We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Natasha P
London, United Kingdom

Does what it says on the tin

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Aug 2017via mobile
After reading some of the reviews on here i was slightly concerned but then i realised some people expect far too much for what you are paying.
It is after all a 3 star hotel so when booking in i was under no illusions and always start with an open mind.
Booking in was a breeze, the receptionist (Joanna i think) was very lovely and very helpful. We had arrived early but she was able to get us in our rooms with only a very short wait.
Both rooms were on the ground floor which didnt bother us we had a lovely big patio, basically twice the size of the other floors. The rooms although spacious need to be more cleverly utilised, space was wasted in certain places. For example, there was an unused area between the wall and shower in the bathroom, that you could simply have made the shower bigger. Speaking of the shower, great power shower, hot water all day, never an issue.
My only criticism is the run off from all the balconies above is not long enough and the water drips down onto the patio which can make it dangerously slippy for the guests on the ground floor. Something they need to rectify as we had to keep putting a towel down.
TV remotes are a €10 deposit, no problem there.
Safe was a €10 euro deposit with a charge of €2 per day, something i am not used to but this is where you have to remember it is only a 3 star hotel.
Rooms are not cleaned every day (think its once every 5 days, including towel change). Again we didnt find this a problem as we keep our rooms fairly tidy. When we asked for new towels they were happy to oblige and even cleaned the rooms as well.
As we had a late flight we were able to find out on the day of departure if we could keep a room till later, which we could for an extra €25 and you can keep it till whenever you leave which was very handy meaning we could enjoy our last day at the pool. Even if we couldnt they do have a luggage room and showers anyway but i felt much happier having the privacy of our room.
The pool is over the road, i really dont see the problem with this at all.
There are quite a few broken sun loungers, as this was the start of the summer season this should not have been a problem, this does need to be fixed.
They also lose points with me when it came to the locals. I do understand that hotels also rely on the locals using their facilities but sometimes it does feel at the cost of visitors. Especially at the weekends the locals arrive in large groups, early and you have a very hard time finding any beds, especially round the pool. Reception needs to make guests aware of this then its their choice whether to get up earlier to get around the pool or not. They can also be on the loud side and tend to congregate (mainly the older women) around the steps of the pool making it difficult for you to get in and out. Lastly they really need to make sure the locals are paying for the facilities as we saw quite a few sneaking in and bringing their own food and drink (which is part of their day package).
Other than that we had a very enjoyable time here and would happily return.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PortoAzzurro, Guest Relations Manager at Porto Azzurro Aparthotel, responded to this review
Responded 16 Aug 2017
Dear Natasha,

Thank you for choosing our Porto Azzurro Hotel for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy that had a positive experience and are delighted that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, especially your spacious room with balcony and the services provided by our team.

We also appreciate you bringing to our attention some of your observations you encountered during your stay. Your comments, encourage us in all aspects to reach even greater heights. We shared your feedback with our management and we'll utilize them in our continued efforts to provide our guests' pleasant experiences.

I wish to take this opportunity to thank you for the detailed review you have made of our Porto Azzurro hotel, this is very impressive. We hope your next stay is just around the corner.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you need any assistance with your booking arrangements. Until your next visit, stay in touch with us, subscribe to our free newsletter on our website, or, let's connect on Porto Azzurro Facebook fan page where we share our latest promotions, hotel updates and much more.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Porto Azzurro Aparthotel
Free parking
Pool
€130
€120
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    €130
0.1 km from Porto Azzurro Aparthotel
Kids Pool - Porto Azzurro
€108
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    €108
  • Vio.com
    €83
  • Hotels.com
    €97
0.0 km from Porto Azzurro Aparthotel
Free parking
Pool
€281
    1.7 km from Porto Azzurro Aparthotel
    €102
    • Expedia.com
      €121
    • Vio.com
      €92
    • Hotels.com
      €121
    2.1 km from Porto Azzurro Aparthotel
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    €121
    • Expedia.com
      €145
    • Vio.com
      €104
    • Hotels.com
      €145
    2.1 km from Porto Azzurro Aparthotel
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    €160
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      €142
    • Vio.com
      €132
    • Priceline
      €143
    2.2 km from Porto Azzurro Aparthotel
    Pool
    Restaurant
    €172
    Fully refundable
    • StayForLong
    • Agoda.com
      €172
    • Vio.com
      €172
    2.6 km from Porto Azzurro Aparthotel
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    €227
    • Expedia.com
      €258
    • Agoda.com
      €191
    • Hotels.com
      €258
    2.2 km from Porto Azzurro Aparthotel
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    €210
    €104
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      €104
    • Expedia.com
      €160
    • Hotels.com
      €121
    2.6 km from Porto Azzurro Aparthotel
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    View more hotels in Xemxija
    Reviews (1,864)
    Filter reviews
    1,864 results
    Traveller rating
    415
    669
    404
    198
    178
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    415
    669
    404
    198
    178
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews alexis meylaq self catering the bus roman road heritage trail reception staff outdoor pool quiet area the penthouse convenience store public transport hotel is situated relaxing holiday bed apartment cleaned every day plenty of sunbeds blue lagoon
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    421 - 426 of 1,864 reviews
    Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

    Pool - water looked a bit dodgy - used it once.

    Pool bar - fly infestedand dirty had one drink and never returned.

    Indoor pool/gym - never used.

    Reception - clean and nice and cool, decor and furniture getting a bit tatty. Free Wifi here only.

    Restaurant - never used in evening. Can't comment.

    Breakfast (in restaurant) - I thought was reasonable selection and quality for five euro. Wife thought it was disgusting. Hot Sausage, bacon, scrambled egg, toast, cold meats cheese, cereal, fruit, tea coffee all avalable on self-serve basis.

    Room - we had 409 which we were told was a time share apartment. We liked it, reasonably modern and clean, well equipped. Balcony ability small but adequate for the two of us to dry Some clothes and to enjoy a glass or two. Decor getting a bit tatty.

    Room cleaning - poor, only cleaned/changed towels etc once in a week not what you would expect any where really.

    Staff - all seemed friendly and helpful whenever needed

    Supermarket - complete rip off, avoid if you value your cash. They should be wearing masks. I paid for some ice cream with a 20 euro note and the man serving pulled a ridiculous face like I'd just done the toilet on his counter. He then threw the change down on the counter without so much as a thank you. Very ignorant idiot who really needs taught a lesson.

    Location - we liked it. Avoided the pool for earlier stated reasons but used Beachaven lido, just across the main road and up the hill a hundred yards or so, lovely place. Good few places to swim in the sea if you don't mind rocks, also just across the road which we loved. Supermarket on main road just round the corner is excellent, very well stocked and reasonably priced. It also appears to have the best air conditioning on the island!!!! Limited places to eat and drink near by but the bus stop is again on the main road just at the bottom of the hill. Buses are cheap and easy to work out.

    I think we will return to Malta but not perhaps to Porto Azzurra.

    Date of stay: August 2017
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Allan B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 August 2017

    Once again was happy to be back in my favourite place.All the staff are friendly & will always help you in whatever way is needed.Alexis will oversee any problems that the receptionists cant. I`ve wrote so many reviews & don't wish to keep repeating myself, but only that I was happy with my room & any faults I found were quickly rectified. If more guests maybe talked their grievancies through with either the receptionists or Alexis,then just maybe if it`s possible,they too would be rectified sooner for them. For me personally I love being at PortoAuzzurro love the tranquillity & plenty of buses nearby to get you around the island.

    Room tip: In Summer poolside rooms
    Date of stay: May 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank pma192
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    PortoAzzurro, Guest Relations Manager at Porto Azzurro Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

    Dear Returning Guest,

    Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to be your choice hotel and for taking the time to review your stay with us.

    I am happy to note that, you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and are very touched by your compliments of the friendliness and dedication of our Porto Azzurro Team. We make every effort to ensure your stay is to your satisfaction and I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your personal experience and acknowledge our efforts.

    We hope you will add Porto Azzurro Aparthotel to your next holiday schedule and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

    Call us if there is anything we can help you with.

    Kind Regards,
    Alexis Meylaq
    Sales & Guest Relations Manager
    Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 31 July 2017

    I had a personal issue and finally I couldn’t travel to this Hotel in Xemxija with my friend, as scheduled.

    The urgency of the matter didn’t allow us to predict the cancellation of the booking, but at least we could call the day before the deadline. The first surprising thing was that the receptionist urged me to call the day after because nobody was there and she just hung the phone up..

    They did not even reply our mails to study options not to lose -at least- the full amount of the booking. But it was an impossible mission and nothing helped.

    It was an unfriendly and not empathic environment I had to deal with, and of course, without success.

    This experience makes me think deeply about booking in a Hotel without a previous recommendation and be careful of using some online platforms. Everything goes well if there is no unforeseen events.

    Room tip: Try to avoid the unforeseen events.
    Date of stay: July 2017
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    1  Thank cuSilvia
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    PortoAzzurro, Sales & Guest Relations Manager at Porto Azzurro Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

    Dear Guest,

    We thank you for sharing your experience when booking your stay through a third-party website and sorry to hear that your booking did not go as planned.

    We understand that plans sometimes change, for this reason, we always remind our guests to book directly with us. However, when bookings are made through third parties, the communication goes through a third-party agency, it is not managed directly by our staff. This gives us personally less flexibility and freedom to make exceptions, as with your booking. Once you booked your stay through a third party website, all further changes will also need to go first through the agency you booked with. Then, the third party website will inform us about the changes.

    We receive Emails on a daily basis and I am confident that your email was not sent to us directly, especially since you didn't book directly with us. All emails sent on info@portoazzurro.com.mt, would have been replied directly by me and I have not received an Email concerning the change of your travel plans.

    That being said, our cancellation policy was clearly written, that if cancelled or modified up to 3 days before date of arrival, no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally on alexis@portoazzurro.com.mt

    Kind Regards,

    Alexis Meylaq
    Sales & Guest Relations Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

    Stayed for one week in what is supposed to be a 3 star hotel. We were disgusted with the quality and decoration of the service and the rooms. Tea and coffee were not provided in the rooms did have a spoon and kettle though. Rooms were old and in need of repair (see pics below) . Rooms were not cleaned properly daily . Sink and toilet were left dirty, cups were not replaced for clean. No toiletries apart from a small bar of soap. Breakfast was disgusting luke warm food and staff helped them selves with their fingers to melon. Staff were helpful. I would not recommend this hotel and would have moved to a different one if we could have.

    Date of stay: July 2017
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Adventure427020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

    I travel often and I came here with friends for the day. Everything was broken including: deck chairs, tables, pool features, umbrellas and stairs. Even the railings were all rusted. Their drinks were warm and the food we ordered was brought in by two men (the "chefs"): one wearing an apron and flip-flops and no shirt and the other smoking a cigarette over the food. They were pushing the food on a small shopping cart and when the ribs (that we had ordered) slid off the cart he pushed them back with his bare hands that was just pushing the metal cart. We called the manager, he apologized and gave us a refund. We left and went somewhere else, but the little girl who entered the swimming pool became very sick and we had to go home. What a horrible experience!

    Date of stay: July 2017
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    2  Thank Twan132
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

    Dear Guest,

    Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am very disappointed to hear of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We take our guest comments very seriously. We took on board all your comments and were rectified straight away.

    The pool is cleaned on a daily basis and readings are taken daily in order to make sure that the level and quality of the water is up to standard and in line with the health and safety regulations. We are sorry that you were not fully satisfied with your visit for the reasons you have mentioned. I am also sorry that the bar - kitchen team behaved as you described. The person that was smoking is no longer working at the poolbar.

    We can definitely do better, and I would love the opportunity to prove that to you. In case that you will be returning, please do not hesitate to contact me personally on alexis@portoazzurro.com.mt

    Kind Regards,

    Alexis Meylaq
    Sales & Guest Relations Manager
    Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews