We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cape Panwa Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,809)
Filter reviews
2,809 results
Traveller rating
1,711
721
249
86
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,711
721
249
86
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachjacuzzi on the balconyreef restaurantcoral islandshuttle busbamboo barsuperior roomlighthouse barsister hotelphuket towncafe andamanlight househouse restaurantsteak nightsteep hillcable carpalm trees
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,666 - 1,671 of 2,809 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2012

this hotel is excellent we had an amazing stay, food good beach was beautiful staff were were good especially on the beach, couldn't do enough to help you, spa is out of this world worth every penny ( not too expensive compared to UK either ) came back relaxied and refreshed

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happy188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I spent a week at the Cape Panwa Hotel (5-12 February 2012), there to attend a family wedding. We had booked a Cape Suite and stayed in C410, which was the room on the top left corner overlooking the swimming pool (and above the restaurant) with a jacuzzi, and with a partial view (obscured by the building in front) to the beach and ocean. The rooms with odd numbers (ie C409 etc) looked to have lovely views back across the port. The rooms themselves are very nice. They are large, with contemporary decor and look exactly as they do on the hotel website. The bathroom was immaculate and modern too (perhaps recently updated based on some other comments?), and there's lots of storage in the entry/kitchen area. Even though we were above the restaurant, where there is a band most evenings, we had no noise problems. And it was convenient being so close to the restaurant and reception. Our balcony was bathed in sun most of the day, so I didn't use it. I noticed that the rooms in the floor below lost the sun much sooner, and so saw a lot of people relaxing and enjoying their balconies in the afternoon.

The grounds are nice and spacious, and the beach is not crowded, and has nice white sand. After visiting Patong one day, the private beach at Cape Panwa is secluded bliss in comparison! When the tide is out, there are lots of rocks and you can't really swim (though there is a path out over the rocks), but the hotel provides details in your room of the times it is best to swim. Once we figured that out, we enjoyed the sea, in between relaxing in the garden under the palms with a drink. If you're going to do this, you really need to get to the garden by 11 am or before, as the guests from the Kantary Bay all arrive and claim the loungers, as do other guests, and so there are often very few left. The pool was a good place to relax later in the afternoon/evening, when the sun had left it. Although it heats up so much it actually wasn't always that refreshing! The frozen drinks available there - the mango smoothies were delicious - make up for that.

We used the Spa services a couple of times, and found the service to be very friendly, and the Spa to be pleasant, with nice-sized rooms, and double rooms available if you wanted them. My husband (an self-proclaimed expert on traditional Thai massages) enjoyed the Thai massage he had, and I had a foot massage and aromatherapy massage, both enjoyable, but nothing spectacular. They were reasonably priced.

The overall property is a little dated, and although it is supposed to be 5 star, it is definitely at the lower end of 5 star properties I've stayed at. That said, the size of the rooms and the extent of the facilities are extremely good value for the price.

We ate mainly at the main restaurant (Andaman), as the menu appeared little different from Baan Panwa, or Panwa House (the Thai restaurant). It was okay, and the service was prompt and friendly. But I felt the Thai food menu was limited and unimaginative - pretty much what you see in any Thai restaurant anywhere in the world. (We've lived in Thailand in the past, and so know Thai food) We also ate at the Sawasdee restaurant at the bottom of the hill in the small shopping area, and the food there is similar, a bit better, and definitely cheaper. In the little shopping area (the shuttle takes you over the hill, or you can walk if you're keen!), there is a trading post where you can buy drinks and snacks and basic supplies, a night market, and during the day you can get barbecued chicken skewers and sticky rice, and also somdum (which is always good) in the afternoons/evening. Didn't get a chance to eat at Top of the Reef, though we had hoped we would - the views looked wonderful and the air-conditioning would have been a relief at times!

We had rented a car from the airport for the week, and this gave us added freedom, but it isn't necessary, and if you've never driven in Thailand before, we probably wouldn't recommend it. Phuket roads are not well sign-posted, the maps are generally poor, and there are so many taxis available it's just as easy not to drive.

The wedding was delightful - with the exception of all the almost-naked-tourists standing gawking, and getting in our shots of the happy couple! The hotel did a great job of organising it, and the setting in front of Panwa House was lovely. The baby elephant visit was a novelty, and the fireworks and dinner under the moonlight in the evening were a highlight. We all had a great time.

The weekend midnight markets in Phuket Town were busy, but if you hadn't been into Patong, and enjoy shopping, these are fun. I loved them simply for the array of Thai food they had available.

Cape Panwa is a long way from any night life, but if you want a relaxing holiday in pleasant surroundings, for a (in my view) very reasonable price, this is a very good choice.

I've just read the review titled "Peaceful setting, amid a manic nation" of January 2 2012, and have to agree with pretty much everything they said.

Room Tip: In C block, rooms with an odd number have better views.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Just returned from Thailand and stayed at Cape Panwa for 10 nights for a chill out time before Bangkok and were not disappointed with the facilities. had a 2 bedroom suite with friends near to the beach and it was great.
Did eat out every night as so many good places within a short taxi ride. Locally, Sea Breeze and Sabai Sabai and a bit further Ship Inn. However we really enjoyed the Beach Bar seafood restaurant just a bit further along from the Ship.
If you are scuba divers and expect the dive club to be on site, don't be fooled! They come for an hour or so on 3 afternoons to allow people to have a go in the pool. This is the main thing we were disappointed with because to dive there was a mini bus trip to Phuket town 45 mins away and at least a 2hour boat ride [Sea Beas Divers] to get to an average site. We ended up doing just one day's diving. Didn't even check our PADI qualifications!!!!!!
Otherwise good holiday

Room Tip: Get one away from pool
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MICHAEL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed here from Feb 1 for 11 nights with my husband. The first room they offered us was above the main restaurant which we declined as we weren't sure how quiet it would have been, they quickly and without fuss offered us a lovely quiet room S421. The room was adequate size but the bathroom was very small and the toilet was stained, there were hairs in the bath and the balcony furniture was never cleaned. The air conditioning only worked with the room key and since we were only issued with one key you couldn't cool the room until you were back in it at which point it was 30 degrees and took at least 30 mins to cool off. The bathroom had no air conditioning and was stifling.
If you are prone to mosquito bites then this place is not for you, everybody seemed to have bites and some had stings from the sea lice too. I had plug ins in the room and used 50% deet but still got bitten 10 times a record for me. The loungers in the garden could do with being replaced with new comfy mattresses as they were very firm to say the least, I had to use two mattresses. The beach towels were plentiful and not limited to one each which was good. We always managed to get a lounger and sun shade without any trouble. The average age of the people staying does tend to be on the older side which suited us fine.
They did give us a lovely cake for my husbands birthday without me having to prompt them which was a nice touch. The breakfast was very extensive and hot. We didn't eat in the hotel for lunch or dinner as it was 750 bhats +17% tax each for the Dinner and at Sahib Sahib restaurant just outside the hotel gate we never paid more than 500 bhats for two of us with drinks. The food was very tasty and always cooked fresh to order with so much choice we always struggled to make a decision about what to have and were never disappointed what ever we chose. There are two Family Mart supermarkets a short walk away where you can buy cola and crisps etc for lunch at a very small cost. In the evening at the bottom of the hill there is a small street market which serves both the locals and tourists.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PriorityClubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Our main idea of this holiday was just to relax in such a quiet and beautiful place. The distant location from the busiest tourist areas of Phuket was a plus for us. No noise from cars or motorbikes will disturb your sleep! However there is not 100% silence at night because of screams of various birds, cats or maybe monkeys living in gardens surrounding the hotel area.

We had a junior suite in block "U" overlooking two bays and some mountains. From the balcony we could see "The Big Buddha" on the top of a mountain, highlighted at night. The room was spacious enough and, in my opinion, tastefully decorated.

Breakfast were great: from fresh fruits and croissants to fried sausages, rice and hot noodles. The hotel's restaurants were OK but a bit pricey. Our favorite ones were "Laem Panwa" for its grilled fresh fish and "Uncle Nan's" - perfect for switching from thai food to traditional pasta.

The hotel's beach was sandy and clean. Sunbeds were under the shadow of trees. One day it was hard to find a free sunbed after 11 a.m.

The only drawback was that the sea was not always clear. Of course it was not the fault of the hotel, but some days we saw some plastic bags and wrappings floating from the sea to the beach. I am not sure but that could happen because of low tides which are often in that bay. Anyway in the hotel's room and at lobby there was a schedule of the recommended time (from 9 to 2 hrs a day) for swimming in the sea.

The hotel offered daily speed boat trips to the Coral island (THB500 a person) that was located not too far from the coast. The trip took half a day and we enjoyed swimming in crystal waters near the island.

We really enjoyed our stay at Cape Panwa and we would like to thank the hotel's staff for excellent service and politeness!

If we go back to the south of Phuket some day we will be glad to stay at Cape Panwa again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maxx_smart_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews