We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent-Superb”
Review of Chervil Restaurant

Chervil Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 24 Restaurants in Xemxija
Price range: US$40 - US$63
Cuisines: European
Description: Chervil restaurant is located in a quiet peaceful area in the heart of Xemxija,classy enviorment professional service and offers the most fresh high quality ingredients in its concept,menu changes frequently, depends what's in season.Kitchen is managed by chef Joseph which now is delivering his signature dishes that are marvelous after years of experience.Reserve your table few days in advance and your experience will never fail.
Restaurant details
Description: Chervil restaurant is located in a quiet peaceful area in the heart of Xemxija,classy enviorment professional service and offers the most fresh high quality ingredients in its concept,menu changes frequently, depends what's in season.Kitchen is managed by chef Joseph which now is delivering his signature dishes that are marvelous after years of experience.Reserve your table few days in advance and your experience will never fail.
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

On this third visit I was again impressed by chef Joseph's culinary expertise, good, genuine, mouthwatering food and attentive service at very competitive prices, Keep it up and well done.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

We visited on a damp Friday evening and were surprised to find ourselves as the only customers, although more people arrived later. Strangely the lack of people did not mean a lack of atmosphere. We were warmly welcomed and immediately seated. The menu was not extensive but had enough choice. They concentrate on dishes they can produce consistently well. An excellent soup, accompanied by a delicious home-made loaf ( we asked to take the rest home it was so good! ) followed by tasty starters then delicious lamb and finally a chocolate dessert with a melting centre.
Servings were copious and hot and our server was attentive and genial throughout.
The wine list was adequate and, like the food, was very good value.
Our first visit but definitely not our last. We will be back there in early August.
Well worth a visit!

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank STEVEWALKER55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Food, delicious & great value for money . Staff friendly & helpful. Ambience good. Will definitely recommend & re-visit.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank MalcolmF251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

We booked for Sunday lunch. We were presented with a menu with no prices. We realised it was probably a set menu and asked for the price. When requesting the a la carte menu, to our disappointment were told that they only serve the set menu and told us the price. The waitress was surprised we didn't know. There was no indication on the website and neither were we informed when we booked. Since it was 13.30 we decided to settle for the set menu. The starter choice was poor for those who are neither fish or mushroom lovers. We had to wait for about an hour till we were served, although the restaurant was more than half empty. Most of the starters were good. Then another long wait for the main course - well after 15.30. We all ordered ribeye but were served a different cut of meat. Very poor presentation of vegetables accept for the potatoes. When I drew the attention of waitress that what we had been served wasn't ribeye, she was very impolite. I don't know whom they are trying to fool stating it was ribeye with not single trace of fat where it should be. It was a cheap cut of beef with no herbs at all. We took fondant for dessert which was good.
We felt irritated by the fact that we weren't informed by the change in menu, presenting meat which wasn't as stated on the menu, the long long waiting time and the coldness verging on arrogance of the waitress.

We won't be returning for sure.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBVV, Manager at Chervil Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Hello Mrs Christine M, I would like to say thanks for your visit firstly, unfortunately concept didn't match with your expectations that turned into disappointment. I apologise for the waiting if one can call it like that! ! Just two little points I would like to make a note on with your experience. 1) would be a good decision if you didn't stay for something that you weren't looking for, because as happened even if food or service is good you won't appreciate it. 2) on our Web site there is nowhere writen that we cater for gluten free ! Our kitchen is not adjusted for that,so someone has to take extra care to accommodate the customer with least problems and that takes time to make sure avoiding contamination ! with your booking order at least advice that you are going to ask for gluten free options, because you did not do that, other people advice me ahead.. and some other thing from our side about the set menu the past five months we were serving that and we satisfied many people. And we decided to keep it going aspecialy on busy days. So Mrs Christine thanks again for your time to write review I hope my response help you to make it easy in restaurants visits.

best regards
Chef Joseph


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Beautifull atmosphere and food is to die for. Love this place <3 Very bigg meals and amaizing presentation of food. Stuff with a smile. Good value for the food. My favorite is desert CHOCOLAT FONDANT, the best in Malta. You need to come and try all that divine food :)

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank milja2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chervil Restaurant also viewed

Xemxija, Island of Malta
 
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
Xemxija, Island of Malta
 
Mellieha, Island of Malta
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
 

Been to Chervil Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing