We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,552)
Filter reviews
2,552 results
Traveller rating
1,715
553
162
60
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,715
553
162
60
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coco bay mr gore the cottages plunge pool lower pool breakfast and lunch waterfront suite rum punch deluxe cottage sheer rocks our honeymoon paninis lobster sea view plantation house mosquito net buffet style
Filter
Updating list...
1,610 - 1,615 of 2,552 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Cocobay Resort was the first all-inclusive we've ever tried, and this was our first trip to Antigua. Neither disappoint. The island is lush, tropical, and the mountains and gorgeous beaches make this a jewel in the Caribbean. The resort is lovely, relaxed, and the cottages are charming.
My 23 year old daughter and I were both pleased with the food, and we enjoyed meals with a wonderful friend we met at the resort. All three of us have sophisticated tastes in food - I have published recipes, and we are all foodies from the Northeast, who were pleasantly surprised by the meals, and the excellent service. Breakfast was delicious omelets made to order, fresh fruit, pancakes, bacon, homemade muffins and breads. Lunch was just fair, but generally with fresh fish cooked at the buffet, and enough choice for everyone. Dinners were really much above our expectations, with creative and very high-quality entrees, good wine, and terrific island-specialty drinks. We also tried Sheer Rocks Restaurant one evening, and all thought it was superb. The setting of the infinity pool, overlooking the sea, is spectacular, and the beach is beautiful, but for us, one of the best reasons to visit Cocobay is the staff. The people are warm, friendly, and accommodating, and the manager, O'Neal is a true professional who welcomes guests and helps to make their stay a pleasure. We look forward to returning. Our only caution would be to bring DEET, if you plan to visit during sand fly season. And, although we are reluctant to share this fabulous find with everyone, Cocobay deserves a rave from us, so we can't keep it a secret. If you want an adult, laid-back, lovely holiday, explore the special island of Antigua from your home at Cocobay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with A/C and an ocean view
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elaineharmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We can't say enough wonderful things about Cocobay! We were so pleased with our stay that we're writing this during one of our layovers on the way home. We stayed for 5 nights for our honeymoon. From the initial greeting, with cold towel & rum punch waiting, through the last moment before getting on the taxi back to the airport, we couldn't have been happier. This could get long, so we'll break this down in categories.

Accommodations: We had a Seafront cottage with plunge pool, #25. We had seen photos beforehand, & it was actually better than we anticipated. The plunge pool WAS cold, but we used it as we could. Our cottage was very private. We could open the double doors in the shower without much worry. It was clean, just what we wanted, & had little or no insect issues inside, aided by the mosquito net over the bed. The only thing we'd suggest as an improvement would be to add a pillow top to the mattress or have a softer mattress. It was very firm, much more than we're used to.

Food: I have seen mixed reviews on here regarding the food, but we were very happy with the food offered. The selection was varied, everything was delicious, & the presentation was lovely. Also, the drinks were super strong, just like we like them! No watering down of the drinks.

Beach: The beach beside Cocobay is a public beach, but it was never too busy. Do BEWARE of buying any excursions on the beach. We will explain our bad experience below. The staff of Cocobay is excellent at helping book excursions with you & won't steer you toward a bad one, so don't make our mistake. Anyway, the beach was awesome. The waves were a blast to swim in, the sand & chairs were in great shape, & it was nice to have the free towel service.

Staff: We've never met a friendlier staff of anything, let alone a hotel/resort, than the Cocobay staff. First, Manager O'Neal went above & beyond for us, making sure we had the best honeymoon experience possible. He definitely understands how travelers think, & what they want. Certainly the best customer service we've experienced. Phyllis at the front desk was very helpful with our excursion planning, even though we were likely getting frustrating with our futile efforts to secure the helicopter to Montserrat (we failed, but we'll be back).

We fully expect to visit Antigua again & stay at Cocobay. We're actually contemplating recruiting another couple to take a trip down there with us. For the price, we couldn't have been happier. We already miss it, & we've only been gone for 7 hours.

To explain our poor excursion experience, we booked a 3 hour snorkel trip on a glass bottom boat ("Snorkeling Cat" with "Life's A Beach") from a vendor on the beach. Big mistake in so many ways. We were misled in the form of payment, as well as the quality of the trip, itself. Then the crew/owner argued with us to such an extent that we were threatened. This is a very short review of a very complicated story. The good news is that O'Neal at Cocobay fixed everything for us, so that the only thing we lost was an afternoon of our honeymoon on a poor excursion, when it could have been much worse.

We had a couple of GREAT excursions, though. The Eco-Tour from Adventure Antigua was a blast. It was a full day, packed with "adventure," literally (the good kind), & the crew was so fun to hang with. We also made a trip to Stingray City, which is an experience everyone visiting the island should have. We booked the latter 2 through the resort, which is the best way. They know what these excursions consist of & can find the right one for you, & have you not get ripped off.

Overall, we can't wait to return to Cocobay & Antigua!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Just got back from a 7 night stay at Coco bay, and we are really torn about the review to give.
The grounds, pools, beaches are really wonderful and i really loved the location.
We had an ocean front cottage with a plunge pool and a/c. It was great when we didn't use the ac and slept with the windows open, hearing the waves crash and all the critters felt like luxury camping.
The bar tenders were great, very entertaining, and made really good drinks!! Best drinks at an all-inclusive Ive had....(I've been a lot of places)

The Bad part of this hotel is the food..
It was really hit or miss, somethings were really good, and other things i needed to spit out.

I live in NYC, and i consider myself a foodie.. but my bf who isn't, thought the same thing.
The quality of the meats and even fish were mediocre.
Chicken over cooked, beef tough, fish too fishy!
Breakfast was our salvation, The eggs were made to order and they were fantastic!
Bacon, toast, fruits, cereal etc.
We would eat a lot for breakfast, cause we never knew if we would like lunch.

We took a taxi to jolly harbors super market to buy ready made fried chicken and beef patties for lunch one day.
We went to eat at dennis's, and oj's which was great tasting local food.
When i go on vacation i like to eat some local food( rice and beans, stewed chicken,ox tails etc).
I understand not everyone has this idea, but i think of having a local dish option each night or either lunch or dinner would have been great however
the days that rice was made, was actually the worst rice Ive ever eaten in a establishment, no taste/flavor or even texture on a island were rice is a staple, doesn't make sense to me??

We went on a catamaran sail, and the food was fantastic. I think after eating it we got more depressed on how bad the food was at cocobay.

You are pretty secluded, and taking a taxi is expensive for a 5 min drive ($25 rt to oj's)
We paid alot of money it wasn't cheap and i feel like we were duped. paid about 3,500 for 7 nights and we had to pay for food somewhere else???

I did read the reviews and people raved about the food???? I don't understand is it bc their tongues lost their taste buds from all the smoking they do??

So im done ranting and raving... i hope that the management sees this post and fixes the quality of meats/fish and food in general.

Considering that American Airlines just started direct flights from jfk, more Americans will be coming and invading the hotel, so i would assume that more bad reviews about the food will be coming unless they fix the quality/options!

But i loved the place its self, so if you don't eat/taste/or care about paying to eat at other places then this place is for you!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank olenabklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Cocobay Resort is a beautiful property sitting on a cliff in Valley Church, Bolans Antigua. The adults only property has lovely, individual cottages with wide porches - most with stunning ocean views. Some cottages have private plunge pools; however, we stayed in a pool"less" cottage and it was very nice. Cottage #51 does have ocean views but does not have "sweeping ocean views" as some of the others do. However, we got the cottage at a nice discounted price through "Luxury Link" and it met our expectations fully. The bathroom does need a bit of upgrading (maybe new tile and double sinks) but it was clean, neat and well appointed. We loved the double doors by the shower so we could enjoy the outside while showering. All beds have mosquito netting (a necessity in Antigua) and room, overall, was very nicely appointed. Cottage #51 also does not have air conditioning but we were not in our room in the daytime so we found it to be unnecessary. The ceiling fan and the standing floor fan provided ample air circulation for sleeping. If you are particularly picky about being cool at night then ask for a room with a/c. Also, there is no TV but who needs to watch TV when in Antigua! There is a TV room for those who absolutely have to have a TV fix.

The hotel staff at Cocobay is excellent. Melissa (?), the front desk concierge, was always pleasant and helpful. We arrived very late at night (because of an airline problem) and the night watchman checked us in. Because of our late arrival Cocobay had provided a plate of sandwiches and a cold fruit platter for us because we missed dinner. Also included in our room were bottles of water and a bottle of champagne.

The public areas of the resort are excellently decorated, wide open and airy. The infinity pool area is nice and adjacent to the bar area. The loungers are comfortable and we had no problem getting a pair of them every afternoon.

The beach area is a short walk to the front of the hotel. Beach towels are provided upon entering the beach. There is no beach bar so if you need a drink you either have to walk all the way back to the bar to get one or, hopefully, an attendant will be working that day and will get them for you. Cocobay is in the process of finishing a second pool and bar area close to the beach, so in a period of a few months this should be complete.

The main diniing room is also on the cliff overlooking the water. Beautiful views - fair food - good service. Breakfast is buffet and is a fairly limited selection but good. Lunch is buffet (but you can order other items like sandwiches) and is fair. Dinner is, well, just barely fair -- we ate in the dining room for dinner only 2 nights out of the week we were in Antigua and each time it didn't meet expectations. We found much better food at other restaurants on the island and, indeed, we believe that one of the fun things about vacation is eating out at different restaurants. We did not try the gourmet dining restaurant "Sheer Rocks" but other people told us that it was very good - although expensive as it is not included in the "all inclusive" price.

The bar promptly opens at 10 am each morning and shuts down at 11 pm which is a little late for us in the morning and a little early for us at night (as we are from New Orleans) but it seemed to fit most people adequately. The bartenders are absolutely fabulous - nice - accomodating and entertaining. We NEVER had a weak, watered down drink!!

All activities are booked at the front desk. There are sign up sheets for different things. Be aware, however, that just because you book something at the front desk Cocobay does not bill you for it. You must pay the service directly. For example, we signed up to go to Shirley Heights one night for the barbecue and music (not worth it, by the way) and believed that the resort would put the fee on our bill. Upon returning to the resort that night we had to come up with $48 to pay the driver -- nobody told us about this. The only items that are billed to your account is the massage services (which were good). Please ask before you sign up for activities outside of the resort as you may have to come up with cash. A couple of people, including us, started to run out of cash money as the week went on because we all thought we could bill to the hotel and put it on a credit card at the end of our stay.

Finally, I would highly recommend this resort to couples who want a relaxing, fun holiday. The staff is excellent and the property is beautiful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz_Stelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We have just returned from a 10 day holiday to Cocobay Resort in Antigua booked through Virgin holidays.
This hotel is set in a stunning location on a headland with individual cottage accommodation. We paid extra for a sea front cottage which included a/c and a plunge pool. With a fantastic view towards Jolly Beach and a grassy slope down to a small beach this is where we stayed for the 10 days except for meals and a brilliant night out to Shirley Heights on the Sunday.
The food at Cocobay is excellent and some of the best we have ever come across in all inclusive. The 4 course a'lacarte evening meal was the highlight of each day, with fantastic service from the friendly staff (many thanks to Jermaine, Mr Gore and all the restaurant / kitchen staff.
It is vital to take insect repellent especially during the winter months, the mozzies are so small that you can barely see them, also sandflies/fleas can be a problem in Nov/Dec months especially if you manage to carry them back to your room.
The grounds are regularly treated to try and limit the bites but this is a tropical location with lots of rain and sun so it is difficult to limit.
This is a quiet couples resort with low key entertainment, so if you want nightlife go elsewhere.
The rooms are cleaned daily, with towels and bedsheets changed everyday as well, I am finding it hard to think of another hotel where this has happened before other than overnight stays. The pillows on the beds are without a doubt the most comfortable I have ever slept on in a hotel and made it easy to sleep even with the constant noise of crickets and birds all night.
The number of repeat customers says it all about Cocobay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PaulChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews