We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popped in for lunch ”

Fred's Bar & Restaurant Oistins
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Oistins
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Looking for some fresh local food after a long day of work or touring our beautiful island?Come on over where the food is great. Table settings and tablecloths, a home away from home no plastic plates, forks or knives. You can have a variety of fish Mahi-Mahi, King Fish, Blue Marlin all fresh fish, which is marinated and served to you fried or grilled but we are famous for our Pan Seared fish with Vegetables. A lot of people ask what Pan Seared is. Pan Seared is a special butter we use and we add our local vegetables such as onions, carrots, broccoli, beans, sweet peppers ,pumpkins etc. Basically any local veg we could find. You can have this any other night than on Friday nights. On Thursday nights there is Pudding' N Souse and there is our famous Jerk pork and white rice.Fridays you can have Vegetable Rice Macaroni Pie, Fry Pork Chops Fry Chicken Grilled or Fry Fish Fried Breadfruit and Sweet Plantain. Chips or Wedges Toss Salad and Coleslaw. Saturdays you can also have Pudding N 'Souse from around 11:am you can call to place your order.Oh on Sundays now is a wider variety. You can get Green Peas and Rice, Macaroni Pie, Curry Goat, Sweet Potato Pie, Bake Pork Chops, Bake Lamb Chops, Bake Chicken, Steam Vegetables, Pan Seared,Grill fish or Fry Fish with a Garden Salad, Fried Breadfruit and Sweet Plantain. I guess that is our full menu so I hoping so see you soon.
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Stopped at Fred’s for lunch we had 4 goat curry with rice and peas and salad with some banks beers really excellent food and friendly service

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Williamcottis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

The food is just wonderful. Angela, the hostess, is just wonderful.
Public parking lot is a little to the east of Fred's on the same side of the road. When you see KFC across the street, you are there.
Amazing different tastes from the Mac pie to fried chicken to panseared Marlin to plantains. Very good rum punch and local beers to wash it all down.
On Saturday night there was live karaoke behind the restaurant so it was a very entertaining time at Fred's.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank joe-chicago-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

We read the reviews and decided to visit, put our thoughts into verse

Sunday lunch, Fred’s Bar, no need to worry, Dishes of Baked chicken and goat curry, Hospitality and food the Bajan Way,
Served up by Angela, recommend a visit on your stay!

Thanks

2Gs on tour

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank GJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed a few meals and drinks here whilst we were in Barbados over the Easter period. Angela was a brilliant hostess, chatty and friendly. The food was delicious and freshly cooked. We enjoyed fish from the market, plantain, macaroni pie and salads washed down with Banks beer. Great for people watching and chatting at the trestle tables. Super value and thoroughly recommended.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank pallincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Went to Oistins with another couple that we met at our hotel, they had been many times over the last few years and recommended Fred’s. Great choice and great food, Angela the owner and her family make you really welcome. There is a good choice and all freshly cooked, I had Angela’s chicken curry and it was delicious and quite spicy. The food is very reasonably priced along with the drinks and you can watch the free entertainment on stage while you eat. A thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable evening and we returned the following week. We didn’t go for Fish Friday when it can be very busy but it was still busy enough to have a good atmosphere on Saturday evening with the dancers on stage good enough for any London production. Mr Impact really brings in a crowd with his reggae music. Oistins is a must while you’re in Barbados and you can’t go wrong with Angela’s food at Fred’s.

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank antnpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fred's Bar & Restaurant Oistins also viewed

Oistins, Christ Church Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Oistins, Christ Church Parish
 
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
Rockley, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Fred's Bar & Restaurant Oistins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing