We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Return Stay at Smile House Resort”
Review of Smile House Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Smile House Resort
Ranked #46 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Our second visit to Smile House Resort didnt disappoint.The moment we arrived on Koh Samui we recognised the landmarks from our previous trip.We were booked into one of the individual bungalows and found it to be everything we wanted,spacious,clean,airconditioned and set in very well maintained luscious tropical gardens.Smile has its own restaurant right alongside of the beach,a magical place to have our evening meal on those balmy nights.Also where we ate our buffet breakfast every morning.Smile is perfectly located in Bophut Fishermens Village.A beautiful setting and atmosphere without the hectic pace of the east coast's Chaweng and Lamai.We wouldnt hesitate in reccomending Smile House Resort to couples and families.

Room Tip: The individual bungalow was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ena74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 383 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

Our first visit to Samui and we did a research before our trip and fell for Smile house because of the positive reviews. We weren't disapointed as Smile House had a perfect location, wonderful staff, nice pools and great breakfast buffe. We stayed for 16 nights in a superior bungalow not far from the back pool, which is smaller but yet very nice and shady. The inlaws and grandmother stayed in a luxury terrace bungalow 2 bedroom chalet.Both very clean and always new clean towels and water daily.
The downside was the beach and ocean just outside which was very steep, but since the two pools were great and easy to access other beaches like Chaweng and Maenam it wasn't a problem, if you're traveling without smaller childern.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saugustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We went to Smile House twice during our trip. First visit was booked in internet, and the second - directly in the island, since we found it the best.
The hotel is very nice, quiet, comfortable, friedly etc., but the most important is it's location:
1. Its in the tourist village with a lot of restorants and shops
2. The hotel is located across the seaside, so it has bouth its own beach with bar and sunbeds, and a large garden with 2 pools wich are protected from hot sun or sea wind.
There is a good choice of large bungalows with 2, 3 (and probably more - we didn't ask) bedrooms. Everything inside is very clean and comfortable.
Clean quiet sea, with a rather pickly sand and nice shells.
The only weak point is a breakfast - reasonable choise of fruts and cornflakes, and the rest - rather poor...
We really hope to return in Smile house next year.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mama_Masha9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Another great stay at The Smile House - Unlike the weather The Smile House just keeps getting better.

This was out 3rd stay at the hotel and each time we have had a great welcome. The staff are fantastic and live up to the hotels name as you are always welcomed with a smile. The staff have remained the same for a few years, which to me shows that they are very happy in their work. You often see the owners of the hotel walking around ensuring the high standards are maintained.

The hotel is in a good location at the end of the main street in Bophut (Fisherman’s Village). The village itself is a very quiet laidback resort with various restaurants and bars to chill out and relax. The village has a really friendly feel, like the hotel in most places you get a great welcome.

As mentioned Bophut has numerous restaurants but there is no need to look any further than the restaurant at Smile House. We tried many of the restaurants and the food at smile house has to be amongst the best we experienced - Thai. Seafood and European. The restaurant at the hotel has been recently renovated and another added bonus is you can dine on the beach. I have to give a special mention to the Chef ‘Anon’ and his staff – the reason why I am now on a diet.

I can’t fault The Smile House – friendly, great location, great food, excellent value for money – I am sure you will enjoy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scarlet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed here from 23rd-29th December 2011 with my partner. This was part two of our travels and had already been to Koh Lanta.
We arrived at Koh Samui airport which was definately unique. It was like landing outside your hotel resort. Got a shared taxi bus to the hotel which was quite easy to do from the airport.
We drove through Fishermans village and arrived at the hotel which is literally at the end. Brilliant location.
Staff were ok at the hotel but a bit snooty.
Got the keys to our room and our cases were taken with us following behind.
My, what a jungle they've got going on there. Through the jungle we walked and walked and walked. We finally came to our room, which was at the corner of the earth. Our view from the terrace was more jungle and a wall...Nice. We would have asked for a move but to be honest...I'm not sure what other view we would of had. Looking at the rooms by the pool etc, they couldn't of seen anything but the jungle outside either.
Cant fault the room itself. Clean, spacious enough and had a kettle etc. The terrace was quite big too.
Anyway, we werent there to spend time in the room so it wasn't so bad.
The two pools are very clean and pool area very nice.
The hotel do a laundry service, which we took advantage of. Our clothes were back within hours, clean, fresh and ironed.
The location of the hotel is perfect. Fishermans village is full of restaurants and a few bars so your never stuck for somewhere to go of an evening.
Would I stay again.....Probably not. Not for any reason other than it was a bit snooty for what it is.

Room Tip: If you like looking at large plants then any. Pool view? Forget it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emax38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.6 km away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#20 of 185 in Bophut
996 reviews
0.5 km away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#59 of 185 in Bophut
316 reviews
1.2 km away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#44 of 185 in Bophut
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Peace Resort
Peace Resort
#33 of 185 in Bophut
1,609 reviews
3.3 km away
Saboey Resort and Villas
Saboey Resort and Villas
#42 of 185 in Bophut
503 reviews
0.8 km away
Eden Beach Bungalows
Eden Beach Bungalows
#7 of 227 in Bophut
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile House Resort

Address: Bophut Beach 95 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#48 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: €37 - €150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smile House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Smile House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smile House Hotel Koh Samui
Smile Houseresort Koh Samui
Smile House Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing