We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing trip and great to be back”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We've just returned from our 4th holiday to Cocobay.

When we arrived on the 5th December after a delayed flight and so it was great to be met by Melissa and Tameka in reception with cold towels and rum punch, what a great welcome from them both. We arrived just after sundown and heard the great sound of the treefrogs.

We had emailed before we left to ask for a quiet room and were given room 22, which suited us just fine as a little walk to the room and also only a couple of rooms past us. We expected to wake up to the stunning view across Valley Church Beach from the bed but the only problem was the shrubs in front of our room balcony were too high to enjoy the view, so we asked the lovely Phyllis on reception if the gardeners could trip it for us and when we returned from the beach later in the afternoon if was perfect, thank you Phyllis and the gardeners!

The food was just as we remembered, buffet breakfast and lunch, afternoon tea and the beautiful 4 courses evening meals, we never had the same evening meal in 14 days. You can also get panini's from the beach bar at lunch time, they were different everyday on the beach bar menu. Chris and Kenroy run a fabulous team.

The new sunset pool and beach bar are amazing and we used the new pool area the first couple of days as there was a nice breeze, but it can get very hot if you don't get the cooling breeze like you do on the beach or at the main pool. Great service from Vincia, Roberts and Kenya during the day with drinks brought to you on the beach and fresh clean beach towels each day. Robert/Kenya do a great job keeping the beach clean and Vincia making fab cocktails.

The new improved larger main bar area is great and the new seating area is lovely and comfortable. The new cocktail list is lovely and we had fun working our way through trying all of them (not on same night!) If your favourite is not on the list ask Oriel or any of the other bar staff who will oblige! Oriel makes a fab Tom Collins (thanks for the tip Michael)

Only 1 small issue was - This resort is aimed at Honeymooners and couples and I know they allow children over the christmas and easter holidays but on our last night was a little disturbed by a family arriving at 11.30pm with 2 small children who woke us up from room 23 as they unpacked banging the cupboard doors and the children ran around the room, clip clopping with their shoes on the floorboards and giggling. There is nothing here for children to do and I expect it could spoil it for some of the adults if they don't know this beforehand.

The service was excellent and it was lovely that so many of the staff remembered us as its nearly 3 years since our last visit. Thank you to everyone who made our trip special, the list to thank is to long to mention eveyone. This resort is small, peaceful, very relaxing and just what we needed.

We will return again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LYNDA1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,226 - 1,230 of 2,363 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2012

We really enjoyed our time at Cocobay! We wanted to go to an all-inclusive resort, but didn't want the hyped up over-priced Sandals-type places.

We got upgraded to a really nice room with a great view of the bay. They had rum drinks and cold towels waiting for us upon arrival, which was welcome after a long flight. The room was comfortable, we didn't use the air conditioning (it cost extra!) but the room was cool at night. It was pretty hot during the day, but we were at the pool/beach most of the day anyway. We did have to ask at the front desk to have our windows opened in order to get a breeze. With the windows shut the room was pretty stifling.

My only complaint about the room was that the bathroom was pretty awful. There was no shower curtain around the stall shower, so water got all over the bathroom floor. We had to use towels to sop it up after we showered. There also wasn't a lot of ventilation in the bathroom, so it was always pretty steamy.

The people who work at the resort are very nice and helpful, the food was good, the drinks were tasty. It is a very low-key resort. We spent our time lounging on the beach or by the pool. There are some side-trips offered, but we didn't participate in any. There is no wi-fi available, and we didn't have a television in our room, but we didn't mind at all. I think you could pay to use a computer in the lobby, although it didn't seem like many people were doing that.

Overall, Cocobay was a relaxing resort, with absolutely beautiful views, and a great staff. I would definitely go back without any hesitation. It is nothing like a Sandals or another giant resort, but that is what I liked best about it! And the sunsets more than made up for any annoyances!

Room Tip: Don't bother shelling out extra for the air conditioning. You won't be in the room during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trianne81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

This vacation was only four days long but paradise! Cocobay is settled on a beautiful beach. The resort has nice facilities, the food is outstanding especially at dinner and the service great.
Only backdraw was that our oceanfront cottage with the private plunge pool didn't have enough sun to go into the pool much but the view was phenomenal and the privacy perfect.

Highly reccomended resort cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We stayed only a few nights at the resort but still managed to recieve a proper pampering by the staff. The grounds are beautifully developed with two different pool and bar areas wich work great for relaxing watching the view / being close to the beach and watersports. Extra points for having the Hobie Cat available!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nansen-Amundsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

This place is perfect.

Perfect for escaping it all and being romantic, perfect for sunshine in December, perfect for getting married in an exotic Caribbean beach wedding and perfect for relaxing.

It is a small secluded resort in an ideal location with a wonderful little beach and a great atmosphere. Service is fantastic and nothing was a disappointment.

The nature is wonderful to watch from the balcony - a little piece of paradise.

Room Tip: Get a sea view. If you have paid to come here then you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
14.5 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,926 reviews
2.7 km away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
503 reviews
20.8 km away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 8 in Saint Mary's
1,061 reviews
0.9 km away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
862 reviews
7.9 km away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#4 of 8 in Saint Mary's
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Ffreyes Beach, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range: €352 - €762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing