We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”
Review of Mrs Wilson's

Mrs Wilson's
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Silloth
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Nice little place but expensive for what you get. On the frount and good for parking nearby. Staff are friendly enough.

Thank Happytrips1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
176carolm, Owner at Mrs Wilson's, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for your review.
I do feel however that your statement ‘expensive for what you get’ would have been more helpful if you’d stated what you actually- did get!
Our food is homemade (not mass manufactured & full of preservatives), fmade from fresh local ingredients & I believe represents very good value for money -as indeed we have been told by many of our customers.
And finally- I’m so pleased you found our staff friendly enough!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

We visited early March as birthday treat for my mother in law. We had afternoon tea the sandwiches and cake's were amazing service was good. We'll definitely be returning.

Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
176carolm, Owner at Mrs Wilson's, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Mrs Wilson's and would be delighted to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

I've given a 3 for Mrs Wilson's rather than more or less because food wise it's good, but accessibility wise it's not easy. A sign outside the front door saying accessibility round the side would be very helpful. I didn't spot one. A sign on the side door asking you to ring a bell for help would be helpful. An available folding ramp would be helpful.
Since 200, all public places are supposed to have been made accessible. I know some buildings are impossible to adapt (buildings come before people ) The waitress who I spoke to didn't know if the cafe had a ramp, which surprised and disappointed me very much. After her asking a member of staff she came back saying they hadn't.

Thank margaretandnormanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

A lovely relaxing atmosphere with great service and lovely food. A must visit for anyone visiting the Victorian town of Silloth.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maureenjb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Friends took us to Silloth for a Sunday trip out and had been talking about Mrs Wilsons during the journey and saying how lovely the cafe is. One of our party was in a wheelchair and ease of access is very important to us. A friend went to see if we could be accommodated and ask if they could help us in with the wheelchair as there wasn't a ramp. 3 of us waited outside in the freezing cold and wind for about 10 minutes whilst our friend spoke to a member of staff who was not at all helpful. They hadn't a ramp to enable wheelchairs to enter the cafe and they wouldn't open up a side door which would have taken us into the back of the cafe. There was no understanding of the needs of a disabled person and my friend came outside to us extremely frustrated. Needless to say we were very disappointed with their attitude and didn't try to get the wheelchair into the cafe. We came away thinking that if that is their attitude to disabled people we didn't want to give them our custom.The friend who had been singing their praises on the way to Silloth was certainly not singing them on the way back. If you require special access into this cafe I suggest you look elsewhere.

2  Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
176carolm, Owner at Mrs Wilson's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

As you did not even enter Mrs Wilson's you're review is based on a third persons version of events which are totally inaccurate- to say the least.
We were totally full up & extremely busy when your friend came in. We had no tables vacant and people were waiting. WE COULD NOT ACCOMODATE YOUR PARTY BECAUSE WE HAD NO SPACE FOR YOU.
Despite it being obvious we were full & busy your friend asked for a ramp to bring a wheelchair in. The waitress who was busy- took the time to speak with your friend and told her that wheelchair access was available at the side door-which leads directly into the café. It is quiet untrue to say that she refused to open the door. However-WE WERE FULLAND UNABLE TO ACCOMADATE YOUR PARTY. When your friend returned to you she obviously did not tell you this vital nugget of information. I do not know what she expected us to do- magic a table out of thin air?
However- If you had telephoned and booked a table. It would have been reserved for you and wheelchair access would not have been a problem.
To say we have no understanding of the needs of disabled people is insulting - you have no idea! The waitress who attended your friend has a son who is paralised and a wheelchair user. She has a great understanding & goes out of her way to attend to the needs of ALL our customers. As they will testify, wheelchair and non- wheelchair user alike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mrs Wilson's also viewed

Annan, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Mrs Wilson's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing