We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Smile House - Koh Samui, Thailand”
Review of Smile House Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Smile House Resort
Ranked #46 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Smile House in Fisherman's Village is without a doubt one of the best places to stay on the island considering it's size, location, cost, and quality. The staff are nice and helpful. The rooms are always clean and are reasonably price. The smallest bungalows need a little attention, but for the money, I'm not complaining. There are two pools. The one at the back is usually much quieter. The beach is just across the street as is the restaurant. This is a typically Thai looking place from the bungalows down to the vegetation. The gardens are beautiful. We've stayed there many times. Fisherman's village is pretty quiet, but there are several pubs, clubs, and restaurants within walking distance. One of the best, Frog & Gecko is right across the street. Did I say street? It's more like a small lane, not big enough for two cars to pass. The beach isn't as nice as some, but for Thailand, it's good enough. We look forward to our next visit to Smile House.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScubaDLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 419 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2010

My boyfriend and me hired a car and drove round the island and fell in love with bo phut its lovely and less hectic than chaweng and lamai (but a little more expensive for eating out).
We parked up and walked along the main drag and saw how lovely the smile house looked so walked in and asked prices (haggled a bit!) and was shocked to fine out it we could rent a bungalow for £27 a night inc breakfast! We stayed for our last 5nights in samui and it was by far the highlight of our stay.
The staff were incredible so was the breakfast and the location is perfect!

The only con is their prices for min bar etc just stock up your own its less than half the price,also their Internet is expensive (for Thailand) go out the hotel and turn left the is a very cheap place about 2 mins walk!

I can't recommend this enough but suggest you don't book ahead (for anywhere in samui) we did the first 9nights a could of saved £100s if we listened to our friends and got the walk in rate but don't be embarrassed to haggle ask how much for 1 night then ask how much for 4 or 5 the price drops way down!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annabellz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

My wife and I stayed at The Smile House for 2 weeks over the Christmas period. When planning the trip I reviewed many hotels in the area and selected The Smile House as a result of a brief visit 2 years previous - we were not dissapointed.

During our last visit we stayed at a 5* resort in Chaweng. We found that Koh Samui has so much to offer out side the hotels that there was no reason, to opt for 5* accomodation and pay 5* prices. Chaweng is extremely busy, hence the reason we opted for the quieter resort of Bophut. At first the resort appeared to be very quiet but once we had settled into the very laid back relaxed atmosphere we had a fantastic holiday.

The Smile house is in a great location, just at the end of the The Fishermans Village. The village contains numerous restaurants which I have to say are amongst the best I have experienced in Thailand. We stayed for 2 weeks and still hadn't tried all the restaurants on our wish list.

Accomodtion at The Smile House is a little dated, but spotlessly clean and we felt that it added to the character of the hotel. Breakfast was great and enjoyed each morning overlooking the beach and views of Koh Phangyan. During our stay a new Spa was opened at the hotel. My wife chose a different treatment on most days and found the staff, and decor to be superb and would highly reccommend the Aloe Vera body massage after a long day laying in the sun. Not to mention the facials, foot scrubs, manicures..........She even talked me into having the treatments on a couple of occasions.

If a more lively night was required, Chaweng was only about 15 minutes by songthaew -£1 per person or £6 by metre taxi.

Also Bophut provides an excellent base to explore some of the other Islands. During our stay we visited Koh Tao, Ko Phangyan and Koh Sum.

What ever your excursion / travel requirements I would highly recommend FISHERMANS VILLAGE TRAVEL AND TOURS - located on the left hand side as you approach the beach road. The boss 'Num' and is wife 'Good' were fantastic and were extremely friendly and flexible to meet out requirements. On 2 occasions we chartered a private speed boat and long tail boat to explore the near by islands.

We had a fantastic holiday and and would highly reccommnd the Smile House. We have already starred to make plans to return this year, which I guess is the best compliment anybody could make.

ENJOY !!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarlet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Bophut offers a lovely alternative to Chaweng. Although it's only small, there are upteen good restaurans and bars and Smile Resort is an excellent choice to stay.

Situated right on the beach with a massive pool and sunbathing area, everything you want is on your doorstep.

The rooms are of a good size and very well maintained, there were always staff around maintaining the grounds, garden and pool.

Breakfast was included and was a good buffet selection.

I wouldn't hesitate in returning here.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

My partner and I were attending a wedding at Anantara resort on Boh Put beach. Smile House was a great option because it was a five minute walk from Anantara and right next to Fisherman's village.

The rate we got was half of what any of our friends were paying at the resorts along that beach, and although their resorts were more modern and had higher star ratings, they seemed quite full and only had one pool.

Smile house on the other hand has two pools and we were most often the only ones swimming. We stayed in a superior room, which was actually a small bungalow surrounded by trees that provided a lot of privacy.

The room itself was well loved and run down, but the air conditioning and bathroom worked just fine, so we were happy!

Breakfast was included and was at a lovely restaurant that overlooked the beach.

We chose to stay at Smile House because of the great reviews it had on Trip Advisor and I would definitely recommend it for a great value holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmySydChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.6 km away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#20 of 185 in Bophut
996 reviews
0.5 km away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#59 of 185 in Bophut
316 reviews
1.2 km away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#44 of 185 in Bophut
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Peace Resort
Peace Resort
#33 of 185 in Bophut
1,609 reviews
3.3 km away
Saboey Resort and Villas
Saboey Resort and Villas
#42 of 185 in Bophut
503 reviews
2.6 km away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#9 of 185 in Bophut
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile House Resort

Address: Bophut Beach 95 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#48 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: €37 - €149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smile House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Smile House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smile House Hotel Koh Samui
Smile Houseresort Koh Samui
Smile House Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing