We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
37
42
10
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
42
10
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Travelled with our dog who was made very welcome. Generous sized room with good shower facilities. Room very clean with stunning views of the mountains. Also ate dinner here outside on the terrace, good choice of fixed price menus at a reasonable cost. Lovely walk to the village of Sare through the lanes about 20 mins. Breakfast offered a good choice and plentiful. Shame we only stayed one night as we were passing through on route to Spain. Will certainly visit the area again and probably stay at his hotel again. Oh, the beds are a little on the firm side (hard) for our tatste....

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies, suggest book early and you may have more choice, we had the last available room, but no complaints.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasper0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This hotel is old but the rooms were clean and the bathroom good. There was an excellent breakfast and good restaurant. We were hiking the GR 10 and the hotel is close to the trail but further out of Sare than we expected, about a 20 minute walk. Sare and surrounds are beautiful.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Quiet place. Spacious room. Not far from Biarritz and Sare.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierre_Georgette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

30+ minute drive up the mountain from Biarritz. Beautiful scenic drive. Confusing to find this place. Every structure had the same red/white trim. Rustic country feel. Our room was dingy ground level with shutters (no screen). No AC unit. Told us to leave the shutters open for air. Could hear the loud clanging of dishes all hours from kitchen. Flies everywhere! Urine smell in bathroom. Offered us buffet breakfast but declined. Flies all over food. Deducted meal from our bill. Nice people but Language barrier. Only French speaking staff. Very little Spanish, no English. Pretty rustic town. Maybe we are not used to the country lifestyle? Might recommend this place for backpacking friends.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mercado-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2007

Chosen from Logis de France Guide whilst on tour.

Lovely rural location about 1 mile from the centre of Sare one of France's many attractive villages near the Spanish border and due south of Biarittz

Bedrooms were spacious and bathrooms spotless. We 2 couples had two top floor bedrooms each with a balcony.

Breakfast was very good with better than average selection of cheese, fresh fruit, hams, yoghurts breads etc. (no eggs).

The evening meal was similarly of excellent standard.

We paid 61Euro per night B and B which was the cheapest we paid in our French tour and the best accommodation overall.

The proprietors spoke little English but were most accommodating.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naishcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews