We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
186
39
12
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
39
12
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift incredible food junior suite special hotel swimming pool air conditioning magret de canard nice pool public rooms sitting room husband and wife team next morning overlooking the garden whole thing before dinner a wonderful stay two nights
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2017

This is a hard review to write. Whilst we realise this is a lovely chateau and a great product on the whole, our experience left us with a bad feeling primarily because of the attitude of Yves, the owner. We were given the family room (comprising a main room with a double bed and a smaller room with twin beds) but this was to the side of the chateau and didn’t quite meet our expectations. The main room was very nice but the second room for the children had four exposed brick walls with a small window high up which made the room dark and dungeon-like. It was not pleasant to spend any time in there. The next morning we mentioned to Yves that we were disappointed with the room and were told that nobody had complained before and in fact specifically requested the room. He said that we could have the other family room but it was not free until a couple of days later. We chose to stay where we were as we had got used to the room and it would have been a pain to move. Plus the terrace was advantageous to us.

With regard to the room the positives were: excellent bed and bedding, large towels, faultless cleanliness. We also benefitted from a lovely private terrace.
Negatives were: very cheap blind on the door, wipe clean curtains that were badly hung and didn’t look nice as were cheap and nasty and a rug that looked very shabby. These factors were not in keeping with the rest of the décor and from the pictures on the website. Wifi is non existent and we were told it had been down for a couple of weeks. However previous reviews do mention it is pretty bad.

Breakfast costs an extra 17 euros per person and as we were four people staying seven nights that would amount to nearly 500 euros. We asked Yves if we could just have tea on the terrace with a few croissants and for this he charged us 22 euros for four of us.

We also unfortunately experienced four disturbed nights due to a dripping noise in the ceiling. Yves witnessed this the second morning that it happened and we told him it was disturbing us at night. He said he would look into it. When we came to pay the bill my husband asked if this could be reflected in the bill. He took off one breakfast. We left but sent an email soon after to say this was not what we were expecting. In this he said we should have told him that it had disturbed us and that nobody who had subsequently been in the room has complained (the implication being that we were not disturbed even though he himself witnessed the noise). There was also water damage to the ceiling in the toilet so there was definitely a leak but he says he does not know what was causing the noise when we were there. We know a leak is out of his control but he should provide compensation for a “product” that we were not able to enjoy to the full.

All in all we feel let down especially the lack of concern and care in customer service.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the chateau. It is not clear that there are rooms outside of the chateau
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JCMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

I've been fortunate enough to stay at several French chateaus at one time or another. They are often a little more expensive than a standard hotel but generally worth it. Chateau Lalande was no exception. Each has their charms and foibles. In this case the pros are that the the setting is exceptional (including a lovely outdoor pools), the owners and staff do make you feel valued and special (in one of several languages but English is no problem) and our room (the cheapest on offer) was wonderful: spacious, clean and extremely comfortable.

Inevitably, there are some cons. The breakfast is great but at 17 euros (about $20) a head, it is a bit pricey. The restaurant calls itself gastronomic, a French term that implies both exceptional dishes and an artistic presentation. But in this case (with the exception of some beautifully presented desserts) the menu is quite standard for the region (duck, pork and a variety of fish presented a fairly standard ways). At 42 euros a head for a three-course menu (plus wine) the price is reasonable. But it isn't "gastronomic." In tandem, two of us therefore spent an additional 160 euros a day on breakfast, a drink or two during the day, and dinner. That could have been a lot more were we ordering expensive bottles of wine (instead of having local wines by the glass for about 8 euros a glass). You could go to Perigueux for dinner, and it has some fabulous restaurants. But that is a 20 minute ride and you get lazy after sitting by the pool all day. Finally, the wifi was awful. We were told it was a temporary problem. And my wife was delighted to get off the web for three days. But just be forewarned if you stay there that you might get withdrawal symptoms (as I did!).

But, despite these limitations, I still give the place five stars. I would take any opportunity to return. But count on a room being at least 160 euros, and on opening at least as much if you stay there all day. Still, it is luxury at a less than luxurious price.

Room Tip: Ours was the cheapest, and it is superb.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed in this excellent place for three nights. This old chateau is very well maintained. Cleanliness was outstanding in the room and all other places. Older, somewhat antic items were dispersed tastefully. The gardens and patio manicured. It also had a very nice pool, however we did not use it because it was not the right season yet. Breakfast was very rich and quiet. One night we had a dinner in the restaurant which was elegantly served and delicious. The place is exceptionally quiet.
It was a great experience and all this at a very affordable price.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Vejavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_De_Lalande, L'équipe at Chateau De Lalande- Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Good afternoon,
We would like to thank you for your nice comment and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our chateau. We hope to welcome you again. Best regards from Périgord. The Château de Lalande Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

After our arrival we have enjoyed the pool and the surroundings of the chateau. The quality of the food and the wine list is very good.
Unfortunately, the service (evening 22 July) at the restaurant was very poor. The personell lacked guidance and motivation. Sadly, this impression remained during the breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Toni-A-Ego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_De_Lalande, L'Equipe at Chateau De Lalande- Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Good afternoon,
We are very sensitive to your comment and we are pleased that you appreciated our property : the pool, the surroundings, the dinner because you mention the good quality of the food and the wines.
We are so sorry about your feeling during the dinner and breakfast. Mrs Staebell, the owner, just had been hospitalized the day before and so was not at the restaurant. The team was perhaps a little bit disrupted by this situation but be assured the staff is motived, helpful and do the best to serve the clients.
We hope you had beautiful holidays in France.
Best regards.
Château de Lalande

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We recently stayed for two nights at this gorgeous hotel. It is beautifully decorated with big bathrooms and comfy beds. The food is wonderful!! - we were not expecting top restaurant standard at all - a delicious surprise! Enjoyed their fabulous wine list too! Gorgeous grounds and pool and quiet tables to enjoy an evening aperitif. Just a word of warning - rooms are located on the first and second floors and there is no lift that I am aware of. Do stop over if you need a spot in the area!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MrsTravelChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews