We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
124
12
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
12
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river game viewing wilderness safaris wild dogs main area rooms are large male lion dining area elephant crossing wildlife experience very special place bar fridge reuben rooms are lovely wonderful guide short flight wonderful lodge
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Kings Pool is indeed a very special place-from the moment we arrived and throughout our 3 night stay, everything was flawless and fabulous. The rooms are large and luxurious. The outdoor space is expansive featuring as much space as the room itself and is a wonderful way to spend down time. The quality and range of the food and drink is exceptional-as are the conversations with the staff which often accompany drinks and time spent in the common space.
Our game drives led by ND were so informative and exciting! We were lucky enough, on one of our days there, to spend a full day with him. To observe his keen senses tracking animals is nothing short of amazing. This inevitably led to yet another discovery with only the 5 of us there to watch another miracle that is Africa unfold before us. Thanks ND for thinking we were " troopers" and up to the challenge!
As so many others have noted in their reviews, the staff is truly exceptional-we so enjoyed our conversations with Mama B.. Phalana and ND (at the Boma)- thanks!
Many thanks for our glorious boat ride on Queen Sylvia as well!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Lorrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris King's Pool Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Lorrie,

We are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your time with ND as well as all our great staff in camp. Barge cruises along the Linyanti River are on offer on the colonial-style Queen Sylvia barge, generally with sundowners in hand. The river is ideal for numerous and diverse species of birds and are a magnet for game in the dry winter months. We hope you will visit us again for many more great moments together.

Bush regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We first visited Kings Pool in 2011 and fell in love with the camp and the incredible Linyanti area. No wonder we could not wait to return ! It is an amazing camp set on a beautiful lagoon overlooking the vast swamps of the Linyanti. Our 4 nights passed so quickly and was absolutely thrilling.
Our room was luxurious and comfortable and we spent afternoons at our cool pool, overlooking the pristine waters of the Linyanti. Thanks MamaB for the ice cold MCC in our bar fridge!!
Game is just so plentiful and we had an amazing time with our guide, Fanie, whom we requested, after having a memorable time with him at Kalahari Plains in 2015. Thanks again Fanie, it was just so wonderful with you again, and we still are amazed at how you track Lion , Leopard and found the LTC pack of Wild dogs every day !!
Mama B, Thalani and Jennifer, you are just incredible !! The way you and the team made us feel welcome and at home is just so special. No wonder we are already making plans to return !! Mama B, good luck with your new position !!
The food was incredible and took fine dining to the next level. Thank you Wame, Gigi, Keitas, Josi, Naledi, Dorothy and all the others. You are a winning team.
We cannot recommend this camp highly enough. We shall most definitely return. God bless you all.

Room Tip: All good and very private.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ritaSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris King's Pool Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear ritaSouthAfrica,

We are thrilled to see that your return visit was as good if not better than you remembered. We will be sure to tell Mama B, Thalani, Jennifer, Fanie and the entire winning team how much you enjoyed your stay and their company. the local wild dog pack, fondly referred to as the LTC pack are always good entertainment on a game drive and we are glad to see they kept you busy during your stay.

Looking forward to your next visit
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Arrived on the plane and rather than a 40 minutes drive we had a great game drive on the way back or certainly felt like it. Offered delicious lunch on arrival and settled in prior to our game drive.

Loved our ' tent' which was glam to the enth degree! However chilly as we had a cool change whilst there so take your pj's to go under the best warmest softest bathrobes in the universe and snuggle into bed with your hot water bottle - heaven!! We had a wonderful outlook across the water and from outer room saw a Nile monitor eat a tree squirrel - excellent.

There's a pool for the summer or brave winter visitors. And a lovely balcony with lounges and day beds.

Game drives were fabulous clearly the reason to go - heaps of large animals elephant, kudu, impala, hippo, leopard, giraffe, warthog, red lechwye, baboon, crocs, and an excellent guide in AB who showed us almost every bird and animal there was. Morning at best were damn chilly so the ponchos and hot water bottle were essential and luxury! Tip take your scarf, beanie and gloves for early morning game drives and you'll be as snug as a bug in a rug!

Food was faultless - plentiful, tasty, high quality and served piping hot. Service was friendly and excellent. Heaps of choice

The central dining/ social area was well designed and looked across the water to elephants, red lechwye and impala wandering past or stopping to browse.

Hard to leave this lovely spot - highly reccomended

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris King's Pool Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear chris f,

Wow - high praise indeed! Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit to Kings Pool. The team, and AB especially, will be delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay! Winters in the bush are definitely rather cool in the mornings although the days warm up nicely. Perhaps you can come back one day in the summer (when less clothes are needed!) and the bush dynamics change - migrant birds return, baby animals abound, the vegetation is lush and green - plus a swim or two in the pool may be in order!

Warm regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

I was lucky enough to spend four nights at King's Pool this past March and it is an experience that I will not soon forget.

The incredible staff welcomed us with open arms and made us feel like family within only a few short moments. They were approachable and genuinely friendly, while still maintaining top notch service (not an easy task). I loved getting to know their stories and learn more about Botswana's culture, background, etc.

Living in a major US city, I'm a bit spoiled when it comes to food, but I was beyond blown away by the quality of food and the amount of offerings at the camp. Everything from the salads to the entrees to the desserts, and of course, the wine were incredible! I was even more impressed to learn that Wilderness Safaris employs local staff and teaches them culinary skills, so that they can not only be employed at King's Camp, but also other camps within the area.

In reading some of the other reviews, I see some complaints about the accommodations. Speaking from experience, I couldn't disagree more and think that you have to set your expectations accordingly. The rooms are outfitted with luxurious bedding, thoughtful and beautiful decor, food & beverage offerings, and more. However, the walls are screened and you're positioned on a river. This means that you will have the occasional bug in your room and may be awakened by a warthog burrowing under your room or by a hippo splashing in the water outside. It's magical, but could be dis-alarming to someone who may want a/c and/or wifi and to see the animals from afar.

Our guide, Ona, was the icing on the cake. His incredible knowledge combined with his dry sense of humor made our daily safaris unforgettable. His love for the animals, the community, and the nature are evident. His expertise allowed us to see wild dogs, hippos, multiple lions, warthogs, giraffe babies, and so much more. He is an incredible asset to the Wilderness Safari family.

One day, I hope to be lucky enough to return to the magical place that is King's Pool!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EJSTravels22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris King's Pool Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear EJSTravels22,

Thank you for your amazing review, we are overjoyed to see that it was not only the safari that left you with great memories but also the values that are at the heart of Wilderness Safaris that has left a lasting imprint on you. More than 85% of our camp staff come from remote, rural communities and for no less than 63% of them a job with Wilderness Safaris represents their first-ever formal employment - "Our Journeys Change Lives".

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

When we last visited Kings Pool it was so dry. Botswana was in a drought. We have been to Kings Pool from time to time over the past 10 years and it is consistently unique and special. Wildlife wise it was stressed when were last there. But it still offered a very good wildlife experience. The carmine bee-eaters were still on the nest. That is remarkable spectacle. Elephants were abundant along the Linyanti river. And with our guide, Khan Gouwe, you will always have a good game drive. Khan has real wisdom when it comes to the bush and the Linyanti area. We have had such wonderful encounters with elephants over time with Khan. Very special. The camp is so well managed by Tshepo and his team. The villas have been remodeled recently and they retain their traditional royal African feel. They did a very good job. We most recently stayed in the last villa to the west, I think, its west, any way it is to the left as you enter the main area from the car park. Number 1 room i think. This was our favorite of the 2 others we had stayed in earlier, rooms 3 and 4. Food at Kings Pool is excellent. The view over the lake and into Namibia is beautiful. This place is unique and consistently good. The reserve is so different from the Delta. Large hardwood trees along the river and different birdlife. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Room number 1 is excellent as are 3 and 4.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris King's Pool Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you John Scott J for your amazing review, we are delighted to see that after all these years you are still enjoying your stay with us. We are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your time with Khan, Tshepo and the entire family at Kings Pool. Kings Pool prides itself as a luxurious and historic safari base in the middle of Africa’s highest density of elephants - we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews