We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect accommodation on a beautiful perfect...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Porters, Saint James Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

520lynng
2 reviews
“Perfect accommodation on a beautiful perfect island”
Reviewed 19 January 2018 for a stay in October 2017

A beautiful home situated in an ideal location. The house has everything you could possibly need and it’s absolutely spotless. It’s a place where you just don’t want to leave and it’s close to bars and restaurants and a superb sandy beach. Once you have been to 4 Porters Gate, you’ll never want to go anywhere else in the world. Can’t wait till we come back again.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and compliments, we are so pleased that you had such a wonderful holiday.
We look forward to welcoming you back to 4 Porters gate any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsKBucki...
Buckinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dream Holiday Home”
Reviewed 9 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have just returned from Heather and Mark's home, having spent a wonderful time there with our 2 older children.

The villa was perfect for our needs, tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable. For us, the best part was the outdoor space, where we spent most of our time. The beds were comfortable, with immaculate white bedding and beautifully fitted en-suite bathrooms. There were large wardrobes in both bedrooms with plenty of hangers and storage. The kitchen was very well equipped with everything we needed and even toilet paper, kitchen paper, dishwasher tabs and cleaning products were included, which is very unusual. I was also very impressed that even though we only stayed for 12 days, the house was cleaned and towels and beds changed twice.

We were extremely well looked after by the Concierge service who met us on arrival and when departing. Diana was at the end of the phone at any time should we need her and the same for Heather, who was very helpful.

The villa's location is excellent, with frequent buses running from the end of the road into Holetown,Bridgetown and Speightstown. We also hired a car for a few days to go further afield.

We would not hesitate in recommending this holiday property to anyone. It is extremely well managed, and represents excellent value for money.

Thank you Heather and Mark

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely home from home”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A very nice house, very well designed and equipped. This has been set up tobe an ideal holiday home, not just a rental. Very private back garden, in a quiet neighbourhood but only 10 mins walk to the beach. Excellent snorkelling options especially early in the morning when there are no jetskis, so you arent restricted to swimming areas. Fish life is abundant.
The plunge pool was very convenient to cool off, and the communal pool was always pleasant and warm, but hardly used. Same for the tennis court, which is good for a casual game although too small for anything too competitive.
We hired a car briefly, to tour the island and to do a national trust hike, but buses are cheap and frequent. An interesting experience. Some of the yellow bus drivers should probably be certified.
Overall, we loved the house and its location.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally S
2 reviews
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday at Heather and Mark's gorgeous home. Perfect location on the west coast, beautiful house, And local beaches are the best we have been to on the island. swimming with turtles, lone star, buffet the royal pavillion, and Santi's bar were all highlights. Heathers communication was brilliant making lots contact to make sure all was well, extras like dishwasher tablets and shower gel and great recommendations for restaurants beaches etc. We will definitely return :) thank you s

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianhardie
Maidstone
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A slice of paradise!”
Reviewed 31 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

First of all we would like to thank Heather and Mark for sharing their holiday home with us. It really is in an excellent location and being in a gated community, we felt safe at all times. We will never forget our first morning walk down to Glitter Bay and stepping onto the beach, seeing the Caribbean Sea before us. It was stunning. This villa has everything you need for a very comfortable stay and to be able to sit out in the garden is a lovely way to relax. Raphael, the house manager is so polite and always willing to help-he is a star!

For our two weeks we hired a car from Stoutes car rental and were able to explore Barbados easily. Reading a map and travelling over bumpy roads is all part of the fun on holiday. At Pebble beach we had paddle boarding lesson with Paddle Barbados where Jason proved to be an excellent and patient teacher. We also used Barbados Blue to swim with turtles and snorkel over shipwrecks. Their attention to safety was excellent. We highly recommend them both. There are many interesting places to visit including St Nicholas Abbey, Foursquares distillery, George Washington's house and of course Bathsheba. The gardens at Andromeda, Huntes and Wenchman's gully are amazing. In Speightstown, Arlington museum gives a good history of the area and the art gallery in the town has some amazing pieces of work.

There are many restaurants and beach cafes to try and we enjoyed Sea Cat, the Beach House and Juju's. For Sunday lunch we travelled to the Atlantis hotel near Bathsheba for a buffet lunch. This was very good with stunning views over the Atlantic. It is worth booking though. For something different we tried the Balcony restaurant at Cave Shepherd department store in Bridgetown and this was a buffet which many locals use.It was great watching the world go by from here.Travelling on the reggae buses is a must!

Once again Ian and I would like to thank Heather and Mark for their help in making our holiday run smoothly. Our first visit to Barbados has been truly fantastic. It will not be our last.

Paula and Ian Hardie

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.