We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good seafood”

Sea Haven Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Shanzu
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Description: Welcome to our restaurant! We offer a wide range of specialties that include seafood, fish, steaks, oriental curries & takeaway. We have been in operation since Nov. 1982, apart from a brief spell of three years between 2008 and 2010 when we were closed for major renovation. We now have a very well structured restaurant with an air conditioned dining hall which can hold a conference for about 80 pax and various levels of sea view terraces where you can sit comfortably day or night and enjoy our truly mouthwatering cuisine. Our fully stocked bar will serve you with cold drinks, wines and spirits and fresh juices to accompany your meal. The atmosphere is relaxing with piped background music. You can approach us either from the Mombasa - Malindi Highway or directly from the beach through our well-built beach steps at low tide. We can accommodate your next catering event. Our well trained chefs will be at hand for any occasion such as special birthday parties, wedding or company parties.
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to our restaurant! We offer a wide range of specialties that include seafood, fish, steaks, oriental curries & takeaway. We have been in operation since Nov. 1982, apart from a brief spell of three years between 2008 and 2010 when we were closed for major renovation. We now have a very well structured restaurant with an air conditioned dining hall which can hold a conference for about 80 pax and various levels of sea view terraces where you can sit comfortably day or night and enjoy our truly mouthwatering cuisine. Our fully stocked bar will serve you with cold drinks, wines and spirits and fresh juices to accompany your meal. The atmosphere is relaxing with piped background music. You can approach us either from the Mombasa - Malindi Highway or directly from the beach through our well-built beach steps at low tide. We can accommodate your next catering event. Our well trained chefs will be at hand for any occasion such as special birthday parties, wedding or company parties.
Reviewed 25 October 2021 via mobile

Delicious seafood, excellent service, a great view and best of all a very calm romantic atmosphere. I had oysters to start then seafood platter. Very good value and very fresh.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank 227Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2021 via mobile

This is my favorite redtaurant in all of Kenya. Run by a kenyan hudband and his german wife, both kind, intelligent enjoyable people to be around. While that is nice, the food is still the star of the show. My personal favorite is marinated shrimp in a giant, perfectly ripe, avocado. For my entree I typically get a mix of seafood in a cheasy creamy sauce serve in a shell dish. Everything Ive had here has been fantastic. For context I have been to the top 10 restaurants on here and feel this is the best of all of them.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank E8384PZjasonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 August 2021

Very expensive

A plate of Fries Kshs 600/- and that also you can count the fries by looking at them.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank 597severuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 June 2021

Ordered prawns with chipps,Exactly counted got 8 pcs small ones double portion for myself and girlfriend.Chipps as well few pcs.Bill 6000 KSchls,equivalent 60 USA $ couldnt believe when saw the bill.Except view everything is very very poor,would not recomend to noone definitelly.If quality I would not comment,know what is good restaurant but this one ones and never again,be aware

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 June 2021 via mobile

Delicious seafood and a great view plus friendly service, what more could you ask for? Our family of four including a teenager and one younger stopped for lunch after visiting Mombasa. Ginger crab, prawns, and fish and chips were all very tasty. Sitting out in the breeze with a view of the ocean and Nyali was also lovely. Service was prompt and friendly and questions about the menu answered clearly. After lunch the owner came out to chat a bit and share some of the story of the restaurant. A great place for seafood, great service, I would definitely visit again!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Sean962
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
taria545, Owner at Sea Haven Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2021

Thank you so much for your kind review of our establishment,food, service and an amazing view not seen anywhere else in Mombasa..
Thank also for your visit it is these kind of reviews that give us the motivation to even try to do better for the other customers once again, thank you as we look forward to seeing you again in the future..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Haven Restaurant also viewed

Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Sea Haven Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.