We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,552)
Filter reviews
2,552 results
Traveller rating
1,715
553
162
60
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,715
553
162
60
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coco bay mr gore the cottages plunge pool lower pool breakfast and lunch waterfront suite rum punch deluxe cottage sheer rocks our honeymoon paninis lobster sea view plantation house mosquito net buffet style
Filter
Updating list...
1,560 - 1,565 of 2,552 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We got married at Cocobay and it was beyond perfect! We where a little worried that the wedding would feel rushed and unpersonal, being at a resort and all. It was far from it. Our wedding coordinator Alicia was professional, friendly and very in tune to our wishes. The Marriage Officer was better than anything we could have hoped for and performed a beutiful ceremony that felt warm, moving and honest. No "conveyor belt-feel" what so ever.

We have traveled alot over the years but this was our first all-inclusive trip and our first time in the Carribean. We chose Cocobay over other larger more fancy reorts due to the promised atmosphere and location. We where more than happy with our choice! Cocobay offers a tranquil, beutiful setting, wonderfull staff and fresh rooms.
The staff leave you alone and don't hassle you with activites you don't want. Just warm, friendly service when you ask for it.
Make sure you book a room with AC! We traveled in june and would not have managed without it.
A plungepool on your terrace is also a great addition if your budget allows it. Watching the sunset from the plunge with a drink in hand is hard to beat.
The one thing bothering us during our stay was that we where woken by birds and crickets residing in the lush surroundings pretty early in the moring. But this was no big deal. And there was no bug-problem other than that.

If you are looking for a fancy resort with tons of activities, a number of pools and restaurants and over the top luxury... then go somewhere else.
If you want a unique, relaxing, romantic experience in the most beutiful surroundings where you are treated well by a relaxed but professional staff than Cocobay is ideal.

/Anna & Olle from Sweden

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Olle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

What more can I say about Cocobay what has not already been said. We had a marvellous 2 weeks in the resort in February. We were accompanied by our friends and it was one of the best holidays we have had on various Caribbean islands. The turquoise sea, white sands, beautiful birds, flowers and the friendly people which we found in Antigua made the holiday perfect.

The cottage was traditional and you felt like you were in the Caribbean and not just anywhere else in the world. I will say that there is only one cupboard and a wardrobe for your clothes and we had to keep things in our case. Also there is no full length mirror in the room so it was difficult to see what you looked like. Bring face cloths as they are not provided. We had clean towels every day and the room was kept spotlessly clean. Having stayed in Sandals resorts in past years we much preferred Cocobay.

The food was delicious using local produce. Only one buffet a week after the managers cocktails party. The other evenings you could choose from the menu or pay a little extra for the specials.The restaurant manager was a delight along with the rest of the staff. You needed a wrap some evening as the staff liked to have the fans on whilst they worked and it was sometimes a little cold. We did eat at Sheer Rocks but felt that the food in the hotel was much better and included in your holiday. We eat out at Dennis's and Hamiltons at English Harbour and enjoyed these meals much more that the expensive Sheer Rocks.

The beach was beautiful and although traders were about they did not really bother us.
I was disappointed that there were not many fish on the reef off the beach so we did little snorkelling. We walked along the beach to Jolly Harbour one day which was most enjoyable.

We were really sorry to leave and will definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: Room 26 is a lovely room with flowers overhanging the balcony and views of the sea through the trees but we did regularly get disturbed during the night by people getting into taxis from Sheer Rocks and by staff early in the morning. Also by deliveries as it overlooks the reception area.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jacaranda88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

First class people, first class place, excellent food. Can not wait until next time!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smitjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I researched this hotel and looked at everyones photos for months,planning and dreaming like everyone who uses TA, we booked through Virgin holidays and arrived at Antigua airport to be greeted by O'Neal the resort manager- nice touch we thought! we were then told that we would be going to Coconut beach hotel as they had overbooked( along with another couple who arrived with us) and we would be picked up at 11 am. We were furious and I have to say felt dreadfully let down by both Cocobay and Virgin, O'neal offered his apologies and said we would be put in a comparable hotel- WRONG!! coconut hotel is by no means comparable. I had dreamt of my first night in paradise and opening the curtains in the morning to the most wonderful view and this was taken from me. we were devasted.
O'Neal did offer us a meal on the beach which I have to say was lovely and would say to everyone to do this we felt very special, I was also given a lovely massage and we were given air conditioning ( although anyone who has to pay, try a night without it as we didn't use it at night) - these little extras were appreciated but our first inital shine was taken from us.

We eventually arrived at Cocobay and WOW what a view, this is what I had dreamt about the view is simply stunning and when we were taken to our room I simply burst into tears our room was heavenly.

Cocobay is a beautiful resort, beautiful little cottages, staff are wonderful and really do help make your holiday.
The evening meal is a la carte, this is wonderful and we never had the same meal twice.
We had the most wonderful time in Cocobay and will def be one of the many returnees, but please Cocobay don't overbook and spoil peoples well earned and paid for holidays, on leaving we spoke to another couple who had just arrived and they too had been overbooked although they were put in a far better hotel than Coconut beach.

so I guess my review is Cocobay is just heavenly and the photographs somehow cant show you how beautiful the hotel and grounds are, please book and I hope you are not as unfortunate as us, we are looking to go in November again so that must speak volumnes.

Room Tip: we had room 34 a room to die for!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank diamondgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted a relaxing beach vacation this winter and that's exactly what we got! The accommodations were great--comfy bed, large room, beautiful view. Sure, there's no TV in your room and it seems a bit quiet, but that's the point! The all-inclusive service was very good. We really enjoyed sipping drinks poolside or on the beach. The food for all meals was very good, and filling. Not just the same thing every night, either. The service was just excellent, and all the employees made us feel very at home. While the place feels a bit far off the path in Antigua (something we definitely enjoyed), you can easily get around and the front desk will help you in any way to arrange your perfect vacation. All the complaints about no A/C definitely must not be for February when the weather is just perfect. Could not recommend this place more!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MMClancyDVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews