We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hazel E

Very welcoming staff.....very clean apartments

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Aug 2016
Arrived at the Porto Azuro to a very welcoming receptionist. Very clean and fresh smelling. Towels and bedding were changed twice a week by very friendly ladies who also emptied the bins so we didn't have to worry about remembering to take out the rubbish everyday. The pool area was kept clean and tidy and the pool was extremely inviting in the heat of the day. It wasn't always possible to get sunbeds by the pool as it was busy, especially on the weekends but with a bit of patience there was usually a couple came empty. There was room on the walls to put towels etc. whilst waiting for sunbeds and having a lovely cooling swim.
The staff in the hotel restaurant, at breakfast, we're also extremely helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble, even when we were late going down one morning and most of the cooked food was gone. They just asked to wait a couple of minutes whilst more was cooked.
I would definately recommend you try this hotel if travelling to Malta. It is set in a nice quiet area but if you hire a car, there is parking available if no car there are plenty of regular buses going past from very early morning til late at night.
Date of stay: July 2016
Room Tip: Best views are looking out over the bay. Airconditioning included. Lifts to all floors.
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Porto Azzurro Aparthotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Porto Azzurro Aparthotel
Free parking
Pool
Kids Pool - Porto Azzurro
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    €99
  • Hotels.com
0.0 km from Porto Azzurro Aparthotel
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
3.6 km from Porto Azzurro Aparthotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
2.7 km from Porto Azzurro Aparthotel
Free Wifi
Contact accommodation for availability.
3.1 km from Porto Azzurro Aparthotel
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
2.2 km from Porto Azzurro Aparthotel
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Xemxija
Reviews (1,864)
Filter reviews
1,864 results
Traveller rating
415
669
404
198
178
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
415
669
404
198
178
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alexis meylaq self catering the bus roman road heritage trail reception staff outdoor pool quiet area the penthouse convenience store public transport hotel is situated relaxing holiday bed apartment cleaned every day plenty of sunbeds blue lagoon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
562 - 567 of 1,864 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2016

The facilities in the hotel are good, and well kept. However, despite the room being spacious, it needed serious updating, not just in decoration but in essentiels: holes in the walls, old insects crushed and left on the alls never cleaned off, dirty air conditioning vent etc. The bathroom was disgusting, mould everywhere, and rusty ceiling. The room was cleaned every day but in a very minimal way : floor still dirty, bath not properly cleaned etc. The staff were in general helpful and kind, the exception being the breakfast staff who were rather rude and shouty to a number of different people, often in response to people asking for a cup or cuttlery, which were often not ready.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Whilst thanking you for your review, we are very sorry to hear that you had a negative experience at the Porto Azzurro.

Should you had reported the room whilst in-house we would have remedied the situation immediately, or changed your room if there was need for the maintenance team's intervention.

We do hope you will give us the opportunity to see you again in the future in order for us to be able to change your impression of the Porto Azzurro,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

I've just spent another week saying at Porto azzuro whilst on Malta working with a local charity and I dont understand all the negative reviews!

It's very clean, has a decent pool with good sun loungers and has decent air con in the rooms.

The hill you have to walk up to get to the hotel isn't as bad as the reviews make out! We were half board and Franko makes a really really good pizza!

Staff were all friendly and nice!

There is 5-6 decent restaurants and a fruit stall and shop all 5-10 min walk away. The chinese up the road is great!

Don't use the hotel shop, water, bread etc etc is literally half price at the shop 5 min walk away!

It's not a 5 star luxurious hotel... But it's not trying to be and isn't priced as one!!

Date of stay: July 2016
1  Thank davidcS7003WR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Stayed for 7 nights . No cot in room on arrival so baby had to sleep with us .as we had an apartment all the air conniving units over flows run on to our balcony not nice .bins only emptied 1 time in seven days bar in hotel not open at all .bits from the balcony above falling down at night . No bar in area open only 2 eating places . Had to get a bus or taxis to the beach or any wear .all the building around derelict do not go would not go back ever went 12/07/16

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tagargett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Whilst thanking you for your review, we are very sorry to hear that you had a negative experience at the Porto Azzurro.

At the Porto Azzurro we provide 2 types of accommodation, Standard Rooms which do not have kitchen facilities but which are cleaned on a daily basis or Self-Catering apartments. However should you have asked for daily cleaning, this would have been provided at a nominal charge.

Next time round, please do come down to speak to us, as should you had requested a cot, we would have loved to provide that also...

We do hope you will give us the opportunity to see you again in the future,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Room tip: Don't get a family suite especially 413 no view and noisy plumbing.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 July 2016

nice clean self catering studio basic equipment 2 burner hob fridge microwave kettle toaster a working aircon the staff are helpful apart from 1 (you will know her from her catchphrase "come back later") location is in a sleepy resort but the bus stop is nearby and transport is very good, small well stocked supermarket down hill a short walk to the left and a vegetable van to the right . safe deposit box and beach towel hire is good value, room cleaned often and fresh towels provided, pool area good.

Date of stay: June 2016
1  Thank M m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews