We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel In Antigua”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
111
Reviewed 6 October 2005

The CocoBay Hotel was so Beautiful. The surroundings were excellent, loads of palm trees, flowers, excellent location on the island. The beaches surrounding the hotel were great, loads of relaxtion to be absorbed. Loads of locals come down to the beaches for parties on Sunday as the beaches are public!!.
The Pool and the view from it is out of this world, it makes you wonder how lucky you are. The food at breakfast and lunch is buffy style loads to choose from, dinner is ala'carte but you do have alternative choices if you dont like anything on the menu. You can also ask the Chef to make you something else if you ask nicely. All staff are friendly especially the bar guys, ask for David and Peanut the Barman as they make you laugh and give you great helpings to alcohol.
Just look how David the Barman looks like 'Berny Mac' the comedian.
Drink loads of water and watch out for the RUM strong stuff*****wooooo!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,995 - 1,999 of 2,400 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2005

Cocobay is a beautiful place and we've just recently had a fantastic honeymoon there, it's nearly all couples with no noisy kids, a great place to unwind after the big build up to a wedding!

Rooms - Our cottage was lovely, nice big comfy bed with the essential bug net over it, mini safe, mini fridge, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, hammock and most importantly a stunning view. Most cottages overlook the bay towards Jolly Harbour and there were a few that looked towards Montserrat, can't say that any appeared to have a bad view though, the view over the bay is great and the others get the sunsets, it's all good! True, some fixtures in the rooms looked a little tired but everything worked perfectly, hot water was always there even though it would sometimes take a couple of minutes to show up. There were a few guest who hadn't done their homework and were disappointed at the lack of air con. after reading reviews on this site we got exactly what we expected though. It is very hot of course and I'd advise you to leave all your shutters open during the day but shut them as soon as it becomes necessary to put the lights on (to keep out bugs), the ceiling fan did an adequate job of keeping us cool at night. If you're a light sleeper you may want to take some earplugs, the gardens around the cottages are beautiful but the noise from crickets, tree frogs and anything else that's around at night could keep you awake, not a problem after a couple of cocktails though! The power is 110v US style 2 flat pin plugs, things like mobile and i-pod chargers work fine with an adapter but don't bother taking anything that's 240v only.

Pool - Great infinity pool, perfect temperature, right next to the bar and dining area. Did hear a couple of people say they thought there was too much chlorine in it, never bothered us though. As there's usually a lot of brits staying here there is a beach towels at dawn situation for claiming your favourite spot though.

Beach(es) - The main 'guest used' beach is great, just at the end of a short path down from the reception area, there's a fresh water shower to get the sand off on your way back, plenty of loungers and shades to go round, plus there were a few kayaks, sailing boats, snorkels availably for use, although snorkeling from this beach is a waste of time as the type of sand makes the water a bit cloudy. If you've never been in it before the Caribbean Sea is the perfect temperature. The main beach was never even near crowded but there is another beach slightly further on from this which is nearly always empty, there's also the beach the other side of the hotel which is occasionally used by a few locals (mainly weekends) but again nearly always empty.

Food - We loved it. For breakfast there's sell service cereals, pancakes, pastries, fruit as well as bacon, sausages and omelettes/scrambled eggs made to order. Lunch is again self service and changes every day, with a few selections of everything from pasta or curries to burgers and chips. In the afternoon there are sandwiches and cookies served in the bar area. The evening meal is waiter service a la carte with four courses where you'll normally get the choice of the meat, fish or pasta dishes. The evening meal probably isn't to the taste of those who normally eat in McDonalds though. There is another restaurant on site called Sheer that isn't part of the all inclusive package, we heard really good reports about it but didn't feel the need to go there as we were happy with the dinners that were already paid for.

Drink - If you're fussy and only drink bitter or Guinness then you're out of luck, the local Wadadali lager is very nice though and there's plenty of it on tap served in chilled glasses, most spirits are available in locally produced versions and everyone seems to enjoy working their way through the list of cocktails. If you want a drink to go back to your room with just mention it's 'to go' to the barman and he'll put in a plastic cup for you (as you will get when down by the pool).

Staff - Fantastic, we found everyone to be really helpful, from lovely the maids who greet you in the morning to the reception staff and management (not that we needed them), special mention has to go to David who's the main man behind the bar, a great personality, nothings too much trouble and he makes a mean cocktail with amazing measures!

Entertainment - If you need constant entertainment don't go here, this place is for people to chill out and do their own thing, we really enjoyed this aspect of it, nobody tried to drag us off for games in the pool or table tennis tournaments. That said though if you do get a rainy day you might find yourself at a bit of a loose end, we took our portable dvd player with us which proved useful on a couple of occasions. Some evenings you do get a little entertainment, these at the time were:- Tuesday - A jazz pianist in the restaurant area, Thursday - Managers cocktail party which features an amusing calypso singer walking round with his guitar, Sunday - A really good steelpan band ...the rest of the time you just chill out and chat to other guests around the bar.

Other facilities - There are no tv's in your room but there is a separate tv room near the bar area where you might find the odd footie match or cricket on if you're getting withdrawal. There's also a gift shop which stocks the basic medicines and sun tan lotions as well as things you may have forgot like a hat or sandals. The reception has a tour desk for booking trips and internet access is available charged at 50c (us) per min. Taxi's are nearly always available and the most we had to wait was five minutes for one. Beach towels are available at reception so you can save a little room in your suitcase.

The Area - Cocobay is well out of St Johns in a quiet area so everything is a taxi ride away, there is Jolly Harbour just across the bay which is in walking distance (20mins), we walked there on an overcast day but I wouldn't recommend it when then sun is beating down. Taxis to Jolly Harbour cost $9(us) each way and to get into St John's we heard its $40(us). In Jolly Harbour you'll find a large well stocked supermarket, a chemist, an off license and a few other gift shops and restaurants, there's also a big casino and sports bar where you'll find entertainment like karaoke if you feel you need it.

Bugs - Yes there are lots of them, if you sometimes get bitten abroad then you definitely will here, if you never usually get bitten (like the wife) you still probably will here! We used a plug in bug repellent we picked up in the airport and by using this and shutting the shutters at night we managed to keep the room relatively bug free. You still need to go out though so I'd recommend using sun tan lotion and aftersun that contain bug repellent, you can buy a deet based repellent in the shop called 'Off!' but it didn't seem as effective as the repellents brought from Boots.

Weather - We went for the first two weeks of September which is still rainy season, our first week was the best with great weather and just a few clouds around, the second week wasn't as good, we had 2 days which were a complete wash out and 3 or 4 days which had patchy cloud and occasional showers, all in all we were happy with the weather though considering the season, Antigua does clearly get quite a bit of rain around this time considering how lush and green it was. If it does rain you will get wet, apart from your cottage and the bar/dinning area there isn't really any escaping it, the best thing to do in a shower is shelter your towels etc and go for a swim!

Currency - Just take US dollars, everyone takes them.

Excursions we did:-

Shirley Heights on Sunday night is a must, fantastic views and if you're lucky a stunning sunset, when you first arrive there's a huge steelpan band to entertain you with 2 large bars and a great barbeque, after the sun goes down the reggae band takes to the stage to help you dance the night away. This trip is available from the tour desk at a cost of $20(us) per person but if you would prefer to do a bit more team up with another couple and get a tour from a taxi for $25(us) per person which will leave much earlier and also take in the rain forest and a few other interesting places. Entry to Shirley Heights is $4(us) per person (I think).

Caribbean Helicopters Tour - We did the tour of the Montserrat volcano, the helicopter takes off from Jolly Harbour and the flight lasts approx 50mins, its by no means cheap at $200(us) per person but it really was an amazing experience and a real highlight of the trip for me, although the wife said it made her feel a bit queasy! Note: If you reserve online you will receive a $10 p.p. discount.

Eco Tour - This was a great day out, the cost was $90(us) per person, it's basically a boat trip to a group of islands in the north of Antigua where you will learn about the local wildlife, take a very short trek to the top of an island for some stunning views, do some snorkeling, have a great lunch, even visit a cave if you want. If you're lucky you'll even see some turtles! Note: If you book online you will receive a 10% discount.

We didn't go on it but we also heard good reports about Wadadli Circum Nav. tour but less favorable reports about the Virgin version of it.

St Johns is worth a look when then cruise ships aren't in (check with the tour desk), it's not a huge town but there are plenty of shops selling souvenirs etc, there are more jewellery shops than anything though if you're that way inclined. There's a daily taxi run to St John's from the hotel which is $20(us) return per person.

Other things to note:-

As you know the hotel is all inclusive but this doesn't include bottled water, apparently the tap water is safe to drink but if like us you don't want to chance it remember to take a little extra cash to pay for your water bill at the end of the holiday, reception provide chilled bottles at a cost of $2 per 1.5 litre bottle.

When you leave you will need to pay a departure tax of $20(us) per person so hold onto a couple of bills.

Hope this info helps, we loved Cocobay but appreciate it may not be for everyone. Antigua is beautiful island with fantastic people, if you've been to the Caribbean before it'll only take 5 minutes to slip back into the laid back way of life, if its your first time just go with the flow and don't expect anything to happen too quickly, you'll soon unwind into Caribbean time!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
60  Thank easynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2005

Cocobay has lots of potential - great location, good beaches, nice architecture & design - however, it misses several comfit factors that could easily move it into a four star hotel.
The major drawback from our point of view was the lack of screens and air conditioning.....shutters in the room let in all types of insects, including the Antiguan horse spider(which looks like a hairy tarantula), moths, no seeums, gnats, & other flying pests. Mosquito netting HAD to be used, and even spraying it with DEET before dinner was no guarantee that we would have a bugless night when we returned. We did like the little geckos, wished there were more to devour the bugs.
We had a seafront cottage, small, but with a great view of the bay. Furnishings were rustic and spare, faucets were rusted and amenities were just shampoo, soap and body lotion.
The beach was very nice, enough lounges and thatched palapas for shade. Even better was the next beach over, which was secluded and had a great view of Monserrat. Not many guests from the hotel ventured that way, we were usually the only persons in the water or on the 1/2 mile stretch of beach when we went there. Snorkelling was hopeless as the visibility was nil.....don't know if this was an aberation or the norm. The infinity pool was always crowded, and guests had a habit of "claiming" their spot at dawn.....we have a larger pool at home, so this didnt factor for us. The hidden 2 person plunge pool situated at the entrance of the Sheer restaurant and overlooked the beach was a great romantic place to watch the sunsets from....and none of the noise, chatter and clutter of the infinity pool crowd.
The main restaurant was fair to middling, but they did serve our needs and tastes, and some seafood dishes were actually quite good. Sheer restaurant is both elective and pricey, but here the food was excellent. Because of the additional costs, we only ate there once. Both restaurants were open air, and lacking overhead fans, which made them dreadfully hot.
We found most of the staff helpful & cheerful, and were happy that there was no pressure from the tour operator once we told them we had been to Antigua before (Galley Bay, a true 5 star resort) and knew our way around. The spa gal, Andrea, was cheerful, adept, and had a great touch. Kenroy in the restaurant gave us tables that had whatever breeze was available.
We don't drink alcohol, but did observe guests being served, and they seemed happy with the quality of their drinks. Entertainment was virtually nil, there was a singer with a keyboard one night at dinner, and a guitar player on management night.
Cabs were expensive, a trip to St John's was $40US for two persons.
Overall, if you want seclusion, quiet, and rusticness, and don't mind bugs, this is not a bad AI resort and can be considered a good value. However if the thought of hairy spiders in your hotel room freaks you out, then look elsewhere for sure.

Stayed: September 2005
16  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Cheshire, UK
1
Reviewed 13 September 2005

This is a multiple reveiw of a strange holiday that started at Club Colona Sun Sail and finished at Blue Waters.
On arriving at Sun Sail our party of nine 4 adults 1x2yr 2x6yr 1x13yr 1x15yr children we realized it was not a star rated resort and basic it was however clean and the food was reasonable except for the school dinners queing the water sports were very good as were the kids clubs nice pleasant staff. We made the decision to move on and the manager recomended to our wives they should veiw Coco bay this they did and came back to report all the good things the manager was very nice (then)
and helpfull putting a cot for the baby(2yr old) and extra beds for the 6yr olds. We arrived very nice I thought as I and my friend were relieved of large amounts of $ lovely place the following morning we were summoned to the managers office to hear of complaints about the children! he was aware we had them. These trips to the managers office increased to the extent I would no longer put up with this and reqested the manager came to me as I was on holiday. This he did begrudgingly he offered us Grand pinnapple I and my freind went to veiw the said resort! Not good mould along the bedroom walls and a nasty smell, not a good 3 and a half hour taxi ride. Advised the manager a better alternative would be needed.
Next meeting with the manager accompanied by the Antigua Police!!!!
he told me we had to leave, after explaining UK/ Antigua law on contracts of letting to the manager and his pal Police man was happy the manager however not happy and explained that a possy of 30 other guests were on his back to have us removed. Spoke to the Director in the UK who pasified me with promises of being pampered at the sister resort Coconut beach> We all left on arrival things took a turn for the worse coconut beach had many honey moon couples ( bet they could not wait to see our children) but what great contraception!!!! We all re-mounted the taxi and off to Blue Waters we went
very very pleasant end to our holiday had a full five days there people nice staff nice no complaints either way wonderfull.
The upside of this adventure is three different veiws from our hotels in two weeks the downside is packing unpacking and travelling in taxis all round Antigua
food at all three was good water sports aslo good Shirley Heights why go on Sunday you just get trampled! Bus Sun Sail average Coco bay nightmare Blue waters hardley any.

Point to not Coco bay might like the money but the guests do not like the kids so no kids thanks

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2005

Awful food (Gourmet Restaurant closed) - one man reduced to eating beetroot at lunch because no food edible. Dried burgers, dried up pasta not my idea of good food! Cockroaches next to kitchens, and the HEAT without aircon in August was unbelievable! Filthy towels, fitness area non existent, watersports virtually non existent. An expensive mistake, escaped after 2 days to another hotel at a huge cost. Cocobay stung us for 4 nights extra cost for 'cancellation' despite tour operator transferring us. 4* NOT!!!
Oh and this 'all inclusive' charged us US$2 for each small bottle of water, to be bought from reception.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ClaireBCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
14.5 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,943 reviews
2.7 km away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
515 reviews
20.8 km away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 8 in Saint Mary's
1,075 reviews
0.9 km away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
875 reviews
22.6 km away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Ffreyes Beach, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range: €350 - €635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, West Indies and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing