We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
69
48
9
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
48
9
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private deck homemade muffins her husband continental breakfast small kitchenette toast an older property rooms are clean nova scotia hospitality grounds are lovely wonderful hosts down to earth coffee maker each morning upon check bed was comfortable the main house
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Very clean and comfortable room. Whatever the rooms may or may not lack, the surroundings, view and atmosphere more than make up for it! The breakfast room is large, light and airy with a good choice of food and local coffee, which is delicious. Where else can you be entertained at breakfast by such wonderful and talented hosts as Joanne and her husband Albert. We had such a wonderful time that we requested to stay another night, totally changing our plans and we are so glad we did, we would not have missed this experience for the world. True Nova Scotia hospitality and we were able to do a much needed load of laundry while we were there.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank deniseweller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Wonderful location. Joanne is great! She entertained us at breakfast, playing the guitar and singing! Be sure to grab a homemade blueberry muffin as they come out of her oven! Very clean, and beautiful scenery! Would highly recommend, especially if you are looking for that down home eastern feel!

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank imjlmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne L, General Manager at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

The Hedley House is an old, worn out motor lodge from the 50's or 60's and it doesn't appear much has been done to it since that time. The rooms are dated and worn, bathroom quite small with no place to set anything and furnishings could use replacing. Upon check in we found the floors dirty and never stepped foot on them barefoot. The rooms do have an outdoor balcony overlooking the bay and that was nice. The best part of this motel was the customer service. We were greeted warmly, everyone was friendly and seemed eager to please, breakfast was a continental spread available for a period of time each morning and well stocked (cereals, fresh fruits, cheeses, bagels, homemade muffins, breads, coffee, teas and juices) and with it came live entertainment as the owners would sing to the guests. An otherwise 2star rating was boosted by their efforts to entertain and their friendliness.

Room tip: Rooms are close together and no air conditioning so windows are open allowing you to hear everything outside and around your room.
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne L, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Well i do agree the washrooms are smalls and were looking at ways to try to make them bigger without loosing on room size, however in the 8 years since we have been here we have worked on the rooms every year, we have put private decks in the front of each room, New beds, hardwood floors, painted the room every 2 years, new windows. , new bedside side tables , new lamps and new flat screen tvs. The rooms are meant to be cottage like so they are 50 's and 60's looking. However in all honesty the kitchenette and the washrooms could use and upgrade.,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

So glad to have found this little gem of a place. An older property with loads of character and charm, immaculately clean and surrounded by beautiful grounds. I love that the older features are still there, but maintained to a spic-and-span status. Joanne works her tail off to run this place— when I arrived to check in, she was tending to her extensive gardens— the flowers she grows are amazing. She is a wealth of information on where to eat and sightsee in the area and treats guests to her music over the fantastic breakfast offered each morning. A beautiful voice, not to mention a gifted songwriter. And her muffins are the highlight of the breakfast spread. The sunset over the bay was a big bonus from
the private deck. This is a well-run, painstakingly maintained place that is well worth the stay. Will be back again and again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank WorkTraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Our five-day stay at this Inn was all we hoped for and so much more!. The grounds are beautifully kept with fresh flowers and gardens. The rooms are comfortable, clean and charming. The management think of everything for your comfort down to off coils and candles to sit on your private deck. There is even firewood available and comfortable stools to have a fire! Was hard to go home! Can't wait to return!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank C4743AVtinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews