We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Be King or Queen of your own Castle!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kilmartin Castle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Kilmartin Castle on the hill side
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kilmartin, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beat K
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Be King or Queen of your own Castle!”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Think of it as a 16th century castle renovated and decorated, so it feels cosy. Walk to the local pub in 5 minutes or have wonderful Ali cook a meal for you, served in the arched stone ceiling dining room. Listen to classic record while sitting at the wood fired oven while sipping some single malt. Wait! There is only one problem: You never want to leave again... no doubt we will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie N
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Historic, cozy space in a wonderful Scottish village!”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My husband and I have stayed here twice (Dec 2016 and August 2017), and both times were absolutely perfect. The space, while large, still feels incredibly cosy. It is well-stocked with supplies—they even have a good collection of rain/walking gear, which is super nice—we didn't want for anything while we were there. The beds are incredibly comfortable, there is plenty of hot water for the huge, gorgeous clawfoot bathtubs, and plenty of wood for the fire. Sitting in front of the fire in the evening, listening to the record player and drinking tea is a memory we will always cherish. Do yourself a huge favor and get this place in your life!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren B
Dunfermline
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Unique Weekend”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had the pleasure of staying in Kilmartin Caslte over a long weekend in January...the place was fantastic. We loved the blend of history and modern touches.

The place is spacious with hidden secrets at every turn.

My favourite part was spending nights by the huge wood burning stove whilst playing board games with family.

I'd highly recommend this to anyone looking for a unique place to stay in an area full of rich Scottish history.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlesco...
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique experience!”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A relaxing 4 night stay which was a very unique experience! It has all the history, architecture, quirkiness and charm you would ever need for a holiday on the west coast of Scotland. The Castle is well equipped with everything you would need for self-catering but also the added bonus of a pub at the end of the lane. The surrounding area has plenty to offer, we loved exploring Kilmartin itself, the abandoned Poltalloch Estate, the beautiful coastal road to Ardfern and the cute little harbour village of Crinan. All communication with Simon and Stef was straight forward and we enjoyed a smooth check-in with Louise who made us feel very welcome. Thanks for having us!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus C
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magical Place”
Reviewed 2 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the castle for my Wifes 50th Birthday, and we had a great time. With no TV and just the radio it was like stepping back in time, very relaxing. Although you can get a sinal on your phone in parts of the castle for those urgent business commitments. The bed we had off the main hall was really comfortable, and with the silent surroundings we had a very chilled time.
As you would imagine with a 500 year old castle, the stairs are deeper than modern houses, so you need to bear that in mind if you have any mobility issues.
If you like spirtual feelings, try filming in the dinning room when playing some classical music on the radio, we got loads of orbs recorded if you like that kind of thing! We certainly felt very comfortable at all times. As we went very early in the year, at night away from the outside floodlights in between the last estate houses is PITCH BLACK, so remember to always take the torches ( flashlights ) that are provided in the form of head lights. On the way back from the pub, I got a little off track as I forgot to take one, cant think why! hic hic....:-) All in All a marvelous place and we will be back for sure. Be careful to plan your route carfefully with a map as well as a sat nav, we were taken on a single track route for 21 miles which was challanging after a long drive, but I put that down to my sat nav, be sure to stay on the mainroad to LOCHGILPHEAD to avoid this. Thanks to Simon and Stef and I hope my comments are read as constructively possitive.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$270
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing