We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent once again”
other travellers have booked this property
Crinan Canal Cottage No8 with playing green in front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Crinan Canal Cottage No8 with playing green in front
The canal in front of the playing green at the cottage cottage The playing green in front of the cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Crinan Canal Cottage No8 with playing green in front
The canal in front of the playing green at the cottage cottage
The playing green in front of the cottages
Couch in front lounge leading to kitchen
Front lounge leading to front garden
Dining kitchen
Double bedroom facing canal
Double bed room door to bathroom and landing
Seating bench in front garden overlooking canal
Twin bedroom with two single beds - outlook to back
Bathroom with claw foot bath to relax with chilled glass of wine
Path to front green and canal
Bridge over canal
The green, canal and cottages and the rainbow
Climb to see if the footprint fits - and then crown yourself the King of the Scots at Dunadd
The resident swans on the canal
Dunardy bridge One of the many bridges over the canal
The boats going though for the yearly race on the canal
The Puffer otherwise knows as the Vic 32
Crinan Beach - great for walking the dog
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cairnbaan, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AndreT115...
1 review
“Excellent once again”
Reviewed 9 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This is our second visit at Crinan and we absolutely love it. The cottage is simply perfect: ideal location to go and visit islands (Mull, Iona, Jura, Isla etc) and to go for nice walks along the canal or in the nearby forests. The cottage has everything you need plus a beautiful garden. Indeed, if you don't feel like going for an excursion, you'd love spending the day in the cottage, cooking and sunbathing in the meadow.

Fantastic restaurants nearby, especially the Crinan Seafood bar (ask for Pedro). You can also have dinner in and go shopping Coop in Lochgilphead (5 minutes drive away)

Lovely landlady who welcomed us for the second time as we were old friends.

I could not recommend this place more. You must visit it and stay at Cottage no 8!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2018
Many thanks for your recent review and really please that you enjoyed your stay at cottage no8 just as much as cottage no4 and I look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanna f
1 review
“Lovely Cottage in superb Location”
Reviewed 23 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The cottage has everything you'd need and is right on the canal path, perfect for strolls in either direction, or just sitting and watching the yachts negotiate the locks. Great walks in all 4 directions directly from the cottage, plus we got an amazing sighting of the beavers in the nearby loch! We'd also recommend Tayvellich cafe and the Kilmartin Museum cafe, both as starting/ending points for great walks. The dog (and us) were exhausted each night, and the lovely bath with the skylight overhead was the perfect ending - for us, not the dog! We'll be back there again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2018
Thank you so much for leaving such a great review. I am really pleased that yourself together with the family had such a great time after booking both cottages. I look forward to welcoming you back and remember I give 10% discount to returning visitors. Thank you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmills49
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice cottage. Excellent location”
Reviewed 11 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

My wife and I are cyclists birdwatchers and walkers. This location allows you to start any activity straight from the door. No need to negotiate a busy main road. Beautiful scenery every way you look. The cottage was comfortable and had all we needed. The wood burning stove was wonderful on a cold evening. Accommodation was fine for three of us. Beds comfortable and bathroom and kitchen were good. The only criticism was the bath / shower arrangement. The bath was excellent but didn’t lend itself to showering very easily. That was our only reservation. Nevertheless it will not stop us from returning!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2018
Thank you for your most welcome feedback. I am really pleased that you enjoyed both the cottage, the area, the wood burning stove and that roll top bath. I look forward to welcoming you back to the cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lurganbob
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tranquility at its est”
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Almost exactly halfway along the Crinan Cannal this cosy, yet with everything you could wish for, terraced cottage is ideal for a couple to explore beautiful Mid Argyll, with a trip to Tayvallich highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2018
Many thanks for your review of the cottage and I look forward to welcoming you back later this year together with your bikes for more exploring.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adventure...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in stunning location, toddler and pet friendly - we're already planning our next holiday there!”
Reviewed 5 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Just after booking, we were struck by such a warm welcome with emails and helpful, individually tailored advice from the owner Pauline. The cottage itself is beautiful - just the perfect size for our family and warm and cosy with the open fire lit. The decor is very tasteful. We particularly loved the roll top bath. The cottage has a small garden and there is a large shared green out the front overlooking the canal, which came in handy for our dog and toddler to run around in moments of latent energy! The surrounding area is idyllic - just stunning! There is a Forestry commission woodland a few minutes walk away and hundreds of beautiful places to walk! Our wildlife sightings included highland cattle (!) in the forest and Roe deer in the garden. What a friendly place too - the neighbours were keen to say hello and welcome us to the area with helpful suggestions for places to eat and sights to see. Having visited the area regularly as a child - I knew it was a great location. There are plenty of beautiful places to visit within the local area; Crinan itself is very pretty. The small fishing village of Tarbert is 30 minutes away; Lochgilphead 3 miles away and Campeltown, Oban and Inverary within easy drive. We loved it so much - we are already planning our next holiday there!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2018
Thank you so much for writing such an informative review - which is really appreciated. I looking forward to meeting you on your next visit especially when I offer discounts for returning visitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing