We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely by the beach”
Review of Taboras Restaurant

Taboras Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Porters
Price range: US$25 - US$100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Taboras offers an open kitchen concept and an expansive bar. Conveniently located by the pool, Taboras is the ideal rendezvous spot for a romantic dinner or to meet with friends and enjoy exceptional Caribbean cuisine, a relaxed setting and breathtaking views of the azure sea. Featuring an authentically local architecture with detailed arches that create a welcome canopy, Taboras is simply a refreshing oasis in the midst of tropical beauty. Here, you can enjoy it all. Special culinary requests are indulged and delectable meals are prepared using the best ingredients by our experienced team. Tempting appetizers, breakfast, lunch and dinner are concocted with the greatest attention to detail.
Reviewed 28 June 2017

good food and a lovely brunch on Sunday. Casual and a nice range of dishes on the menu. Most of the staff were friendly and the evenings were generally pleasant.

Thank shemin374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2017

Had dinner on our last night in Barbados, Not the cheapest but still good value and good service. Lovely setting. Would recommend.

Thank joan_morgan912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarishmaMatthew, - at Taboras Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Dear Joan_morgan912,

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our restaurant to other travelers. I’m sure our entire staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you've enjoyed your dining experience within our 'super setting'.

We have noted your comment on our pricing. I hope it helps to know that our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and as you've rightfully stated, we always strive to provide the best value for money.

We look forward to you gracing us with your presence again.

Regards,
Karishma Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Breakfast was good, fresh fruit, eggs benedict etc.
Dinner was good, no complaints. We dined there twice, asian night and from the regular menu

Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarishmaMatthew, - at Taboras Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Dear Sometimesibook5star,

Thank you for your positive comments and we are pleased that you've enjoyed your overall dining experience at Cafe Taboras. Reviews like yours are invaluable to future customers and we couldn’t be more grateful.

It puts a smile upon our faces hearing your speak so fondly of our breakfast buffet - you couldn't have described it any better. The wide range of fresh tropical fruits offered; most of which are organically grown right here in Barbados does remain as one of the major highlights of the buffet.

We are also elated that your dinner was just as good as your breakfast and are happy that you got an opportunity to sample one of our many themed nights. It is our hope that you will be back for many more breakfasts, dinners and even lunches in the future.

Regards,
Karishma Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Fantastic semi open location with views over the beach and ocean with torchlit illumination The good food can be accompanied by a variety of wines and other assorted drinks.

Thank Terence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarishmaMatthew, - at Taboras Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Dear Terence D,

Thank you for the great review of our restaurant. We work really hard to serve the best food in a great environment and I am glad to see those efforts pay off.

We are happy that you were also able to find the perfect wine and assorted drinks to pair with your dinner. At Cafe Taboras, each dining experience is unique, and yet each upholds an unsurpassed standard of creativity and service.

We trust that your experience has placed us on the top of your list of places to dine whilst in Barbados and that your next visit will be as pleasant as your previous one.

Regards,

Karishma Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We winter in Barbados and wanted to have a farewell lunch with 6 close friends. We chose Taboras as one of our party had just had dental work and needed special attention. Before booking I made inquiries and other locations, even more expensive, were very inflexible. I spoke to the Fairmont's Exec Chef and he gave me every assurance our party would be well served and happy. At $44US they offered a full operating BBQ (Steak, ribs, fish (Mahi Mahi), Shrimp), plus an extensive buffet - a full array of salads, local fair (plantains, etc.) veggies and a wide selection of deserts. The food was great and the service excellent (the NY cheesecake was a favorite with my crowd).The Exec Chef even came by to make sure we were well served, (in particular my special guest!) and that ensured our party's success. Very popular with locals and hotel residents - book ahead. Try the Fairmont's own labeled (and reasonable) wines only available in Barbados and California. Highly recommended. Amazing pan musician on Sunday, right by the beach, and in the shade!! Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Major-Tom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarishmaMatthew, - at Taboras Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Dear Major-Tom22,

Thank you for such a wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure looking after you and your guests. Our team strives to deliver the best experiences and are extremely grateful when these are being recognized. Your comments about all the services extended are truly cherished and the team is very thankful for your recognition.

Our Sunday BBQ Buffet, Bubbly and Gelato is in indeed a grand affair where the place comes alive with live steel pan music, the right mix of customers and lots to eat and drink all afternoon long. With so many options from the grill to our array of fresh salads, chef inspired dishes, tropical dessert bar and our famed "cool" Gelato cart, there is something for everyone. We are happy that our NY Cheesecake proved to be that 'special something' for your party of six.

We truly have a gem in our talented Executive Chef Kirk who always goes above and beyond to ensure that our customers have the best dining experience ever.

Once again, thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to showcase our hospitality. We look forward to the pleasure of your many more such visits.

Regards,

Karishma Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taboras Restaurant also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Mount Standfast, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Taboras Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing