We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocobay- the best place on earth!!”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Cocobay was an outstanding resort for our Honeymoon. My wife and I were looking for a place for us to completely unwind from the wedding stress, and Cocobay was the place.
The staff is world class and is so willing to help in any way to ensure that your stay is enjoyable. The manager of the resort is always present to ensure all is going well. The staff will cater to your every need. The island itself is amazing. My wife and I got a cab driver, Austin is his name, to take us and another couple around the entire island. Austin is a wealth of knowledge and is a real good guy.
The resort is a great place to spend quality time with your significant other. Not having TV or Internet in the room really allows you to "unplug" and not worry about anything.
We met great people from around the world and have kept in contact with several couples. While we were at Cocobay, one couple went fishing and caught a good size Mahi. They brought the fish to the kitchen and the chef cooked it up for us to our liking...it was amazing!! I can tell you, you won't get that kind of treatment at Sandals!!
All of the major island tours have land or sea pickups from Coco, and your just around the point from Jolly Harbor.
Cocobay is and amazing place and we are certainly going to go back!!

Thanks again to O'neil and all of our friends at Cocobay
We miss you all!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AMZinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,446 - 1,450 of 2,367 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2011

Cocobay Resort was the first all-inclusive we've ever tried, and this was our first trip to Antigua. Neither disappoint. The island is lush, tropical, and the mountains and gorgeous beaches make this a jewel in the Caribbean. The resort is lovely, relaxed, and the cottages are charming.
My 23 year old daughter and I were both pleased with the food, and we enjoyed meals with a wonderful friend we met at the resort. All three of us have sophisticated tastes in food - I have published recipes, and we are all foodies from the Northeast, who were pleasantly surprised by the meals, and the excellent service. Breakfast was delicious omelets made to order, fresh fruit, pancakes, bacon, homemade muffins and breads. Lunch was just fair, but generally with fresh fish cooked at the buffet, and enough choice for everyone. Dinners were really much above our expectations, with creative and very high-quality entrees, good wine, and terrific island-specialty drinks. We also tried Sheer Rocks Restaurant one evening, and all thought it was superb. The setting of the infinity pool, overlooking the sea, is spectacular, and the beach is beautiful, but for us, one of the best reasons to visit Cocobay is the staff. The people are warm, friendly, and accommodating, and the manager, O'Neal is a true professional who welcomes guests and helps to make their stay a pleasure. We look forward to returning. Our only caution would be to bring DEET, if you plan to visit during sand fly season. And, although we are reluctant to share this fabulous find with everyone, Cocobay deserves a rave from us, so we can't keep it a secret. If you want an adult, laid-back, lovely holiday, explore the special island of Antigua from your home at Cocobay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with A/C and an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elaineharmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We can't say enough wonderful things about Cocobay! We were so pleased with our stay that we're writing this during one of our layovers on the way home. We stayed for 5 nights for our honeymoon. From the initial greeting, with cold towel & rum punch waiting, through the last moment before getting on the taxi back to the airport, we couldn't have been happier. This could get long, so we'll break this down in categories.

Accommodations: We had a Seafront cottage with plunge pool, #25. We had seen photos beforehand, & it was actually better than we anticipated. The plunge pool WAS cold, but we used it as we could. Our cottage was very private. We could open the double doors in the shower without much worry. It was clean, just what we wanted, & had little or no insect issues inside, aided by the mosquito net over the bed. The only thing we'd suggest as an improvement would be to add a pillow top to the mattress or have a softer mattress. It was very firm, much more than we're used to.

Food: I have seen mixed reviews on here regarding the food, but we were very happy with the food offered. The selection was varied, everything was delicious, & the presentation was lovely. Also, the drinks were super strong, just like we like them! No watering down of the drinks.

Beach: The beach beside Cocobay is a public beach, but it was never too busy. Do BEWARE of buying any excursions on the beach. We will explain our bad experience below. The staff of Cocobay is excellent at helping book excursions with you & won't steer you toward a bad one, so don't make our mistake. Anyway, the beach was awesome. The waves were a blast to swim in, the sand & chairs were in great shape, & it was nice to have the free towel service.

Staff: We've never met a friendlier staff of anything, let alone a hotel/resort, than the Cocobay staff. First, Manager O'Neal went above & beyond for us, making sure we had the best honeymoon experience possible. He definitely understands how travelers think, & what they want. Certainly the best customer service we've experienced. Phyllis at the front desk was very helpful with our excursion planning, even though we were likely getting frustrating with our futile efforts to secure the helicopter to Montserrat (we failed, but we'll be back).

We fully expect to visit Antigua again & stay at Cocobay. We're actually contemplating recruiting another couple to take a trip down there with us. For the price, we couldn't have been happier. We already miss it, & we've only been gone for 7 hours.

To explain our poor excursion experience, we booked a 3 hour snorkel trip on a glass bottom boat ("Snorkeling Cat" with "Life's A Beach") from a vendor on the beach. Big mistake in so many ways. We were misled in the form of payment, as well as the quality of the trip, itself. Then the crew/owner argued with us to such an extent that we were threatened. This is a very short review of a very complicated story. The good news is that O'Neal at Cocobay fixed everything for us, so that the only thing we lost was an afternoon of our honeymoon on a poor excursion, when it could have been much worse.

We had a couple of GREAT excursions, though. The Eco-Tour from Adventure Antigua was a blast. It was a full day, packed with "adventure," literally (the good kind), & the crew was so fun to hang with. We also made a trip to Stingray City, which is an experience everyone visiting the island should have. We booked the latter 2 through the resort, which is the best way. They know what these excursions consist of & can find the right one for you, & have you not get ripped off.

Overall, we can't wait to return to Cocobay & Antigua!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Just got back from a 7 night stay at Coco bay, and we are really torn about the review to give.
The grounds, pools, beaches are really wonderful and i really loved the location.
We had an ocean front cottage with a plunge pool and a/c. It was great when we didn't use the ac and slept with the windows open, hearing the waves crash and all the critters felt like luxury camping.
The bar tenders were great, very entertaining, and made really good drinks!! Best drinks at an all-inclusive Ive had....(I've been a lot of places)

The Bad part of this hotel is the food..
It was really hit or miss, somethings were really good, and other things i needed to spit out.

I live in NYC, and i consider myself a foodie.. but my bf who isn't, thought the same thing.
The quality of the meats and even fish were mediocre.
Chicken over cooked, beef tough, fish too fishy!
Breakfast was our salvation, The eggs were made to order and they were fantastic!
Bacon, toast, fruits, cereal etc.
We would eat a lot for breakfast, cause we never knew if we would like lunch.

We took a taxi to jolly harbors super market to buy ready made fried chicken and beef patties for lunch one day.
We went to eat at dennis's, and oj's which was great tasting local food.
When i go on vacation i like to eat some local food( rice and beans, stewed chicken,ox tails etc).
I understand not everyone has this idea, but i think of having a local dish option each night or either lunch or dinner would have been great however
the days that rice was made, was actually the worst rice Ive ever eaten in a establishment, no taste/flavor or even texture on a island were rice is a staple, doesn't make sense to me??

We went on a catamaran sail, and the food was fantastic. I think after eating it we got more depressed on how bad the food was at cocobay.

You are pretty secluded, and taking a taxi is expensive for a 5 min drive ($25 rt to oj's)
We paid alot of money it wasn't cheap and i feel like we were duped. paid about 3,500 for 7 nights and we had to pay for food somewhere else???

I did read the reviews and people raved about the food???? I don't understand is it bc their tongues lost their taste buds from all the smoking they do??

So im done ranting and raving... i hope that the management sees this post and fixes the quality of meats/fish and food in general.

Considering that American Airlines just started direct flights from jfk, more Americans will be coming and invading the hotel, so i would assume that more bad reviews about the food will be coming unless they fix the quality/options!

But i loved the place its self, so if you don't eat/taste/or care about paying to eat at other places then this place is for you!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank olenabklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Cocobay Resort is a beautiful property sitting on a cliff in Valley Church, Bolans Antigua. The adults only property has lovely, individual cottages with wide porches - most with stunning ocean views. Some cottages have private plunge pools; however, we stayed in a pool"less" cottage and it was very nice. Cottage #51 does have ocean views but does not have "sweeping ocean views" as some of the others do. However, we got the cottage at a nice discounted price through "Luxury Link" and it met our expectations fully. The bathroom does need a bit of upgrading (maybe new tile and double sinks) but it was clean, neat and well appointed. We loved the double doors by the shower so we could enjoy the outside while showering. All beds have mosquito netting (a necessity in Antigua) and room, overall, was very nicely appointed. Cottage #51 also does not have air conditioning but we were not in our room in the daytime so we found it to be unnecessary. The ceiling fan and the standing floor fan provided ample air circulation for sleeping. If you are particularly picky about being cool at night then ask for a room with a/c. Also, there is no TV but who needs to watch TV when in Antigua! There is a TV room for those who absolutely have to have a TV fix.

The hotel staff at Cocobay is excellent. Melissa (?), the front desk concierge, was always pleasant and helpful. We arrived very late at night (because of an airline problem) and the night watchman checked us in. Because of our late arrival Cocobay had provided a plate of sandwiches and a cold fruit platter for us because we missed dinner. Also included in our room were bottles of water and a bottle of champagne.

The public areas of the resort are excellently decorated, wide open and airy. The infinity pool area is nice and adjacent to the bar area. The loungers are comfortable and we had no problem getting a pair of them every afternoon.

The beach area is a short walk to the front of the hotel. Beach towels are provided upon entering the beach. There is no beach bar so if you need a drink you either have to walk all the way back to the bar to get one or, hopefully, an attendant will be working that day and will get them for you. Cocobay is in the process of finishing a second pool and bar area close to the beach, so in a period of a few months this should be complete.

The main diniing room is also on the cliff overlooking the water. Beautiful views - fair food - good service. Breakfast is buffet and is a fairly limited selection but good. Lunch is buffet (but you can order other items like sandwiches) and is fair. Dinner is, well, just barely fair -- we ate in the dining room for dinner only 2 nights out of the week we were in Antigua and each time it didn't meet expectations. We found much better food at other restaurants on the island and, indeed, we believe that one of the fun things about vacation is eating out at different restaurants. We did not try the gourmet dining restaurant "Sheer Rocks" but other people told us that it was very good - although expensive as it is not included in the "all inclusive" price.

The bar promptly opens at 10 am each morning and shuts down at 11 pm which is a little late for us in the morning and a little early for us at night (as we are from New Orleans) but it seemed to fit most people adequately. The bartenders are absolutely fabulous - nice - accomodating and entertaining. We NEVER had a weak, watered down drink!!

All activities are booked at the front desk. There are sign up sheets for different things. Be aware, however, that just because you book something at the front desk Cocobay does not bill you for it. You must pay the service directly. For example, we signed up to go to Shirley Heights one night for the barbecue and music (not worth it, by the way) and believed that the resort would put the fee on our bill. Upon returning to the resort that night we had to come up with $48 to pay the driver -- nobody told us about this. The only items that are billed to your account is the massage services (which were good). Please ask before you sign up for activities outside of the resort as you may have to come up with cash. A couple of people, including us, started to run out of cash money as the week went on because we all thought we could bill to the hotel and put it on a credit card at the end of our stay.

Finally, I would highly recommend this resort to couples who want a relaxing, fun holiday. The staff is excellent and the property is beautiful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz_Stelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
14.5 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,927 reviews
2.7 km away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
507 reviews
20.8 km away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 8 in Saint Mary's
1,066 reviews
0.9 km away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
864 reviews
22.6 km away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Ffreyes Beach, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range: €352 - €744 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing