We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
9
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews games drives herd of elephants game viewing wifi singing tents botswana guide camp
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016

An intimate setting of three tents on the banks of Linyanti Marsh, where the wildlife is concentrated at the last remaining patches of water at the end of the dry season. Around every corner there was something to see. The animals for the most part seemed to tolerate our intrusion which made us feel part of nature. The animals also tolerated each other with different species gathered together under the shade of a tree or out on the marsh at a waterhole; a lesson in cooperation. We saw elephants, a variety of antelopes, giraffes, buffalos, zebras, baboons, monkeys, hares, pythons and porcupines. Our hosts, John and Owen Chase, were gracious and our guide, Esse Mokopi, remarkable in his knowledge and tracking skills, finding us lions, lionesses with their cubs and a pack of satiated wild dogs. Frankie was a superb chief. One caveat: Not for the faint at heart. You are in the wild, after all.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iskoggard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanBushCamps, Public Relations Manager at Linyanti Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Iskoggard

Thank you for reviewing Linyanti Bush Camp. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It is certainly a lesson in cooperation and a beautiful example of cohabitation in the wild!

We are so proud of the team at Linyanti and how they've grown. Esse is a new guide, having only obtained his guides license in 2013, however he is a wealth of knowledge and we continue to watch him grow as an African Bush Camps guide.

We hope you will return to Linyanti soon.
Until then take care and warmest regards,
The African Bush camps team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

This mobile tented camp was ideal for us, though it wouldn't suit those who are more interested in luxury than wildlife.

The tents are perfectly adequate in size and comfort, with an en suite chemical toilet and bucket shower in a separate section at the back. Basins are out the front of the tent. Lighting is by solar power and there is no other electricity.

A large open sided tent provides areas to sit and to eat and there is a campfire for mornings and evenings.

The huge strengths of this camp are the closeness to nature, the exceptional guiding for game viewing and the excellent food and hospitality.

Lions walked through between the tents and one night a male lion, Stumpy, slept very near the camp. We saw lots of animals including hundreds of elephants, many different sorts of antelope, giraffes, zebra, and hippos. Although the seasonal water in front of the camp was dry while we were there, there was water nearby to enjoy a sundowner as we watched the animals come to drink. We saw loads of different birds and our guide, Esse, was superb throughout. His noticing of a python 12m up a tree at dusk while driving was an example of his superb spotting skills, and he was full of information about the animals and the environment.

Frank produced quite outstanding food on an open fire and all the staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming. We could not have been better looked after and offer a huge thank-you to Owen and John Chase for the incomparable experience they offered us.

Room Tip: All tents face the view!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanBushCamps, Public Relations Manager at Linyanti Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Maggie

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Saile Tented Camp. You are so lucky to have experienced those wildlife sightings and Stumpy is known to roam around camp.

Our Guides are well trained and take part in a Guide Training Workshop annually, where guides from all African Bush Camps' properties come together in a sharing of knowledge and experience. This ensures that our guides remain some of the best in southern Africa, if not Africa!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time spent with us and hope you will return!

Take care and warmest regards,
The African Bush Camps team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2014

We just spent 4 days at the Saile mobile tented camp and it was unbelievable,. Our guide, Isaiah, was perhaps the best guide we have had in over 40 lodges in southern Africa. The camp was rustic but the food was excellent. Imagine having a cocktail with 1000 elephants in front of you on an open plain. We were fortunate to spend about 4 hours with a 15 member pack of wild dogs.

The camp server, temp manager and major domo - Choms - was one of the nicest people I have ever met. He gave up his afternoon siesta to take me fishing.

Again, a very simple camp but truly spectacular.

Room Tip: There are 6 tents which are all winners.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Linyanti Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you Thomas what an amazing review from such an experienced traveler.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2014

My wife and I stayed at Saile Tented Camp on our fifth trip to beautiful Botswana via Ker and Downey's Footsteps program. We had visited Footsteps Across the Delta four times: our original guide, Peter Brandon, suggested we visit a different area. As they say in the Delta, games drives in vehicles are like watching TV; when you walk, you are reading the book. You will see more animals and at closer range in the vehicle but you will learn so much about the ecology, wildlife, and local culture on foot. As Ker and Downey tries to ensure that you are the only guests on a walking safari, you also have more time to get to know your guide. We generally start our Safaris with a walking camp which always enriches the later experiences when we are in the vehicles.

I should emphasise that Saile Tented Camp is not roughing it. Of course, there is no electricity, wifi and the like but that, for me, is a great luxury. The incredible food, prepared on an open fire by the incredibly talented chef, Jigga, is imaginative and delicious. Bucket showers in the open are more refreshing than anything you will experience in the spa-like facilities in the finest hotel room. Three tents is the right size, especially if there are no other guests.

We arrived at Saile to a delightful choral welcome. I'm a professional recording producer and would have been thrilled to make an album with this camp's staff. (The Saile Choir later serenaded us one memorable evening before dinner.) We met our guides - Opie from Ker and Downey's Footsteps program and Isaiah from Saile (and Linyanti Bush Camp.) After a brief orientation, we were shown our comfortable tent overlooking a vast expanse of blue and green: water, sky, and woodlands. As we walked to our tent, my wife and heard the plaintive, iconic call of the African Fish Eagle: we knew we were home.

On a waking safari, the knowledge, passion, and competence of the guides are even more essential qualities than on game drives. We were fortunate with both Opie and Isaiah who quickly understood that we were not in Botswana to fill in a check list but were thrilled, happy simply to be there and see what we could see. They both had the old Botswana guide culture of respect for the wildlife and doing nothing to change the animals behaviour. Very important and very important to us. The wildlife on our walks was more sparse than we were used to but again, we learned so much about the ecology of the mopane woodland, tracking, botany and the birds, who were prolific. On one walk, we saw the fresh poo of Cape Buffalo and made a detour to avoid the big, sometimes aggressive animals. We were fortunate to see a large herd of buffalo from a safe distance as the sun set. Another evening, walking back to camp, a pair of elephants across the water were lit up by the last rays of the sun. Seeing giraffe on foot is always a special experience as one can get rather close as they look curiously at those strange tiny predators below them.

The first evening, my wife heard the sound of something foraging just outside the tent. Moments later, in the full moonlight, she saw the gleaming white tusks of an elephant as he looked intently at her through the mesh of the tent window! After a while, he moved to my side of the tent and also looked in. Extraordinary.

In our several trips to Botswana, we had only encountered one dangerous snake: a boomslang who slithered down a tree as we were waiting at an airstrip. We had never seen a Black Mamba and did not particularly want to! As we walked, this time with only Opie, we were alerted by a very nervous squirrel that something was amiss. Opie quickly spotted the tail of a snake. As it emerged, he announced, "We are in luck. It is a black mamba. Look at the smile." My wife doesn't like being around snakes and stood stock-still, perhaps relieved as Opie assured her it wouldn't come down the tree, which it immediately proceeded to do before standing up to its full height - about two meters - before deciding it had somewhere else to be. We made a detour and walked in a different direction to avoid another encounter but it was fascinating. The detour was fortuitous as well: we saw two juvenile honey badgers drinking at a small stream and watched a herd of elephants make their way down to the river. During the siesta hours, we watched elephants, waterbucks, and baboons all wander near the camp. As we were driving back to the airstrip on our last morning, Isaiah heard from another vehicle that a pride of lions was spotted along the river. We turned back and spent as much time as we could with a beautiful group of lions setting up a hunt.

As I've said elsewhere, one generally goes to Botswana for the wildlife but comes back for the extraordinary people who live and work in this paradise. There are no people more gracious than the Botswanans who chose to work in the Safari camps. Saile is not exception. It exemplifies gracious hospitality without any show. We were honoured that Lebo who seemed to have a variety of jobs - all perfectly done -spent time speaking with us. Her genuine kindness and personal generosity was very special to us.

I can't recommend Saile and Footsteps Across the Linyanti highly enough. An unforgettable experience. Thanks to Lebo, Opie, Isaiah, Jigga, Stella and everyone who made our stay so special.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Finem50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Wow, this really is camping in the wild. We love camping in our tent so are experienced campers but if you aren't a camper this might not be the place for you to stay. Things are a lot more primitive here than other tented camps in Botswana and for us this enhanced the experience. This camp is set in the middle of nowhere. Our family of 4 were the only guests here and were treated like "royals". There was no power or solar power and the food was cooked on an open fire. The food was amazing considering the lack of equipment & a kitchen. The fire created a smoky smell in everything we did & we came away with a Smokey aroma in our clothes. Water was heated on the fire & tipped into buckets for an outdoor shower. This was truly a remarkable experience but may not be suited to everyone's desires. We feel very lucky to have stayed here as it was the most unique experience we had in the wildlife.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alipa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Linyanti Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for this lovely feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews