We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Shanzu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2011

i have visited mombasa several times and have stayed in quite a number of hotels in the northcoast and in ukunda , i have heard quite alot abt it and since it s one of the most expensive hotels in the north coast.. i decided to give it a try this yr!
i was disapoointed from the minute i checked in! never have i received such a rude welcome! the staff is very snobbish and acted as tho i din belong there.
the welcome drink was only served after we had paid for our room something tht has never happened in any other hotel)
the room , no doubt is very nice and the bathroom is well done. but thts abt it
the swimmin pool is small and does not justify the price u pay
and it was dirty
we had a 2 yr old kid with us and of course everyone was unhappy abt the noise he was makin.. so if u ve kids this hotel is a definite no no.
the beach is a short beach .. if u like to relax on the sand .. this beach is nt it
tho we were disapoointed with the pool and the beach we tried to cheer up thinkin abt dinner..
we wre very shocked wen we realised it was not buffet dinner!
wts more.. the food tkes forever to come and since u are very hungry u fill up on salads
by the time my meal came i was too full!
bfast was also disappointin.
the cooks are very unfriendly and if u go for 2nds/ 3rd rounds a feelin of uneasiness develops! i suggest if u goin on holiday to eat amazin food and not worry abt calories.. this is not the place to go to

we had booked for four nights but we checked out after the 2nd nyt.
wish we had checekd out after the first nyt itself

oh and another party(2 ladies) also checked out from serena and we saw thm at the other hotel we shifted too... i guess its not only us who realised there was alot missin in serena

if u are travellin to msa to enjoy the beach and swim and eat! think twice abt serena

if u like bein alone.. then yes this is the place to go to

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ANBAR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
There are newer reviews for Serena Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 359 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2011

I can not fault this hotel its beautiful with lovely pool area & the food is beyond excellent!
The rooms are nice with plenty of storage and lovely bathroom!
The spa facilities are excellent & fairly reasonable for 5* hotel!
Most nights they have live
entertainment which is great!
My only criticism was the staff although mostly friendly they lacked customer service,especially the ladies at breakfast seems they dont want to be there and dont even smile!
Apart from that excellent hotel would stay again!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laila54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Great hotel with very good service, nice food and a fantastic beach. Be aware of the beach boys though. Can be pretty enoing....

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in a balcony room, with partial ocean views. Located about 20km north of mombasa, along a stretch of white sandy beach with the most beautiful turquoise water. Room nicely furnished. bathroom a bit dark, but clean. Important not to leave balcony doors open when you're out, due to the sneaky monkeys roaming around the resort. One can take wind-surfing lessons there, among other things. For cheaper internet, get out of the resort and walk down the road to the local shops. Will be much more reasonable than the extortionist price they charge in the resort, ie. usd24/hr. All in all, perfect place to relax

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Dee0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We had booked to go to Lamu but due to circumstances we were moved to the Serena Beach. We received a warm welcome and were checked in very quickly and efficiently. The rooms were well equipped and comfortable - very welcome air conditioning and a good sized bathroom with a shower and bath. The staff were very friendly and anxious to make sure that they were making your stay as comfortable as possible. You didnt even get the chance to move your sunbed as there was always someone there to do it for you! I was stung by a jelly fish and needed a doctor. He arrived within 45 minutes and provided me with the medication I needed. The pool was fantastic - the bar stools in the water were very useful!! The grounds were well maintained and the free coffee and tea from the cafe on the lawn was a nice touch. My only criticism was that there was a large group of corporate guests having a team building weekend and they took over the pool at times and were very noisy. I also booked a massage in the spa but they were running late and I had to cancel as the rest of the party were waiting to go to dinner. The spa seems very popular so if you want any treatments I suggest you book them as soon as you arrive.
The food was great and lots of variety - especially breakfast - Watch out for the monkeys who eye up your breadbuns!!
The entertainment in the hotel is good. We really enjoyed the Kenyan night. The meal in the fish restaurant was delicious - shame it isnt part of the half board arrangement (you do get a discount)
The hawkers on the beach are friendly but it is a bit off putting as as soon as you venture onto the sands they are around you. If you just say no-thankyou politely they leave you alone.. until the next time!
I would recommend the Serena Beach as the odd niggles I mentioned were easily outweighed by the positives. Thankyou to the staff for their excellent service.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northerntribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanzu
2.0 km away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
552 reviews
0.2 km away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
2.6 km away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 60 in Mombasa
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
EnglishPoint Hotel
EnglishPoint Hotel
#18 of 60 in Mombasa
72 reviews
9.7 km away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
3.1 km away
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 90352, Shanzu, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Shanzu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Shanzu
Price Range: €161 - €359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Serena Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the shimmering sands and waters of the Indian Ocean stretching before it, amidst verdant, bougainvillea-filled gardens, and shaded by gently swaying palm trees,Serena Beach Resort and Spa offers the ultimate tropical paradise. Treat your palate to a superb selection of of a la carte seafood dishes at the Jahazi Grill which is set on a beach and styled to resemble an Arab dhow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serena Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Beach Hotel Shanzu
Serena Beach Hotel And Spa
Hotel Serena Beach
Serena Beach Resort & Spa Kenya/Shanzu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing