We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,000)
Filter reviews
3,000 results
Traveller rating
1,843
767
255
90
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,843
767
255
90
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi on the balcony private beach reef restaurant coral island bamboo bar shuttle bus lighthouse bar superior room cafe andaman phuket town sister hotel light house palm trees steep hill happy hour house restaurant steak night
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 3,000 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights to attend a friend’s wedding. Just of the top, do consider having your wedding here, the wedding planner was fabulous! Rooms were clean, comfortable & spacious with good working air conditioner. The resort has large grounds but walking to the beach was fairly easy & not far (tram was under maintenance). Food at the hotel was good. Do spray mosquito repellent as there were a lot of mozzie biting us! The spa was really good. One thing I do have to comment is on the customer service. I agree with some of the comments that the customer service can be improved; not able to speak English, slow service, not attentive. It was virtually impossible to get any sort of service during breakfast. Breakfast was chaotic and nobody was checked if they had prior breakfast reservations.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank kimchixo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij S, Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018


Thank you for your review for your Wedding stay at Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, for your compliments to our Wedding Planning Service and indeed your recommendation from an observer’s point of view. We are pleased to read that everything went smoothly for the happy couple. Regarding the buffet breakfast service, since all our guests are welcome to take breakfast we do not have a check list at the entrance as you may find in some other hotels. However, I am grateful for your remarks on the service and we will pass your feelings to our F&B Manager. We sincerely hope that you may wish to return independently in the future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket.

Cape and Kantary Hotels supports SOS Children’s Villages and the TSPCA. We do not serve foie gras, birds’ nest or shark’s fin and we stand firmly against the exploitation of Thai elephants for commerce or entertainment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

We have visited Cape Panwa hotel 3 times in total now and I really struggle to find any fault or go elsewhere as it is perfect and an idyllic holiday destination.

We arrived at Cape Panwa hotel on Monday 26th March for a very special occasion - our wedding. We got engaged at Panwa House in October 2015 and our dreams came true when we decided this would be the place we would finally tie the knot.

Arranging a wedding is a hard enough task and so we thought arranging it in Thailand would be difficult and stressful however we were prepared for that. However as it turned out it was really really easy thanks to the awesome Events Organiser - Aom. Anything we asked for we had.

Leading up the wedding I emailed Aom on a regular basis with various wedding arrangement, plans we had for the day, arranged transfers for our guests and arranged trips we wanted to go on. There was absolutely no disappointment everything went perfectly to plan.

As we were there for our wedding and had a large wedding party we were allowed the use of the hotels yacht - Panwa Princess for the day which was absolutely fantastic.

Our wedding day went without a hitch everything was perfect from having our dresses delivered to our respective rooms, flowers, amazing food, excellent service and amazing venue.

I could go on and on about how amazing this hotel is, the staff are kind, friendly, and can't do enough for you, the breakfast is amazing, all the food is amazing, the rooms are beautiful, the setting is out of this world.

I would like to say a massive thank you to all the staff at Cape Panwa hotel, especially Aom, Ken and Thomas for being superb!! We will be back again!!

Room tip: Try and get a Cape Suite in F block with a view of the sea.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CarolineBall-Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij S, Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018


Thank you for expressing so warmly your appreciation of our Events Organiser and her team for their work in preparing your Wedding Day at Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket. It is truly rewarding to read such a satisfied and clearly very happy review of a very special day. Please accept our congratulations once more and we all look forward very much to seeing you both back with us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket.

Cape and Kantary Hotels supports SOS Children’s Villages and the TSPCA. We do not serve foie gras, birds’ nest or shark’s fin and we stand firmly against the exploitation of Thai elephants for commerce or entertainment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

Just had a a week stay in this Super hotel. Breakfast was lovely and ample choice. The staff extremely friendly and helpful with an everlasting smile.Private beach but not sandy all the way. Definitely recommend it. Free Shuttle service down to some beautiful restaurants every 20 minutes till midnight where they also have a small street market every night. Loads of good massage places all the way down to sea level.

Room tip: Quieter rooms at the top with stunning views.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SAQ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij S, Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018


Thank you for your informative and complimentary review of your visit to Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket and for your generous recommendation. We are naturally delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you as well for your kind words on our attentive staff. We genuinely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you both back in the future

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket.

Cape and Kantary Hotels supports SOS Children’s Villages and the TSPCA. We do not serve foie gras, birds’ nest or shark’s fin and we stand firmly against the exploitation of Thai elephants for commerce or entertainment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

we stayed at the Panwa Hotel for 5 days. In F103 The accomodation was fantastic down to the beach bag you could use. A balcony with a hot tub! a clean room. We were on a bed and breakfast only. There was a shuttle bus down to the village, with a local market for food and gifts, a selection of resteraunts and bars. The best meal we had was in The Panwa House which belonged to the Hotel. Situated on the each in an authentic Malaysian house, Light by subdued lighting from when you take the tram down to the resteraunt. Soo romantic good food excellent service what more could you want?
So its time to go home we had to leave early we were given a packed lunch, and on our way. It was not till We boarded the plane that i found I couldn't find my purse. Oh well perhaps I had mispacked it. No, on our return home there was an e mail from the hotel saying that housekeeping had found my purse and handed it in. It held credit cards driving license cash and front door key. I have now received my purse and cannot thank the staff enough ! Honesty is hard to come by especially given peoples wages. So thank you Panwa hotel and staff.

Room tip: Ther are quite a lot of steps, and take shoes you can wear in the sea.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank budgies2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij S, Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018


Thank you for your very heart-warming report on your visit to Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket and for your appreciation of the honesty of our staff. We are naturally very proud of them all for their hard work, their attentiveness and their integrity. In your suite you should have found the beach shoes that we provide for guests who wish to go into the sea at low tide when there is indeed some exposed coral. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed the dining at our award-winning Panwa House Thai Restaurant and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you both back for another romantic break in future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket.

Cape and Kantary Hotels supports SOS Children’s Villages and the TSPCA. We do not serve foie gras, birds’ nest or shark’s fin and we stand firmly against the exploitation of Thai elephants for commerce or entertainment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Having stayed at a Kantary hotel in Chang Mai, we trusted that we would get a good stay at a sister hotel in Phuket.
Cape Panwa is about an hour’s drive from the Airport in the south east of Phuket. As we were arriving mid-morning we e-mailed asking if we could have our room early which the hotel duly delivered. It was also a special occasion for us and the hotel presented us with a cake, a nice touch!
We stayed in a junior suite (in T block) on the third floor with a good sea view. The room was a bit spartan on first appearance but it proved to be very comfortable with efficient air conditioning and a comfortable bed. Toiletries were adequate and everything worked well during our stay with clean towels daily.
The room could do with re-decoration but overall we were comfortable. The only thing lacking was an iron in the room although the hotel offered an ironing room and Diva massage just outside the hotel offered a 24hour (turnaround) laundry service at 70 baht per 2Kg. I'm sure we could have got an iron in the room if we wanted one.
Breakfasts were good (we have had better in Thailand) but during our stay the dining room was pretty busy every morning and not particularly conducive to a quiet relaxing meal. The juices and coffee were good and the egg station expertly run by the lady members of the kitchen; Well done!
We dined most lunchtimes at the Bamboo bar on the beach and found the food excellent. Service is laid back so don’t get upset if it takes a while to sign for/ or pay. Everything we ate was good and were particularly taken by the spinach, ricotta & shrimp pizza. Sandy was entertaining and very efficient.
The beach was only really accessible for swimming at or near high tide and only a small area was sandy and free from rocks/ reef. The only place I could find for snorkelling and viewing the fish was from the Hotel’s pier but the swell didn’t look too inviting so I didn’t swim nor did I see anyone else do so.
We dined at the Top of the reef restaurant for our special occasion. It is formal dining (men wear long pants & shirts with sleeves & no sandals) with the adjoining Otter’s bar serving pre dinner drinks whilst the hotel’s singer played the piano. There is a fixed or a la carte menu. We chose the a la carte with lobster salad & crab bisque starters. Our mains were lamb & sole. All were beautifully presented and accompanied with amuse bouche & sorbets. This was really up there with the best special occasion meals we have ever had. It is a shame that the restaurant was fairly empty and lacking too much atmosphere. The maître d’hôtel was very formal and he turned out to be quite amusing belying his gruff exterior. I can thoroughly recommend this restaurant with a great view from the balcony & considering what we ate & drank was far less than we would pay in a mediocre restaurant in the UK.
If you go to the Cape Panwa I would suggest you visit, even if it for a pre-dinner drink!
We ate at the Café Andaman one evening and enjoyed it but for being too close to the hotel trio band who could have played with more decorum. If you dine here I suggest you ask for a table furthest from the band. Their musical ability is ok but they really need a proper singer!
We visited the lighthouse bar most evenings & it livened up at happy hour (930-1030) with the same live band relocating here after 10. Thank goodness hotel guests took over some of the singing on a couple of nights. Simon (Mr Chow) was the waiter who amused the guests.
We also ate at Laem Panwa in the village & adjoining the sister hotel, Kantary Bay. This provided simple Thai dishes & we enjoyed dining outdoors there. Again don’t expect attentive service after your first order but relax & wait, we found this was consistent in everywhere we ate in Phuket.
The hotel runs a constant gratis bus service to the village which is much appreciated as the whole area, hotel, beach access and local access road can be challenging for anyone but especially for those with limited mobility but the hotel do as much as they can to facilitate this including a funicular railway down to the beach.
The village is a 5 minute bus ride away with numerous dining options as well as convenience stores.
Immediately outside the Hotel is Diva massage that we visited daily and ranged from 300 baht for a foot massage (1 hour) or Aloe Vera massage for 600 baht. Good, polite & efficient we enjoyed this place but we chose to book the next day’s treatment as this place gets pretty busy.
The staff were all very polite & obliging & they appreciated our stumbling few words of Thai. Our room was kept clean & well supplied during our stay.
Overall, we enjoyed Cape Panwa Hotel & although it didn’t have the wow factor we have seen in previous stays in Thailand it was pretty good. The guests were a mixture of Chinese, Korean, Russian & a minority it seems of Europeans. Never the twain shall meet!
Given the obvious popularity of this hotel it takes quite a battering & looks a bit tired in places. It is in a quiet area away from the madness of Phuket in general (which is not a place we would visit again) & for that reason we would say it was good with reservations as stated above.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skdcitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij S, Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018


Thank you for sending us such a long and comprehensive review of your visit to Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket and we were pleased to read that you also enjoyed one of our sister properties in Chiang Mai. It was very kind of you to mention it. After such a mammoth effort on your part there is very little I can add although I would appreciate the opportunity of re-visiting a couple of the points you raise. Irons and ironing boards are available for guest use in their suites but, for reasons of fire safety and security, particularly where children may be present, we prefer guests to take advantage of the dedicated ironing rooms. More information on this can be obtained from Reception or our Housekeeping staff. Thank you very much indeed for your recommendation of our Top of the Reef fine-dining restaurant and your compliments to our staff. You mentioned your impression of the composition of our guest base; we welcome guests from around the world but I must say that our guests are predominantly European and particularly so our regularly returning guests. Should you ever decide to return after all to this quiet corner of Phuket, I can assure you that you would both be most welcome.

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket.

Cape and Kantary Hotels supports SOS Children’s Villages and the TSPCA. We do not serve foie gras, birds’ nest or shark’s fin and we stand firmly against the exploitation of Thai elephants for commerce or entertainment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews