Great Caribbean feel. However, no screening on the bathroom window, but screening on the windows that didn't open, so hard to keep bugs out of room. Lots of bites even with OFF. Very romantic place - nice mix of young and old, Europeans and Americans. Everyone friendly. Nice beach and pool.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank derekPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

It's important to qualify the fact that this resort is rated 3.5 stars on most sites. Please understand that our review is written with what our expectations are of a 3.5 star resort. I feel sometimes the reviews travelers write are unfair because they seem to expect the elements of a 5 star without wanting to pay the price. That being said, this is the 5th trip to Antigua for my husband and I. First time at Cocobay and we will be going back. There are a couple of things that are important to us and Coco's had them all.
The beach was very nice. The clear green Caribbean water is beautiful, the beach was sandy and very pretty. Beach goers save chairs and locations early in the morning.Quite a few topless bathers, an fyi for parents considering children
We are typically not pool people, but the pool here was beautiful, with a great view out to the Caribbean.
The position of the resort was such that t everywhere you are the views are spectacular
The Staff are the friendliness and most responsive of any resort we've visited
The food was always very good and at times exceptional. There is a restaurant on location that requires a surcharge called Sheer. It's located on the bluff, the food was excellent, worth the extra cost.
There was a small gift shop that is very well equipped for a small resort.
The rooms are about 9 yrs old, have a very "campy feel" you can open the door to the deck from your bathroom and create an outdoor shower feel. Mosquito nets are necessary, bring bug spray or some type of protection.
This place is managed well, runs efficiently, and according to the manager has very little staff turnover. We loved it, and will be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MicAlbanyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
14.5 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,927 reviews
2.7 km away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
504 reviews
20.8 km away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 8 in Saint Mary's
1,064 reviews
0.9 km away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
863 reviews
7.6 km away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Ffreyes Beach, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range: €350 - €749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, West Indies, Expedia, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing