We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous authentic 16th century castle, with all...”
other travellers have booked this property
Kilmartin Castle on the hill side
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kilmartin Castle on the hill side
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Kilmartin Castle on the hill side
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kilmartin, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

cmb24570
Lowry, Virginia
1 review
“Fabulous authentic 16th century castle, with all the modern conveniences!”
Reviewed 2 January 2019 for a stay in November 2018

This gorgeous castle was right out of a fairytale! It was beautiful, the entrance hall, with short doorways, was all stone, with vaulted ceilings, 2-3 foot thick stone walls, with the ambiance that made us feel as if we stepped back in time. Then we walked up the teeny tiny spiral stone staircase, into to the great room and realized that this was a home. Not a museum, not a ruin, but a 500 year old building where we were sure that arrows had been shot out of the windows. and had been built for very short people! It came complete with comfortable furnishings, wall heat and wood stoves, functional cute bathrooms, big bedrooms,and a kitchen. It was warm and comfortable, with spectacular views, and unbelievable history within walking distance, a great restaurant and bar, and a yummy coffee shop with bakery all in under a 10 minute walk!!! WE had stepped into a magical place, that was all ours for the time we stayed. The owners were easy to communicate with, and the house manager kept everything just right. We even had meals made by a local cook. (Delicious!!). I would highly recommend Kilmartin Castle to anyone wishing to have a terrific time. It's about 2 hour spectacular drive from Glasgow, winding along the Loch's edge, and through the Loch Lomond National Forest

Date of stay: November 2018
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chook21
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unique Stay”
Reviewed 11 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

My girlfriend and I stayed at Kilmartin Castle over the May bank holiday weekend and we had an absolutely incredible time. The castle itself is just so unique and it's been done out wonderfully.

Karen, who met us upon arrival was lovely and gave us a tour of the place as well as some delicious cupcakes which went down a treat after such a long drive!

Simon and Stef provided us with a really useful guide of things to do in the area before we went and this combined with the guide left in the castle 'In the Footsteps of Kings' meant we were spoilt for choice, our biggest problem was what to pick! Particularly highlights were the walk along the Crinan Canal, and our visit to the Island of Gigha which was stunning (would definitely recommend, especially if you've got favourable weather!) .

While we were there we also had the private chef, Ali (who Simon & Stef recommended), cook for us at the castle. Ali was so friendly and cooked us a lovely meal which we thoroughly enjoyed in the castle dining room!

Would definitely recommend a stay at Kilmartin Castle to anyone, and we look forward to going back in the future.

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davea540
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just amazing!”
Reviewed 25 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
2
people found this review helpful

This is a castle. Really! It’s amazing, exactly as described and so exciting to be able to actually stay somewhere like this. A true once in a lifetime experience!
All communication was easy, on arrival, Karen explains eveerything well, as well as providig wine, cake, gin and whisky! Also, they have the Cure for the record player so it’s a win all round. Truly fantastic and highly recommended!

Date of stay: January 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan A
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly unique experience”
Reviewed 2 November 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

One night at the castle was more than enough to truly feel like a prince and a princess. It is located in a very private zone so there aren't any "outside" distractions, although the pub is really close (that is good).
The castle has been refurbished wit classic furniture. The cooking service is just delightful, we were received with an amazing cake and some cookies. In the second floor there was a selection of single malt whiskys from all around Scotland. The castle do not have a TV which allows the guests to focus on the real important things such as sharing and to have quality time. The kitchen is fully equipped and there is no need to buy spices. There are bathtubs so the experience can be really romantic as well.

In the outside there was a lightbulb that didn't work at the beginning, but then when it was on, it gave the castle totally another perspective by night.

Scotland has tons of castles and fortified houses, but there aren't castles that can be lived totally by ourselves such like this. It is truly an amazing experience in one of the most beautiful parts of Scotland. Simon and his wife are great people.

Totally recommend to spend at least 4 nights there. I'm going back for sure!

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.