We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Silloth Sunday Market
Ranked #5 of 5 things to do in Silloth
Attraction details
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Price for entry per person is a joke when there are a few ov you together and when you get inside there is no more than a dozen stalls. Entry should be free to encourage people to visit like it is on silloth green on thursdays.

5  Thank Happytrips1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cup of coffee"
in 2 reviews
"cake"
in 2 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 3 reviews
"turnout"
in 2 reviews
"dinky"
in 2 reviews
"van"
in 2 reviews
"plants"
in 2 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

The famous silloth sunday market is still going strong!! With 2 food vans, dinky donuts ice cream van.
Plants, chris, clothes stalls, meat van, sweets and cake stall.
Its still thriving with the latest trends at great prices and loads of car boots. Yoy can spend hours here xx

Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Difficult to review as it's a car boot sale. It is what it is.
Quite a few stalls selling a variety of items, the majority of which are well priced.
A few hot food vendors which is always nice

1  Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Plenty of stallholders selling boot sale material here but very few market stalls. Visited because we were in the area anyway but not worth travelling to from very far. Had a very relaxing and enjoyable cup of coffee al fresco at the vendor's tables. It took about 45 mins to walk round at a steady pace and the area wasn't too crowded so plenty of room to walk comfortably.

1  Thank 369Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2017

don,t waste your time travelling, not a market just a very poor car boot selling rubbish. cheek to charge 50 pence a head.not sure this is legal. go to Keswick instead proper market thurday and saturday

2  Thank billy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Silloth Sunday Market, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Sorry to hear you were dissapointed on a recent visit, you havent mentioned the date of your visit but judging by your comments, I would say it was most probably last sunday, sadly you also forgot to comment about the extreem weather conditions, this is an open air event and occasionaly is affected by bad weather, last week the event was affected early morning by high winds, despite this over 100 car boots & around 20 market stalls attempted to make a stand, around 9:30am the weather worsend and the battering rain came down, when this happens many traders pack away and leave & entry charge is waived as was the case on sunday, you may have entered just before that desision was taken.
normally there are apoximatly 200 car boot spaces occupied and around 50 market spaces, yes we are more of a car boot, we are the largest car boot in the area because we charge the least rent to attract the most traders, the 50p entry charge subsidises the low rent and is needed to make this event viable, low rent more= traders, more traders = more visitors, we have been running this event for 38 years and the format seems to work, Most car boots have an entry charge and customers flock in early morning to get best bargains but as we also have Market stalls we are free entry from 2pm giving customers the option if they are only comming for the Market, this is a family run event where we care about our traders and our customers, we advertise a live on site permanently maned phone number where customers can check weather conditions and size of the event each day before they set off, for the traders some who have been there since the Market began it provides an income for there families, for many local residents this is a weekly meeting place, for local businesses its a much needed lifeline attracting an influx of vistors each week, we appreciate feedbck as it gives us oppertunity to improve, we ask only that customers leaving a review consider the impact when a full clear discription of the situation is not included.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silloth Sunday Market also viewed

 

Been to Silloth Sunday Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing