We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$220
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Code(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$124
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hacienda Beach Resort(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$51
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amarin Samui Hotel(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
US$39
US$33
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florist Resort(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinnacle Resort Samui(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
US$168
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco Palm Beach Resort(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$62/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fair House Villas & Spa(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
US$200
US$160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Beach Resort(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
US$198
US$165
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Napasai(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
US$381
US$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (917)
Filter reviews
917 results
Traveller rating
763
105
27
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
763
105
27
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssantiburi resortgarden villabeach restaurantthai restaurantleading hotels of the worldsports complexrim talaykids clubjuice barbeach staffkoh samuiplunge poolbeach boyspalm treesmoment you arriveexcellent resortlittle touches
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 917 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Visited the Santiburi in September 2017 and stayed in a pool villa.

First the positives:

The resort is set in extensive and well maintained gardens/grounds which are a pleasure to walk around. The resort also has direct access to a beautiful beach with great views. The hotel provides many toys etc for kids on the beach, which is a nice touch.

The pool villas are large (with a bed and a large seating area in one room and a large bathroom in another room) and, if you get the right ones, private. Note however that some of the villas seem to have patios which are open to the resort grounds so less private.

There is also a main pool in the resort which is huge and well equipped with children’s toys etc.

The staff are attentive and helpful and always willing to help. Housekeeping are also very good.

The beach front bar and restaurant (The Beach House) is lovely. We really enjoyed sitting and watching the sunset in this restaurant in the evening. The decor is modern and up to date and they had a live jazz player on one of the nights when we stayed.

The negatives are:

The resort is quite old, and it shows in places (for example the front plate of an electric socket fell off into my hands when I tried to plug a phone charger in on the first day of our visit and there was ingrained dirt around the shower and bath in our villa) and the decor in some parts of the hotel (particularly the breakfast room and Thai restaurant) looks very dated.

The food is expensive and the quality of the food is average. We had breakfast in the breakfast room which is near to the lobby - it has no sea view and very little outdoors seating. There was a good selection of food but the quality was not great and not what I would expect from a 5 star hotel. The lay out of the breakfast room is also pretty odd. The pastries and cereal etc. are inside the room but you have to go outside to another area for cooked food (omelettes etc). You also have to walk out of the room and across a courtyard to a stall outside of the main swimming pool to get juice. This is not exactly user friendly as it takes about five minutes just to get an orange juice! The floor of the breakfast room also looks pretty old and looked worn with ingrained dirt. Personally I think it would be much better if they moved breakfast so that it was served in The Beach House restaurant so that guests could have breakfast overlooking the sea and have the benefit of more modern furniture and decor.

The food in the Thai restaurant was very good, as was the service. However, as mentioned above the decor was tired and old fashioned. If they fixed this, it would be a great restaurant.

The room service was quick and the staff who brought the food were attentive and helpful. However the quality of food was pretty poor, which was disappointing as it was also expensive.

Overall I felt the Santiburi could do better and wasn’t great value for money.The rates (and cost of food, drink etc.) are the same or slightly higher than other five star hotels I have stayed at in Koh Samui (such as the Sala and Rasananda) but the quality of the resort and food falls well below the standards in those resorts.




Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank Interalios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantiburiGR, Guest Relations Manager at Santiburi Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Interalios,
thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time and efforts to explain all the positives and areas of improvement in your very detailed feedback. It is also worth to say that all your comments, both positive and constructive, are appreciated and taken into consideration. We were glad to read that there were actually many aspects of the holiday which you liked, as our beach and the garden, the pool and the villa. Great to know that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.
We sincerely regret to fail by making you happy on the quality of accomodation, food and value for money. But we do care about your experience, so please be sure that every mentioned above point has been reviewed by our management. We do hope you will honor us with a return visit to our property and allow us the opportunity to show you the improvements we have made.

Warm regards,
Tanya
Senior Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Grand Deluxe Villa room was just near from the beach. Everything just great. Wonderful staffs, beautiful and quiet private beach, in the nature and quite villa, moody and perfect dinner at beachside restaurant, good breakfast with so many kinds of breads, and nice amenities... I stayed with my husband and he just loved there so we're sure we will stay Santiburi again.

Room Tip: Grand Deluxe Villas are keeping private garden with trees
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Yoko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantiburiGR, Guest Relations Manager at Santiburi Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Yoko H,
we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Grand Delux Villa and loved our beach, the food in the beach restaurant and breakfasts.
It is a pleasure to know that our team played an important role in making your stay a welcoming and relaxing experience.
Thank you for considering us a" best hotel ever". We would be glad to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Tanya
Senior Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Big hotel, so luxurious. large pool area, and excellent spa. We had a loft room very private and conveniently close to the pool and restaurant. the breakfast was great. Overall i love this place the hotel is one of the best I’ve stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samantaleeyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantiburiGR, Guest Relations Manager at Santiburi Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear samantaleeyang,
than k you for visiting our hotel and for writing about your experience with us. We are happy to know that the holiday met and exceeded your expectations. It is our pleasure to read that you enjoyed the facilities of the resort, breakfast and Spa.
It will be our pleasure to have you as our guests again.

Warm regards,
Tanya
Senior Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Wonderful villa, beautiful territory, beautiful beach, perfect cooking. Very attentive personal. Perfect 5-star hotel. Here you would swim normally during low tide. Sea all around Samui, including Santibyry is calm with no waves.
You could also find shops and other restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Villa with private pool is extremely comfortable
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yury23453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantiburiGR, Guest Relations Manager at Santiburi Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Yury23453,
thank you for praising us with your kind review. Your satisfaction with the holiday is the best reward for our efforts. We are happy to read that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay. Once again, thank you for your feedback.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Warmest regards,
Tanya
Senior Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

The most high quality resort we have ever stayed at. Amazing service and fabulous views! The breakfast was awesome and very robust. Also the massages on site were great. I would absolutely recommend this!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantiburiGR, Guest Relations Manager at Santiburi Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Dear Nate K,
thank you for sharing this wonderful review and for recommending Santiburi Resort Beach & Spa here on Tripadvisor. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the holiday with us to the fullest. Great to know that you loved the breakfasts, the massages and our service.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back one day again.

Sunny regards,
Tanya
Senior Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews